LCD Soundsystem

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alex
    Aug 30, 2005
    3
    I've tried so hard to work out why this appeals to so many critics. Maybe you like second-rate minimalist house-pop. I can't work out how someone can listen to 2 CDs of this stuff when I can't bear a whole song
  2. JoshuaM
    May 16, 2005
    3
    This is essentially an over-simplified daft punk with one dudes boring voice all over it. For reasons that are still not clear to me, critics and DJs love it. If you're into ultra-basic electronic pop, you might like it, but otherwise stear clear!
  3. KimP
    Jun 10, 2005
    0
    this band is absolutely horrible.
  4. WayneB
    May 21, 2005
    3
    Knowing I was taking a gamble on this when I made the purchase and man did I lose my shirt. Way over-hyped...Doubt it would even appeal to fans of Peaches (though maybe to M.I.A. devotees) Only a bright moment or two on Disc 2. OK, off to trade mine for some store credit!
  5. MC
    Feb 22, 2005
    2
    Utter Crap, overhyped.......barely music
  6. Joris
    Apr 1, 2005
    3
    Overrrated. This is just a hype. There are much better albums out there. Only a few ok songs, the tracks are too long and not definitely not original. Why do reviewers hype an album like this and give gems like The Music's " Welcome to the north" or the truly outstanding "Worlds Apart" from AndYouWillKnowUsByTheTrailOfDead bad reviews?? I'll never understand...
  7. KA
    Mar 11, 2005
    2
    over-hyped. Yea its hip, but is wayyyy self-consciously hip . Take a pass.
  8. ivo
    Mar 26, 2005
    3
    sad!
  9. beez
    Jan 2, 2006
    2
    i hate wasting money on crap. the vocalist totally ripped off the fall's marc e smith and the rest of them sound like the rapture. total rubbish!!!
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. LCD Soundsystem is mostly too afraid to be balls-out fun, but too unambitious to make for a really rewarding artistic experience. Essentially, it sits awkwardly in a no-man’s land between artistry and actual dancing fun, like guess-what-demographic.
  2. Built on a repetitious platform of bass, drums and guitar, what starts off as a genuinely thrilling journey tends to conclude in a cul-de-sac.
  3. A disparate yet cohesive collection of songs.