Le Voyage dans la Lune (A Trip to the Moon)

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I really was loving this album. It is much better when watching the movie along with it, which is how it was obviously meant to be listened to. The longer album version really is fantastic, though, as I said, it is slightly like listening to a soundtrack without the movie. The album could stand to be a little longer, but seeing as it is twice the length of the very movie that inspired it,I really was loving this album. It is much better when watching the movie along with it, which is how it was obviously meant to be listened to. The longer album version really is fantastic, though, as I said, it is slightly like listening to a soundtrack without the movie. The album could stand to be a little longer, but seeing as it is twice the length of the very movie that inspired it, I'd say they've done well.

    Overall, not as good as their full length albums for a standalone listen. But it's still more Air, and that is fine by me!
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    I loathed their previous effort 'love2', but honestly, it did grow on me...thats the magic about this band, their music is alive and evolves with every listen. This album, accompanied with the 'Le Voyage dans la luna' movie feels like they are one in the same. The music is definetly in the right direction, but for me still not as great as their earlier works.Im going to give this one aI loathed their previous effort 'love2', but honestly, it did grow on me...thats the magic about this band, their music is alive and evolves with every listen. This album, accompanied with the 'Le Voyage dans la luna' movie feels like they are one in the same. The music is definetly in the right direction, but for me still not as great as their earlier works.Im going to give this one a chance though as I KNOW with further listens It will grow and grow. GO AIR!!! Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    If I was to be lucky enough to take a trip to the moon, I would definitely want to be in a lounge on the rocket ship with a great set of headphones, a concoction mixed nicely with Tang, and this groovy soundtrack.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    This is not your typical Air album. After their french touch classic debut and their signature sound floating between classical music and aerial waves, Air comes back with a surprising soundtrack. They already made a successful attempt of soundtrack with Virgin Suicide which was a commercial and musical success. Air comes back in 2012 with this delightful strong pretty upbeat soundtrackThis is not your typical Air album. After their french touch classic debut and their signature sound floating between classical music and aerial waves, Air comes back with a surprising soundtrack. They already made a successful attempt of soundtrack with Virgin Suicide which was a commercial and musical success. Air comes back in 2012 with this delightful strong pretty upbeat soundtrack based on A Trip To The Moon movie from 1909. It is a beautiful album with every quality of a Air album. Simplicity, technique, soudscapes and blips. It is a soundtrack which does not need the movie to be appreciated. The key track is Cosmic Trip which is a good synthesis of the entire album. A catchy growing beat with out-of-space voices, an invitation to follow Air in their trip to the moon. A welcome come back from a high standard band. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    French electronic duo Air returns with her seventh ambient album - "Le Voyage Dans La Lune." And although we are welcomed by a fairly trip-hop "Astronomica Club", album's next track, "Seven Stars" is a decent alternative experiment - as a prelude preceded by a naturalist, indie rock "Parade". On the CD you also should pay attention to the distinctive "Cosmic Trip" with stronglyFrench electronic duo Air returns with her seventh ambient album - "Le Voyage Dans La Lune." And although we are welcomed by a fairly trip-hop "Astronomica Club", album's next track, "Seven Stars" is a decent alternative experiment - as a prelude preceded by a naturalist, indie rock "Parade". On the CD you also should pay attention to the distinctive "Cosmic Trip" with strongly highlighted role of the bass. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Après une décennie d'albums plus ou moins soporifiques, AIR revient très inspiré de son "Voyage dans la Lune". Un album inespéré, quasiment dans la lignée du fameux "Virgin Suicides". On en redemande...
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Most electronic acts, when asked to sound-track a film, dump pop sensibility in favour of atmospherics, but we're happy to report that, as astute players for over a decade, Air have gone the other way: to the moon and back.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    Nearly 20 years into the French duo's career, Le Voyage Dans la Lune is yet even more proof of Air's relevance in the evolution of modern music.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    40
    Ingenious in its conception as a soundtrack, weak and tedious as a standalone musical venture, an interminable experience despite its brevity.