Les Voyages de l'ame

Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Les Voyages de l'Âme is a great record; self- defining and alluringly elusive.
  2. There's much to cherish here, but this isn't a complete effort.
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The music contains all of the trembling beauty fans have come to expect from Alcest, combined with a sense of vitality and wanderlust.
  4. Kerrang!
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Les Voyages De L'Ame will surely stand unchallenged as the most ineffably beautiful record of 2012. [21 Jan 2012, p.54]
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    69
    Here, when everything's as clear as it is on Les Voyages de l'Âme, he feels almost too exposed, and the big climaxes he's reaching for don't arrive. There's no denying the beauty, but it feels weirdly muted-- or perhaps just unsurprising.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    Les Voyages De L'Âme is an excellent addition to the Alcest's already prodigious output, and it establishes itself early on as one of 2012's finest metal releases.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    It is far from perfect yet could never possibly get there.
  8. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    Alcest's new record,Les Voyages de l'Âme is the best example yet of what it can do.
  9. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's the band's most mature work to date and perhaps the only one that feels like a true album.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    Alcest create a limbo lounge for souls weighed down by life's heaviness on these "voyages of the soul", and once acoustically settled in it isAlcest create a limbo lounge for souls weighed down by life's heaviness on these "voyages of the soul", and once acoustically settled in it is an amazingly dark yet beautiful journey through the blackness of uncertainty to the promise of light. But isnt' that what life's about? Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    5
    I've wanted to like this so much more than I ultimately did. Ecailles de Lune is just absolutely spectacular, perfect, beautiful... JustI've wanted to like this so much more than I ultimately did. Ecailles de Lune is just absolutely spectacular, perfect, beautiful... Just wonderful! For those who haven't heard, think of Deafheaven's glorious Sunbather album but with a little less shoegaze and more black metal. Shelter is a very decent shoegaze album only hendered by a little monotony in a few songs and some repetition here and there, but for his take a on a pure shoegaze album, it's awesome! However, the middle child, Les Voyages de L'ame, Alcest just kinda... well... disappointed me, for a lack of better word. I listened so many times, yet felt nothing. It felt grandiose, but never delivered. "Sur L'Ocean Couleur de Fer" from Ecailles de Lune is better than all of these songs on this album. The instrumentals on this album are quite nice, but I wish they had done more with them. The vocals are beautiful as always, but never really changed pitch much. It was kinda like listening to a long, drawn-out, hum for an hour. I'm glad Alcest decided that he wanted to try a more shoegaze sound but this is more of the "cocoon" stage where it's changing but not necessarily its most beautiful. I'd give it a go if you're a fan and apparently most like it way more than I do. Give "Summer's Glory" or "Nous Sommes L'emeraude" a go, latter being probably my favorite on this disc. I give it a 2.5/5 Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    An album that filled a need that I didn't realise I had. Sitting somewhere between my love of the likes of Sigur Ros and metal, this is aAn album that filled a need that I didn't realise I had. Sitting somewhere between my love of the likes of Sigur Ros and metal, this is a beautiful piece of work. Full Review »