LCD Soundsystem

LCD Soundsystem Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hipsters, rejoice! James Murphy, one-half of the in-demand indie-rock production duo The DFA (The Rapture, et al), finally makes his full-length debut as an artist as LCD Soundsystem.

Top Track

Daft Punk Is Playing At My House
Daft punk is playing at my house, my house I'll show you the ropes kid, show you the ropes Got a bus and a trailer at my house, my house I'll show... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    An exceptional testament to James Murphy, both as a musician and producer.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    Ample evidence that Murphy is far more than a dance-club wiseguy who's too clever by half. [Apr 2005, p.128]
  3. [It] could be annoying if it turned into a game of "spot the references", but somehow it never does.
  4. It's a classic case of debut album as faux anthology of musical influences, but it's also a successful collection with a marked sense of individuality, massively helped by Murphy's dry sense of humor, which demonstrates a willingness to embrace the contradiction at the heart of his musical personality.
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    If he carries on writing songs as deliciously sour as this, dance music will end up needing to be saved from James Murphy, not by him. [22 Jan 2005, p.50]
  6. Mojo
    80
    Inescapably, Losing My Edge is the best thing here, yet happily Murphy has more than one trick up his stylish sleeve. [Feb 2005, p.101]
  7. LCD Soundsystem is mostly too afraid to be balls-out fun, but too unambitious to make for a really rewarding artistic experience. Essentially, it sits awkwardly in a no-man’s land between artistry and actual dancing fun, like guess-what-demographic.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 9 out of 47
  1. ericf
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    it's real music. it pays you back for your effort. not much does that.
  2. derrekj
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    are you insane? seriously? i can't even get into how well this record is made--how it works in so many ways. the songs rule are you insane? seriously? i can't even get into how well this record is made--how it works in so many ways. the songs rule independently, and as an album (short and sweet) it actually flows! that's completely disregarding the ridiculously detailed and amazing tracks on the bonus disc. give it 5 years... the bands that went balls out for the glory will be dead and gone, or so horrible and pop that you'll be ashamed you ever went to see them. lcd and dfa will be left standing, getting better and better. Expand
  3. MarkJ
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Even better than the first album, every song is worth of a single release
  4. ManuelA
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Exciting sound, the right influences in the right moment -but making music which will survive.
  5. RobbieP
    Aug 24, 2005
    8
    quirky, funky, bass driven party music for those who turned their backs on trance long ago looking for something edgier.
  6. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    There are some really good things about this album. The band has a really good musical sense of what they're trying to accomplish, but There are some really good things about this album. The band has a really good musical sense of what they're trying to accomplish, but the music is just really lacking in emotion, and that keeps it from being an A album. Expand
  7. KimP
    Jun 10, 2005
    0
    this band is absolutely horrible.

See all 47 User Reviews