User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DodoDudu
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    VIVE LAMYA!!!!! Vivement un autre album!!!
  2. AmandaA.
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    Awesome CD!!
  3. I.AkashaN.
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    this album is as eclectic as a trip around the world...i LOVE it...you cannot put it into a box...it's not fluff...but it is the stuff wisdom and journey and affirmation and self-reliance is made of. peace & blessings akasha
  4. MarcusS.
    Sep 3, 2002
    9
    a must have...one of the best albums of all time....checkout "pink moon"
  5. JamilaS
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    this is a great creative work or art. I love it. someone said she used Samuel Walter Foss' (1858-1911) classic poem "Bring Me Men" to write her song "Empires.", but if you go to this site http://www.geocities.com/Pentagon/Quarters/4358/bringmemen.html and read the poem, only the first two lines were used. It was probably her inspiration for the song.
  6. Amber
    Oct 12, 2002
    7
    This album is a collage of sounds....which is usually a sign of good creativity...in this case its sort of an attempt at good creativity...dont get me wrong the songs possess that kate bush, alanis, erykah badu vibe all rolled into one...but i think with such diverse gifts as lamya has...more could have been done with this cd.
  7. KoriM.
    Dec 12, 2002
    10
    I love this CD. Whoever doesn't is crazy.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    Locates her coffee-cream vocals amid glossy settings ranging from hip hop to gurgling electronica and folk. [Nov 2002, p.105]
  2. Blender
    60
    The sitar flourishes ini "Splitting Atoms" are muted by Learning's adult sheen, which lands this unusual record in an awkward middle ground between Bjork and, say, Oleta Adams. [#9, p.150]
  3. 60
    The album as a whole isn't quite as brilliant as it ought to be, given the ideas at play.