• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 14, 2009
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 20 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewN.
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    Critics who grade music as a career are people who have lost touch with reality and are so biased towards what music they like, that when music comes by that is actually good, they fail to recognize it.
  2. JamesH.
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Not all music is required to be nor should it be some artistic journey. The critics that have forgotten this may have forgotten that if all cars were red it would be the blue car that is most desirable. Chris Daughtry writes grown up music that is enjoyable un-offensive and radio friendly. That is an art that has almost been lost on the bandwagonesque airwaves of the Mcmega radio Not all music is required to be nor should it be some artistic journey. The critics that have forgotten this may have forgotten that if all cars were red it would be the blue car that is most desirable. Chris Daughtry writes grown up music that is enjoyable un-offensive and radio friendly. That is an art that has almost been lost on the bandwagonesque airwaves of the Mcmega radio stations. Rock on Chris, Thanks for losing on Idol!. Expand
  3. TylerV
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    How can you say this album is bad??? I feel this album is a very good follow up album. Great job Daughtry!
  4. Bob
    Jul 22, 2009
    5
    I tried to like this, I really did, but it is pretty bland, a lot of well-used hook and cliched lyrics, although the band had some energy (even if was wasted on the uninspiring material). I think someone said unoffensive? There is a lot of unoffensive music out there, I don't think we should define them all as instant classics.
  5. MothballMan
    Jul 23, 2009
    0
    Daughtry make me long for Huey Lewis and the News. Huey Lewis and the News make me feel like I have no other option than to park on a railway line and wait for the end to come. Only to find that as I turn on the radio to listen to just one final song I can only receive one station. Playing Daughtry for ever. And my CD players broken. And I wish I had thought this through. But its to late. Daughtry make me long for Huey Lewis and the News. Huey Lewis and the News make me feel like I have no other option than to park on a railway line and wait for the end to come. Only to find that as I turn on the radio to listen to just one final song I can only receive one station. Playing Daughtry for ever. And my CD players broken. And I wish I had thought this through. But its to late. The trains coming. And the drivers listening to Daughtry. As he mows me down. To Daughtry. Ringing in my ears as I'm jettisoned to Hell. I'm coming home. Expand
  6. KimC
    Jul 28, 2009
    9
    It has a similar sound as his debut cd but the lyrics are much more deep and heart felt on this cd. Open your eyes is a touching song about life after death. Beautifully written.
  7. MissT.
    Aug 1, 2009
    4
    I see that Chris has talent and a nice voice (even though sometimes he overdoes it and it kinda sounds like...well, a billy goat!). I enjoyed his first album, but by no means did I think it was amazing. Listening to this album proves that his style hasn't changed much, which is a little bit unfortunate because the band has talked about the work and changes they put into this album. I see that Chris has talent and a nice voice (even though sometimes he overdoes it and it kinda sounds like...well, a billy goat!). I enjoyed his first album, but by no means did I think it was amazing. Listening to this album proves that his style hasn't changed much, which is a little bit unfortunate because the band has talked about the work and changes they put into this album. Maybe their third album will improve. Expand
  8. SwertM.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    A very excellent sophomore album for Daughtry, and a good continuation to what hopes to be a long discography. I'd recommend it for Rock fans everywhere.
  9. DaveB
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Andrew N. says critics are so wrapped up in their world they dont recognize good music. Well, even though Leave This Town is a decent cd, the critics who rate it low make some valid points. It IS predictable and the lyrics do tend to get a bit overwrought. You cant expect a cd that sits neatly beside so many other artists to be well received by all the critics. You have to offer something Andrew N. says critics are so wrapped up in their world they dont recognize good music. Well, even though Leave This Town is a decent cd, the critics who rate it low make some valid points. It IS predictable and the lyrics do tend to get a bit overwrought. You cant expect a cd that sits neatly beside so many other artists to be well received by all the critics. You have to offer something fresh, new, ambitious, and relevant to receive high marks universally. Daughtry offers very good singing that is certainly heartfelt, but the music is not a challenge to digest. Decent album, but not award worthy. Expand
  10. DevinD
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Honestly if you like the album you shouldn't care what critics say. They are paid to give serious reviews of an album not. "Oh my god I love this album" They are paid to go and listen to the music and compare it to other people's music. And yes compared to a bunch of albums that have come before it of course you can expect the kind of reviews you've seen. DAUGHTRY entered Honestly if you like the album you shouldn't care what critics say. They are paid to give serious reviews of an album not. "Oh my god I love this album" They are paid to go and listen to the music and compare it to other people's music. And yes compared to a bunch of albums that have come before it of course you can expect the kind of reviews you've seen. DAUGHTRY entered the world at a time where everything he's done has been done before him. Expand
  11. Colin
    Jul 28, 2009
    8
    I personally thought this album was better than the first. I liked that it had a heavier sound to it than their first one.
  12. ChrisH.
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    Or maybe, critics have just heard better music and have a larger variety outside the top twenty on the radio.
  13. BobbyS.
    Jul 16, 2009
    1
    Andrew N. has apparently lost touch with good taste. Critics sometimes tend to review albums with a heavy hand, that much is true, but its sad that there are still people out there who defend the most hamfisted and tired cliches in music. This sounds like so many albums that came before it, it almost feels like Daughtry is pandering. Pretty bad and boring material overall and he still Andrew N. has apparently lost touch with good taste. Critics sometimes tend to review albums with a heavy hand, that much is true, but its sad that there are still people out there who defend the most hamfisted and tired cliches in music. This sounds like so many albums that came before it, it almost feels like Daughtry is pandering. Pretty bad and boring material overall and he still sings like a billygoat. Expand
  14. ToddH
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    This album ROCKS! Daughtry is here and here to stay. I agree with Andrew N. Critics are biased towards the music that they prefer. This album has it all -- throw backs to the original, some great hard rock, and a little country feel to show their diversity in the industry. Keep brining on the best guys!
  15. TonyK
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Excellent Album. Keep on Rocking Daughtry. Some critics are so snobbish you can only laugh.
  16. siddharths
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    Except for "Tenneesee Line", nearly all the other songs sound the same. One gets bored after listening to 4-5 songs at a stretch.
  17. Shafaeta
    Jul 27, 2009
    6
    Just another rock album, not a great one,not a bad one either. It contains some really good song with some very average songs. Daughtry is better when he sings hard-rocks and power-ballads rather than regular ballads. Good-luck for daugtry,he got lots of potentials.
  18. May 22, 2014
    8
    This album offers more of the same. Angst-filled lyrics, crunchy guitar riffs, and pounding drums. While I would normally cry foul against this, I have to admit I'm glad I listened to it.
  19. Mar 23, 2017
    9
    I like every single song on this Album. He has a very good voice! And I like this kind of music. The only critic I have is that they all are very similar.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. They have nothing on their mind other than making basic, black-and-white modern rock, and they do so efficiently on Leave This Town, a sophomore album that's every bit as satisfying as the first.
  2. If you called Leave This Town, his familiar-sounding sophomore effort, workmanlike, he’d probably see it as a compliment. Too bad this is disappointingly generic hard rock with virtually the same formula that made his debut such a success.
  3. The blueprint of follow-up Leave This Town--chugging riffs, angsty-sensitive lyrics, here-come-the-soaring-double tracked-?choruses--may feel utterly familiar, but it's undoubtedly what the people (the people not being up for, one guesses, any major stylistic switcheroos) want.