Laugh Now, Cry Later

Laugh Now, Cry Later Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rapper-turned-actor-turned-rapper's first album in six years features contributions from Scott Storch, Swizz Beatz and Snoop Dogg.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Vibe
    80
    His delivery is crisp and uncomplicated, but razor sharp, like gangster haikus. [Jun 2006, p.159]
  2. By bringing his beats up to date he may not only win back some old fans but convert a few new ones in the process by showing them he's more than just a Hollywood actor.
  3. A blistering triumph of a record.
  4. Mojo
    60
    This record does not return [Ice Cube] to his early 1990s heyday, but proves he still has sufficient desire to make angry, focused music. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  5. Uncut
    50
    For the most part, Laugh Now, Cry Later plays like an unsuccessful attempt to regain hood status. [Sep 2006, p.86]
  6. Everything about Laugh Now, Cry Later feels utterly tapped of inspiration and vitality, and Cube's former greatness only makes this exhausting slog that much more depressing.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. ChrisR
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    CUBE is back again, he always comes out with the hardest shit and never shys away
  2. Cherilongtimefansince85
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    Its the best! I love it. I listen to it everyday, everywhere. I saw him in Cleveland at house of blues and the lapa palooza tour 1991..was on Its the best! I love it. I listen to it everyday, everywhere. I saw him in Cleveland at house of blues and the lapa palooza tour 1991..was on stage with him. Will always love cube! Expand
  3. EPPS
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Ice Cube Nigga!... West Coast Nigga!... Cube still has it. Maybe not like he used to, but cube aint never fell off and never will. This album Ice Cube Nigga!... West Coast Nigga!... Cube still has it. Maybe not like he used to, but cube aint never fell off and never will. This album checks all the lil bow wow's, juelz santana's and 50 snitch's in the rap game today...G Uont!!!..."I'm spittin pollaseeds... Expand
  4. matan
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    great one
  5. MathiasJ
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    This is great work! Another hit record from Cube, the best rapper of all time! Especially songs like: The Nigga Trip, Child Support, Smoke This is great work! Another hit record from Cube, the best rapper of all time! Especially songs like: The Nigga Trip, Child Support, Smoke Some Weed and Laugh Now, Cry Later can be heard again and again. Cube's critical as always, and thats the way i like it. It's intelligent music! He's a genius! Expand
  6. NcoleE
    Jul 13, 2006
    8
    Ice Cube is Back! And, in a big way. This CD is a breath of fresh air. I am really hoping that the "KRUNK" era is a thing of the past and now Ice Cube is Back! And, in a big way. This CD is a breath of fresh air. I am really hoping that the "KRUNK" era is a thing of the past and now we can get back to real music and meaningful lyrics. Let's tell the guys from the South to pick up a book and brush up their vocabulary skills then come back to the plate. Like Busta said, They sound soo Trash! Thank you ICE Cube for holding down the WEST COAST. Expand
  7. zippyzeed
    Jun 15, 2006
    2
    I didn't like this. Ice Cube used to be hard and rough with killer street rhymes. After seeing his poor acting skills, this is nothing I didn't like this. Ice Cube used to be hard and rough with killer street rhymes. After seeing his poor acting skills, this is nothing more than a glorified hollywood cash grab. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews