• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2011
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Buy On
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Perhaps it's no surprise that eighth album Let England Shake is the first for which Harvey does not appear on the sleeve.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    If she wanted to move or enlighten, Let England Shake falls short.
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Always an underrated guitarist, Harvey makes use of the jaunty rhythms of British folk music, but takes no comfort in the past. And you don't have to care about English history--or England in general--to fall under Harvey's spell.
  4. The Wire
    Apr 28, 2011
    60
    It feels crudely stitched together. [Mar 2011, p.49]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 193
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A breathtaking beauty both in lyrics and music. Simplicity rules. Pete Doherty and Beck might have wished to clean her shoes. Me too. Even my dog seems to loose his regular interest in fresh veal... Jokes aside, just try it, will not get dissapointed. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This may sound like an overstatement, but this album is one of those that restore your faith in human creativitiy. What an amazingly solid,This may sound like an overstatement, but this album is one of those that restore your faith in human creativitiy. What an amazingly solid, beautiful, happy, and sad album. Reminds us that we're all in the human condition. Sounds like nothing I've ever heard. This album simply FEELS important. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    Her vocals on this album are so high to the point of shrill. As much time as you can tell went into Let England Shake it seems like so muchHer vocals on this album are so high to the point of shrill. As much time as you can tell went into Let England Shake it seems like so much production and nonsense. I just can't bring myself to put it back on the stereo. Full Review »