Le Voyage dans la Lune (A Trip to the Moon)

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mojo
    Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Le Voyage is best when it sets the controls for the tribal prog of Sonic Armada or the ritual beats of Astronomic Club. [Mar 2012, p.92]
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    tween Daft Punk's astronaut gear and Air's analog synth-driven Moon Safari, French electronic musicians have historically shown great nostalgia towards the old space age. Continuing the trend is this soundtrack.
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    It's a niche listen. But [...] it can be a charming one, too.
  4. 60
    Pleasingly, it's all comically cosmic, as befits the host movie.
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    57
    A solid, listenable, blue-collar rap album.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    50
    It's elegant, but hardly likely to inspire any particularly stirring flights of fancy, or any reevaluations of the band's post-Moon Safari discography.
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    40
    Ingenious in its conception as a soundtrack, weak and tedious as a standalone musical venture, an interminable experience despite its brevity.
  8. Q Magazine
    Feb 21, 2012
    40
    Unlikely to return them to chart orbit. [Mar 2012, p. 97]
  9. Uncut
    Feb 3, 2012
    40
    Air seem to have found little fresh inspiration in his bricolage. [Mar 2012, p.79]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I really was loving this album. It is much better when watching the movie along with it, which is how it was obviously meant to be listenedI really was loving this album. It is much better when watching the movie along with it, which is how it was obviously meant to be listened to. The longer album version really is fantastic, though, as I said, it is slightly like listening to a soundtrack without the movie. The album could stand to be a little longer, but seeing as it is twice the length of the very movie that inspired it, I'd say they've done well.

    Overall, not as good as their full length albums for a standalone listen. But it's still more Air, and that is fine by me!
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    If I was to be lucky enough to take a trip to the moon, I would definitely want to be in a lounge on the rocket ship with a great set ofIf I was to be lucky enough to take a trip to the moon, I would definitely want to be in a lounge on the rocket ship with a great set of headphones, a concoction mixed nicely with Tang, and this groovy soundtrack. Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Après une décennie d'albums plus ou moins soporifiques, AIR revient très inspiré de son "Voyage dans la Lune". UnAprès une décennie d'albums plus ou moins soporifiques, AIR revient très inspiré de son "Voyage dans la Lune". Un album inespéré, quasiment dans la lignée du fameux "Virgin Suicides". On en redemande... Full Review »