Lay It Down

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MycroftW.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    His best since his comeback, that voice is still very much up to his 70s standards and who better than ?uestlove and James Poyser to update the Hi-records sound.
  2. CG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Al Green definitely layed it down on this cd. I without a doubt love it! Who says it's impossible to make a comeback after years away from the business. He has once again proven himself with this one.
  3. LaLa
    May 28, 2008
    9
    Absolutely superb - wonderful from start to finish, I have already listened to it 15 times. Such a lovely surprise.
  4. AaronB.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    If you love Sharon Jones "100 Days 100 Nights" you'll like this. Aside from "No One Like You" and "I'm Wild About You" nothing jumps out. But it is wonderful background sound and it's amazing how good he sounds.
  5. mDunn
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album that blows away all the current soul pretenders. Almost as good as his 70s masterpieces.
  6. FelipeP.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! He is amazing!
  7. DougD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    This is a great album. This is a true R&B / Soul album. I someone would have told me that this was all unreleased tracks from the 70's I would have to believe them because this is a throwback to that era of R&B. Just great music all around. This is definitely one of my top 5 of '08.
  8. SteveO
    May 31, 2008
    8
    This stuff is pure soul. African American culture should be listening to THIS and not 50 Cent.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. There is no better place to spend 45 minutes than in Lay It Down's dreamy, sensual, gritty, and tender sound world.
  2. Green's voice remains lithe magic, and he's brought in such contemporary all-stars as Anthony Hamilton (on the album's two best tracks, "You've Got the Love I Need" and the slinky title song), John Legend and Corinne Bailey Rae for help.
  3. 80
    Beyond Green’s wriggly, giggly, purring-to-screaming magnificence (as well as two smoking support vocals by young acolyte Anthony Hamilton), this is an album of intricate groove.