Laughter's Fifth

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    4
    Maybe I don't get it...but I this album is boring and lacks originality.
  2. admiralsnackbar
    Jun 5, 2005
    9
    I heard the first track at a friend's house and thought I'd finally heard a Modest Mouse song I liked, but as the songs kept coming, the identity of this band just continued to grow more and more singular. By the time "Canal Street," was drawing to an end, I was ready to mortgage my house to buy the CD for myself if I had to. I haven't heard drums sound this good since the I heard the first track at a friend's house and thought I'd finally heard a Modest Mouse song I liked, but as the songs kept coming, the identity of this band just continued to grow more and more singular. By the time "Canal Street," was drawing to an end, I was ready to mortgage my house to buy the CD for myself if I had to. I haven't heard drums sound this good since the 70's, I haven't heard lyrics this fun ( or, occassionally, compelling ) since GBV broke up, and I haven't gushed this much over a new ( to me ) band in a long time. The album sounds like a real rock band, and it kicks way more ass than the 76 metascore belies. It is imperfect, but so was Transformer, y'know? Expand
  3. stefanlockdown
    May 14, 2005
    9
    best of their career and one of the best records of the year. stands up to any recent output by peers like built to spill, the shins or modest mouse. fans of those bands will not be disappointed. highly recommended!
  4. joshfajitas
    May 17, 2005
    9
    this album rocks. i had never heard of these guys, but this grabbed upon the first listen. definitely worth picking up.
  5. limejello
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    How do you spell "wuu-hoooooo!" You will wear out this album and go back for more Woo-HOOOOOOOO!
  6. matta
    Jul 8, 2005
    8
    Solid, dirty, indie rock sound, and In Amber and Dirty Lives are classics. Nothing ground-breaking here, but that's obviously not what they were going for. Great stuff.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Laughter's Fifth finds Jayne tracking back to a groovier, sillier time in rock 'n' roll, peeling back the rough riffs and celebrating the peace-and-love beat.
  2. It's personal, it's cryptic, it's hilarious -- it's Laughter's Fifth, and Sam Jayne is definitely some kind of genius.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    Jayne shrouds his more subversive content in Laughter's Fifth's tambourine-tapping, upbeat numbers. [May 2005, p.164]