Lateralus

  • Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 15, 2001
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 491 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 491

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeH
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    This is the album I keep coming back to over and over and over again! My CD collection would never be complete without this album and to this day, it is the only album to which I continuously listen. Each and every song is a testament to how talented Tool is. Listen to this album!
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    I couldn't stop listening to Tool for an entire year. This album is a favourite. The poly-rhythms, intense guitars yet a far mellower-than-before sounding Maynard, give you a life long's worth of spine chilling, introspective, life-changing music.
  3. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    Pitchfork Now, with the early new century demanding "opuses," Tool follows suit. The problem is, Tool defines "opus" as taking their "defining element" (wanking sludge) and stretching it out to the maximum digital capacity of a compact disc. Fuck Pitchfork and it's whiny little voice. If Pitchfork was a person he would be the geek from High School scampering through the hall with his Pitchfork Now, with the early new century demanding "opuses," Tool follows suit. The problem is, Tool defines "opus" as taking their "defining element" (wanking sludge) and stretching it out to the maximum digital capacity of a compact disc. Fuck Pitchfork and it's whiny little voice. If Pitchfork was a person he would be the geek from High School scampering through the hall with his ripped, shit stained underwear from all the wedgies he gets. No wonder he hates Tool. This is the bully's music. Expand
  4. Olly
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    My Definition of a Pitchfork Reviewer : Nihilistic too-cool to be cool E-head who masturbates over The Face magazine, thinks music is all about fashion, thinks music is all about interior decoration of their ego, thinks music should conform to "coolness rules".
  5. Anon
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Critics are unreliable, plain and simple. I just sat and read the pile of crap written by Pitchfork and it is evident that they have no idea what decent music sounds like, let alone brilliant music. On to Tool. Maynard voice remains as astounding as with Aenima, filling me with as strange sensation of calmness. The rest of the band are on fire, from the buzzing rifs to the amazing Critics are unreliable, plain and simple. I just sat and read the pile of crap written by Pitchfork and it is evident that they have no idea what decent music sounds like, let alone brilliant music. On to Tool. Maynard voice remains as astounding as with Aenima, filling me with as strange sensation of calmness. The rest of the band are on fire, from the buzzing rifs to the amazing drumming there is not one moment that disappoints. But where Tool truly shine is the hidden meaning behind their songs. You could listen to the Album in just over an hour and then take hours decyphering the meaningful lyrics. All in all a great album. Expand
  6. DevinT.
    Jan 12, 2002
    10
    out of site into mind
  7. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    My meaningless opinion, this is perhaps 1 of 8 perfect albums ever made. I don't understand the people who claim to hate Tool but spend their time talking about Tool and their fans. I don't understand reviewing something you admit you have never even listened to. What a sad, angry life you must live. I don't dislike you, I feel sorry for you. Oh yeah and allow me to lecture you on theMy meaningless opinion, this is perhaps 1 of 8 perfect albums ever made. I don't understand the people who claim to hate Tool but spend their time talking about Tool and their fans. I don't understand reviewing something you admit you have never even listened to. What a sad, angry life you must live. I don't dislike you, I feel sorry for you. Oh yeah and allow me to lecture you on the importance of respecting people's taste in music as I bash Tool fans because of their taste in music. You really don't get it. It's okay though. Expand
  8. JerothD
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Nothing short of absoltely INCREDIBLE. Finally a group has created an album that has surpassed the likes of Zeppelin and Floyd, this music isnt just amazing in its structure, it actually makes you see spirals and geometric shapes at parts of the album, and makes muscles in your legs twitch in rythm to the music, not main big muslec, but tiny intricate movements, feels like a wave of Nothing short of absoltely INCREDIBLE. Finally a group has created an album that has surpassed the likes of Zeppelin and Floyd, this music isnt just amazing in its structure, it actually makes you see spirals and geometric shapes at parts of the album, and makes muscles in your legs twitch in rythm to the music, not main big muslec, but tiny intricate movements, feels like a wave of moving muscles. So much for music being so powerfull that you hairs on your arms can stand up, they have taken music to a new level. Expand
  9. NaveedS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Greatest rock album of all time, Tool appeals to all senses. Don't believe critics, believe users. Critics rate Lateralus like chicken mcnuggets, I rate it as music and art. When it comes to that, it's a 10.
  10. ElusiveCat
    Sep 19, 2005
    7
    Their defining element "wanking sludge" (good one {Pitchforkmedia!). Ha Ha Ha. That's definetly true and sad about Tool's overrated guitar sludge. This band and this album particulary, are overrated by its listeners and their zombified fanbase. Overall, the album has some solid riffs and some impressive dymanic tension parts. Though it's much of what has been released in Their defining element "wanking sludge" (good one {Pitchforkmedia!). Ha Ha Ha. That's definetly true and sad about Tool's overrated guitar sludge. This band and this album particulary, are overrated by its listeners and their zombified fanbase. Overall, the album has some solid riffs and some impressive dymanic tension parts. Though it's much of what has been released in Tool's past records. Nothing out of the ordinay, Nothing that contributes to the evolution of rock and roll, but most importantly its accesibilty is only limited to a peculiar taste of rock. Radiohead's Kid A is the true testament of the 21st Century. Expand
  11. DavidF.
    Oct 10, 2001
    10
    this Cd kicks ass, those who dont think so can suck it
  12. SierraG.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    I love Alien Ant Farm's new album "ANThology". It's like Michael Jackson joined a punk rock band! I love it! Rock on!!!
  13. RakS
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    agree with Aaron W - this album is more of a soundtrack to your personal spiritual awakening. It will be with me forever... food for the soul and delivered with love
  14. ShannonK.
    Oct 1, 2001
    10
    Easily the best album I've heard in at least 5 years!
  15. JohnL.
    Jun 9, 2001
    9
    In your face rock, yet melodic at times. the only thing songs are extended unnecesarily.As a Whole the cd is the best thing out there at the moment.
  16. BomarF.
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    this is *real* music... uncompromising, brilliant, stunning, dark, iridescent, powerful, triumphant, original, intense, precise, vibrant, dynamic, and beautiful beyond words. Primal and cerebral all at once (no, that's not a contradiction!), with no compromises and zero waffling. Impeccable sense of sonic "space." And not one bit more technical than necessary--absolutely no filler this is *real* music... uncompromising, brilliant, stunning, dark, iridescent, powerful, triumphant, original, intense, precise, vibrant, dynamic, and beautiful beyond words. Primal and cerebral all at once (no, that's not a contradiction!), with no compromises and zero waffling. Impeccable sense of sonic "space." And not one bit more technical than necessary--absolutely no filler notes or filler songs. Tool made this latest offering WAY better than anyone would have ever asked them to...a labor of love... a 12-gauge shotgun blast through the heart of stagnation; a triumph of brilliance over blandness, of inspiration over asinine posturing; of creative vision over A&R guesswork; of artistry over sludgy, bloated, commercialized poodling-around. Buy it. Expand
  17. DeanJ.
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    Album of 2001 without a doubt. Listen to it once and you won't get it, listen to it more and the more you get out of it. There is no other band like Tool and there never will be, so glad they got over the legal crap. Very happy to see all the good reviews here, guess I will never understand the retard that gave it a 3!!!!
  18. DaveR.
    Feb 4, 2002
    10
    It is, the type of music that demands that you listen to the things you didn't hear the first 10 times. It is over the top on talent, and sound production is perfect. To those who hear it once or twice and say "yeah it's ok but it's bla, bla, etc.", failed to listen at all and are not connected with the depth of thought it takes to understand the musical arraignments. Or It is, the type of music that demands that you listen to the things you didn't hear the first 10 times. It is over the top on talent, and sound production is perfect. To those who hear it once or twice and say "yeah it's ok but it's bla, bla, etc.", failed to listen at all and are not connected with the depth of thought it takes to understand the musical arraignments. Or possibly too tied up with the "popular" instant gratification entertainment available to take some time to listen to one of the greatest compositions of sound ever created. Expand
  19. AytekynA.
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    The greatest album ever!
  20. DjJazzyJeffreyJJuniorslickwidit
    Jul 21, 2002
    10
    This album blew me away. One of the contemporary albums best i own, right up there w/ Aenima and Radiohead's OK Computer. It maybe hard to get into if u don't listen to tool on a regular basis, but hearing the amazing ax work and drum solos will turn any musician on. Maynard, as always, proves to be one of the best frontmen alive.
  21. DenverH.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    this cd is the greatest thing that has ever happened. TOOL is the greatest thing that has ever happened.
  22. ChrisC
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    Lateralus is a cornecopea of incredible sound taking electric guitars and percussion to a level equal to early classical music, innovative all in its own, years and years ahead of it's time.
  23. ChrisM.
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    this has to be one of the best cds ive ever gotten. tool certainly doesn't conform to the formulated music that is so common today. you hardly find a good band with songs longer than 4 and a half minutes. tool goes beyond 11 minutes, and the drummer is definitely the best drummer ive ever heard. the drum and guitar coordination to make perfect sounds is unbelievable, like in Schism this has to be one of the best cds ive ever gotten. tool certainly doesn't conform to the formulated music that is so common today. you hardly find a good band with songs longer than 4 and a half minutes. tool goes beyond 11 minutes, and the drummer is definitely the best drummer ive ever heard. the drum and guitar coordination to make perfect sounds is unbelievable, like in Schism and The Grudge. I could go on and on about the perfection of every song on this cd, but it'd take too long. so basically, tool kicks every band of the 90's and 2000's ass. all the pitiful bands with a lack of creativity and originality, and to all you that say tool makes boring and "overlong" songs, you can f*ck yourselves, because you obviously dont know the first thing about a good song, you dumbasses. Expand
  24. AJJohnson
    May 5, 2004
    10
    one of my faves!
  25. DavidW
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    I own over 300 albums, and this is my favourite. It takes a few listens at first, but persevere, listen the whole way through and enjoy the journey
  26. fleaisretardedpartdeux
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    This album is an amzing display of talent, passion, and artistry in an amalgam of beauty. The user flew spends more time assailing things he does not understand. bassists who use picks are not good? He is a moron. Tool does not know their instruments? time shifts in precision lay that idiotic statement to rest.
  27. christiand
    May 30, 2005
    10
    es lo mejor la verdad q se podria decir q mi mentalidad ambio radicalmente despues de escuchar esta banda simplemente son una leyenda viva
  28. TheressaH.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    best album ever.
  29. MikeS
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    This is one of the most accomplished albums in rock music history. Lyrically poignant, instrumentally perfect, with haunting vocals, numerous gooseflesh producing choruses, and impeccable musical timing this album is one to cherish.
  30. PhilP
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing. One of the best rock records ever made. Simply puts other bands to shame. P.S. Fuck you Pitchfork..most of your reviews just take the piss and put the artist/s to shame and you clearly have no idea what your talking about.
  31. AlexD
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Far and away my favorite overall album. That is not to say that it began there. It took time and many cycles through my audio receptors to get there. I remember a time, after its initial release, that I thought "uh-ok. This is not what I expected". Then one day, I was listening. My mind was in the proper place and the pieces all came together. There was an alignment and it made sense. If Far and away my favorite overall album. That is not to say that it began there. It took time and many cycles through my audio receptors to get there. I remember a time, after its initial release, that I thought "uh-ok. This is not what I expected". Then one day, I was listening. My mind was in the proper place and the pieces all came together. There was an alignment and it made sense. If you don't get it, no problem. It's not for you. On a side note, I have noticed that INTP's (myself included) seem to be predisposed to this album in particular. Expand
  32. Bryan
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Great album..... I have no idea how pitchfork does there reviews (some are good, some are wayyyy off). This is one of the greatest albums I've heard.
  33. grug
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    Best album of 2001. Note the flaw in metacritic...1 bad review and the score drops significantly...
  34. ^-~chibizarbon^-^rahardjo
    Oct 20, 2001
    9
    shit i did something wrong oh well like i said i dont know this cd but i will soon enough ^-~chibizarbon^-^
  35. MattS.
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    This album kicks ass, The bass and drums are tight and Maynard is as haunting as ever.
  36. JessieC.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    Phenomenal and mesmerizing!
  37. JamesN.
    Jun 27, 2001
    10
    They always evolve, from excellent to phenomenal....
  38. DonnieP.
    Jul 31, 2001
    10
    Lateralus is nothing short of a stellar effort that builds upon and (if such a thing is possible) transcends Tool's earlier works. Though I have been a Tool fan since the Opiate EP, I must admit that I was a bit disappointed with the overall pace of Ænima, their previous release. A part of me feared a repeat with Lateralus, and I had my finger poised over the scan button on my Lateralus is nothing short of a stellar effort that builds upon and (if such a thing is possible) transcends Tool's earlier works. Though I have been a Tool fan since the Opiate EP, I must admit that I was a bit disappointed with the overall pace of Ænima, their previous release. A part of me feared a repeat with Lateralus, and I had my finger poised over the scan button on my CD player to skip the indecipherable sonic filler that was all too prevalent on their last album. After experiencing Lateralus in it's entirety, I easily came to the conclusion that skipping tracks on this CD is not only stupid, but also completely unnecessary. It's rock-solid from start to finish. This is the first album I have owned in a LONG time that I can say that about. Truth be told, it's probably safe to say that it takes a more thoughtful sort of music fan to really appreciate the depth and intricacy of Tool's art. I challenge anyone who enjoys music to set aside some time, listen to this album with headphones, and not be gripped (and at times groped) by the sounds of this amazing band. Tool is the great "anti-hype", the mystery wrapped in an enigma that continues to defy the expectations of a capitalist recording industry, continues to garner the support of new fans without overmarketing themselves, and continues to provide the die-hard ones with sounds that are unmistakably TOOL. They are truly one of the greatest rock bands of all time, and Lateralus proves it beyond a shadow of a doubt. If they don't go down in rock history for this album, then something is really, really wrong with this world. Expand
  39. SteveS.
    Aug 11, 2001
    10
    We wouldnt expect anything more beautiful and haunting at the same time than this album. The way it builds up from the 1 minute intro to maynard to the crushing blows of dannys drum at the end. The album is just clever, very clever. Everything you could ever want from music is here, beauty, anger, fluidness, anticipation. An awakening experience, as every Tool album has been.
  40. JonathanG.
    Sep 23, 2001
    10
    10...why?...have you listened to it?
  41. Sean-PaulT.
    Sep 5, 2001
    10
    I try my best to be origional . I feel perplexed by comitting my feelings about my favourite band because I dont want to sound like everyone else . Tool is a band that is eternal , both musically and spiritually . Top ten of all time . You see it is very hard to sound origional , its an art . Therefor since I have not perfected by own personal origionality I will reframe from further I try my best to be origional . I feel perplexed by comitting my feelings about my favourite band because I dont want to sound like everyone else . Tool is a band that is eternal , both musically and spiritually . Top ten of all time . You see it is very hard to sound origional , its an art . Therefor since I have not perfected by own personal origionality I will reframe from further rating this CD . Expand
  42. kris
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    the epitimy of a perfect album. Undeniably the most fluidly moving ablum I've ever heard.
  43. BryantR.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    Lateralus is an emotional aray of musical and lyrical dimentions of Maynard's intelect in words w/adam's guitar melodies is a perfect match.
  44. MikeR.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This album is by far the album of the year. Although, not for the MTV mainstream rock crowd. You know the ones that actually like the modern day accurance such as every record label grabbing a band that sound exactly like the ONE band that made it big. I mean how many Creed's do we need? Exceptional album!!!
  45. JamesP.
    Feb 8, 2002
    10
    In Lateralus, Tool have created a truly mindblowing musical vision - as thought-provoking as the monolith's in '2001: a space oddysey' yet just as intriguing, offering it's listeners the bands opinions about the meaning of life and our position in the cosmos. The inlay acting as a step-by-step guide through the album containing eye opening hidden messages for those In Lateralus, Tool have created a truly mindblowing musical vision - as thought-provoking as the monolith's in '2001: a space oddysey' yet just as intriguing, offering it's listeners the bands opinions about the meaning of life and our position in the cosmos. The inlay acting as a step-by-step guide through the album containing eye opening hidden messages for those that understand them. The music itself is complexing, twisting, psychological and epic - a true modern masterpiece that will inspire for years to come. Expand
  46. AlexK.
    May 15, 2002
    10
    Just great! The best album since aenima
  47. BryanO.
    Jul 26, 2002
    9
    I would give it a 10, but it doesn't seem possible. Honestly I should give it a 5 or 6, but that wouldn't seem right. Lateralus is the best CD I have ever heard. The reason I say 5 or 6 is because I know they have a few more GREAT CDs left in them, and if they keep doing what they are doing then they will only get better. I just cannot give this CD the best vote because that I would give it a 10, but it doesn't seem possible. Honestly I should give it a 5 or 6, but that wouldn't seem right. Lateralus is the best CD I have ever heard. The reason I say 5 or 6 is because I know they have a few more GREAT CDs left in them, and if they keep doing what they are doing then they will only get better. I just cannot give this CD the best vote because that would mean their next CD would only be either equal to or less than in quality, when I KNOW that it is going to be better!!!!!!! Expand
  48. BixW.
    Aug 2, 2002
    8
    A fine example of what rock should be about. EXCELLENT!!!
  49. TheressaH.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    best album ever.
  50. MarksN
    Mar 23, 2003
    8
    Deep, great music.
  51. DarrenZ
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    Intricate arrangements and spiritual meaning too difficult for today's lame "musicians" to match or even understand. This band is definitely the best around.
  52. ColbyC
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    This is the best Tool ALBUM so far. While Aenima might have a better group of individual songs, the flow, pacing, and collective experience that Lateralus provides is amazing.
  53. KeytonE
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    An absolutely amazing album from start to finish. A must have for any self respecting fan.
  54. AL
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    incredible music, incredible live act, incredible
  55. Rych
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    UN-BE-LIEVABLE!!!
  56. NathanD
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    this cd is quite possibly the most amazing cd ever created. maynard continues to craft lyrics that are very origional, intelligent and satisfyingly heartfelt. the album seems to just grab at you and take you on a very unchartered journey leaving you amazingly blown away from the music you had just experienced. the sound is origional with alot of depth and texture while at the same time this cd is quite possibly the most amazing cd ever created. maynard continues to craft lyrics that are very origional, intelligent and satisfyingly heartfelt. the album seems to just grab at you and take you on a very unchartered journey leaving you amazingly blown away from the music you had just experienced. the sound is origional with alot of depth and texture while at the same time being created with an extremely high level of skill. incredible album, my favorite and my highest praise to Tool. Expand
  57. Comothinon
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Best... Album... Evar...
  58. MarkD
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Ah... The first album by Tool that i was introduced to... The beginning of a new life I tell you. Tool are masterminded people and I love this album in all its glory! All their albums are outstanding and unique. For my favorite band in the world and their best album - Lateralus- I tell all you that aren't Tool fans and understand much: Learn to swim! ...UND KEINE EIER! Believe in Ah... The first album by Tool that i was introduced to... The beginning of a new life I tell you. Tool are masterminded people and I love this album in all its glory! All their albums are outstanding and unique. For my favorite band in the world and their best album - Lateralus- I tell all you that aren't Tool fans and understand much: Learn to swim! ...UND KEINE EIER! Believe in nothing and question authority! To the understanding and great tool fans out there: Great Listening and over thinkning over analyzing seperates the body from the mind... (oh great now i got the song stuck in my head) Expand
  59. JasonR
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing album, so complex and emotional. It takes a bit for the music to sink in but once it does, you'll know this is the best Tool abum yet.
  60. MikeB.
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    Maynard has one of the greatest voices of all time, along with some of most ingenius lyrics. If you rate the music on mere talent and think silly guitar tricks is the only real music out there your a fucking idiot. These guys play exactly what they here in their heads. Every riff on that album sounds exactly as it should. The idea of "sloppy" should never come into the picture. The album Maynard has one of the greatest voices of all time, along with some of most ingenius lyrics. If you rate the music on mere talent and think silly guitar tricks is the only real music out there your a fucking idiot. These guys play exactly what they here in their heads. Every riff on that album sounds exactly as it should. The idea of "sloppy" should never come into the picture. The album is driven by such a spiritual and musical force its unbelievable. Expand
  61. adamg
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    this is an amazin piece of art work man, one of the most innovative and insiring pieces of music ive ever heard.
  62. EmmieG
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    Lateralus Is a true inspiration to all who take the time to soak in the meaning of its lyrics.
  63. JohnR
    May 11, 2005
    10
    the best peice of music ever created by mortal man. well, actualy, the best peice of music ever created by any being. God couldnt make music this good.
  64. JohnG
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This was great when it was released, and it has also aged very well. This is one of the few albums I have ever experienced that I can listen to years after its release (and not to mention for the thousandth time) and it still feels just so good. And I'm sure it will 10 years from now. These guys are amazing.
  65. papyg
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    Amzing very weird and original! mitical and calming! simply good for the soul!
  66. PatrickM
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Undeniably perfect!
  67. JSS
    Sep 4, 2005
    7
    Often pretentious. Often beautiful. Often overrated. But...Maynard is quite the singer.
  68. SeanG
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    An album that fits into a category of it's own. Unlike any other form of music, T o o l has blended so many techniques and sounds that no category or label of music does them justice. Lateralus is T o o l 's piece de resistance as it is an album that will make you rethink what good music is.
  69. Nieman
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    one of the best cd's I,ve ever owned
  70. AndersK
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Album. In my top 5.
  71. DaveB
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    This is definitely one of the most relevant and introspective rock albums released in the last decade - if it weren't for Tool, there would be no hope for the evolution of modern rock past the year 2000. I find it hard to believe anyone could miss the value and beauty flowing from this record.
  72. MelanieE
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever listened to. Every time you listen to it you hear or experience something new.
  73. robg
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Musically complex and yet simplistic all the same, and with lyrics involving many mysteries and esoteric beliefs, Lateralus will stupify you and amaze you all at the same time. Tool's fourth studio release, and their most accomplished, is rife with intricate time signatures and deft drumming at its finest. The bass and guitar work complement eachother and fit well with the drums. The Musically complex and yet simplistic all the same, and with lyrics involving many mysteries and esoteric beliefs, Lateralus will stupify you and amaze you all at the same time. Tool's fourth studio release, and their most accomplished, is rife with intricate time signatures and deft drumming at its finest. The bass and guitar work complement eachother and fit well with the drums. The vocalist Maynard James Keenan has one of the most beautiful voices in music and weaves in mysterious and spiritual lyrics about freeing yourself from restraints, thinking for yourself, and living life to its fullest. They are not devil worshippers as a lot of people would like to say. Their music may be heavy as all heck, but their message is about healing and being one with the universe. Amazing album. Expand
  74. Ed
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Most impressive. Let down in places by some meandering which acts like a speed bump to the album's overall flow, but it's rare to listen to a metal project where the silences can be as potent as the sound.
  75. mikeb
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    I don't know who these revieweres are or what album they listened to for this mid 70 overall score. Oviously not lateralus. Perfectly written, flawlessly mixed, with deep, awe inspiring lyrics. Music at it's greatest.
  76. dfgsdg
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Critics suck.
  77. AdriaanT.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Faultless album. Astounded (but not disappointed) as to it's lack of official acclaim.
  78. GustavoA.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Pure genius.
  79. BobS
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    I cannot describe how amazing this album is. Keenan's vocal range, style and songwriting are all first rate and Carey is one of the best drummers in rock music, period. Jones and Chancellor are most than solid but do tend to get outshined by Keenan and Carey. Anyway, every song on this album is simply perfect in their own way, from The Grudge all the way to Reflection. How this I cannot describe how amazing this album is. Keenan's vocal range, style and songwriting are all first rate and Carey is one of the best drummers in rock music, period. Jones and Chancellor are most than solid but do tend to get outshined by Keenan and Carey. Anyway, every song on this album is simply perfect in their own way, from The Grudge all the way to Reflection. How this record could be rated below a 90 is just beyond me, the beauty within this 79 minute album is the best 79 minutes you could ever spend listening to music. As you can see, my praise for this album is unrelenting, and I just hope that these so called "critics" will eventually learn why Tool is the best band out there right now. I've lost what little respect I have for these critics in their ratings for this one album alone. Expand
  80. timg
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Before I heard this album in 2001 i wasn't a Tool fan. A friend from work really liked them and gave me this album on tape.... i listened to it once and threw in to the bottom of my driving tapes! About 3 months later i gave it another go. Interesting. Gradually this amasing, uniquely deep and mesmerising album showed itself for what it is; a masterpiece of modern metal and my Before I heard this album in 2001 i wasn't a Tool fan. A friend from work really liked them and gave me this album on tape.... i listened to it once and threw in to the bottom of my driving tapes! About 3 months later i gave it another go. Interesting. Gradually this amasing, uniquely deep and mesmerising album showed itself for what it is; a masterpiece of modern metal and my personal favorite album of all time. Buy.it.now. Expand
  81. Fg
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Love it
  82. JonH
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Greatest album of the 21st century. This is arguably the greatest Tool album, with a close second for Ænima. Tool really discovered what they can do, and how to approach things. Lateralus is deep. One listen is not enough. You could devote your entire life to this album. Feed on it's energy, and create something positive.
  83. MohammadA
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This album, Plus 10000 days, which came out 2006, Still give me shivers as I read the cryptology that's in them. Come on, what band since Tool has been able to fit a Fibonacci sequence in their song and Lyrics, and/or Much more importantly MAKE 3 SONGS BLEND INTO ONE! (If you haven't guessed yet, (Viginti Tres +WIngs for marie) combined with 10000 days makes Tool's latest This album, Plus 10000 days, which came out 2006, Still give me shivers as I read the cryptology that's in them. Come on, what band since Tool has been able to fit a Fibonacci sequence in their song and Lyrics, and/or Much more importantly MAKE 3 SONGS BLEND INTO ONE! (If you haven't guessed yet, (Viginti Tres +WIngs for marie) combined with 10000 days makes Tool's latest masterpiece). All I'm going to say is, these guys are Inhumane. Expand
  84. DarioS.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Absolutly, positively the best album i've ever heard!
  85. Wiwickowiwick
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Musical complexity at its best Lateralus is a mathematical experience.
  86. AmeyD.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    Absolute genius of an album! Lateralus pushes the boundaries of music and the person listening to it. I bought the album couple of months after its release in India, coz of its unavailibility, and still end up listening to tracks such as lateralus and reflection over and over again.
  87. DylanL.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Does anyone else find it hilarious that there are basically only three different rating's on the hundreds of votes cast for this album? 10's, 9's, and 0's...Well, might as well just say the obvious, Do yourself a favor and put away your petty self-reaffirming text ammo, listen to this album...it's good for you.
  88. Dogstarr
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    Easily the best Tool album, though Aenima is a very close second. I think this is the only really classic heavy record of the 21st Century. I'm as much a music snob as most music critics and a musician, unlike many pro critics I like heavy rock (most of them primarily like jazz and automatically drop scores on heavy stuff before even hearing it, or so it seems). I'd go as far as Easily the best Tool album, though Aenima is a very close second. I think this is the only really classic heavy record of the 21st Century. I'm as much a music snob as most music critics and a musician, unlike many pro critics I like heavy rock (most of them primarily like jazz and automatically drop scores on heavy stuff before even hearing it, or so it seems). I'd go as far as to say this is the best heavy rock album since Physical Graffiti, which makes sense, as Tool's easily the best and most imitated heavy rock band since Zeppelin. If you like heavy rock/metal/industrial, this is an absolute must have in your collection, but you probably already have it if you like heavy stuff. Expand
  89. AlexT.
    Oct 19, 2001
    10
    If you can listen to this album all the way through and feel nothing, you have no soul.
  90. JasonD.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    i really enjoy this musical masterpiece!Maynard and company have done it again.I think this is the best album of2001.
  91. DamonM.
    May 24, 2001
    9
    Intense musical phrasing and lyrical genious drip from Lateralus - it's as patient as Tool's fans needed to be - this album does NOT disappoint.
  92. MattM.
    Jun 25, 2001
    10
    If you don't like it at first, just listen to it as you try to go to sleep. You'll start liking it more soon.
  93. AndrewE.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    Very well put together music. A stir of emotion that gets you thinking in every song. Some are even disturbing, like FAAIP DE OIAD. It was crazy, but genius within itself as the entire CD is. If you look up the latin names of songs you can understand the whole meaning to the CD itself. Which is a good thing to have a relation between the song name and what is in the song. ^_^
  94. MarcD.
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    Better than their other albums combined. Beautiful.
  95. misterT
    Jul 6, 2001
    10
    anyone who gave this album anything less than a 7 must have only listened to it once. maybe a dj and some creed vocals would get better reviews?
  96. DaveN.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    Pure musical wizardry and meditational fodder, this is another leap forward for Tool. This band consistently demonstrates a hardcore effort to push beyond the expected, and further challenge their listeners to understand music of greater complexity than the norm. Does anyone else hear Queensryche in this album? ... not that their is anything wrong with that.
  97. ScottZ.
    Jan 22, 2002
    10
    Good Music
  98. DavidT.
    Jan 24, 2002
    10
    un-fucking-believable
  99. JaepilS.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    No need to ramble on about how I feel about this masterpiece. Just buy it or you're missing a chance to develop a possible brand new view on music. If Dream Theater is on the light side(heaven), Tool and this CD is right from the core of hell.
  100. BarrR.
    Apr 29, 2002
    10
    Auditory brilliance. Nothing short of a masterpiece. I have spun this disk a few thousand times and it still manages to raise the hairs on the back of my neck.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. A 79-minute sonic sojourn of hard rock delivered with an arty, fusion-conscious sensibility rooted most obviously from the likes of Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, and Jane's Addiction.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    Ultimately, it's Tool's experimental, borderline progressive, edge that proves most rewarding. [Aug 2001, p.141]
  3. It is dense, it is long, it is complicated. It is also a magnificent triumph of artistry over blind anger.