Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Les Voyages De L'Ame will surely stand unchallenged as the most ineffably beautiful record of 2012. [21 Jan 2012, p.54]
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    Les Voyages De L'Âme is an excellent addition to the Alcest's already prodigious output, and it establishes itself early on as one of 2012's finest metal releases.
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The music contains all of the trembling beauty fans have come to expect from Alcest, combined with a sense of vitality and wanderlust.
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Les Voyages de l'Âme is a great record; self- defining and alluringly elusive.
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's the band's most mature work to date and perhaps the only one that feels like a true album.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    Alcest's new record,Les Voyages de l'Âme is the best example yet of what it can do.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    It is far from perfect yet could never possibly get there.
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    69
    Here, when everything's as clear as it is on Les Voyages de l'Âme, he feels almost too exposed, and the big climaxes he's reaching for don't arrive. There's no denying the beauty, but it feels weirdly muted-- or perhaps just unsurprising.
  9. There's much to cherish here, but this isn't a complete effort.
  10. Jan 26, 2012
    60
    There's a lot in here that brims with life but, somehow, it never quite unfolds.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    5
    I've wanted to like this so much more than I ultimately did. Ecailles de Lune is just absolutely spectacular, perfect, beautiful... JustI've wanted to like this so much more than I ultimately did. Ecailles de Lune is just absolutely spectacular, perfect, beautiful... Just wonderful! For those who haven't heard, think of Deafheaven's glorious Sunbather album but with a little less shoegaze and more black metal. Shelter is a very decent shoegaze album only hendered by a little monotony in a few songs and some repetition here and there, but for his take a on a pure shoegaze album, it's awesome! However, the middle child, Les Voyages de L'ame, Alcest just kinda... well... disappointed me, for a lack of better word. I listened so many times, yet felt nothing. It felt grandiose, but never delivered. "Sur L'Ocean Couleur de Fer" from Ecailles de Lune is better than all of these songs on this album. The instrumentals on this album are quite nice, but I wish they had done more with them. The vocals are beautiful as always, but never really changed pitch much. It was kinda like listening to a long, drawn-out, hum for an hour. I'm glad Alcest decided that he wanted to try a more shoegaze sound but this is more of the "cocoon" stage where it's changing but not necessarily its most beautiful. I'd give it a go if you're a fan and apparently most like it way more than I do. Give "Summer's Glory" or "Nous Sommes L'emeraude" a go, latter being probably my favorite on this disc. I give it a 2.5/5 Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    An album that filled a need that I didn't realise I had. Sitting somewhere between my love of the likes of Sigur Ros and metal, this is aAn album that filled a need that I didn't realise I had. Sitting somewhere between my love of the likes of Sigur Ros and metal, this is a beautiful piece of work. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    10
    This is simply one of the most beautiful and definitely best records I have heard in my life. It is great for anyone who loves still life byThis is simply one of the most beautiful and definitely best records I have heard in my life. It is great for anyone who loves still life by opeth. It is full of astonishing melodies, yet it reflects an extremely dark under current. It is just amazing. I highly suggest it. Full Review »