Let England Shake Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Polly Jean Harvey takes a political approach on her latest album, as a singer-songwriter speaking on the casualties of war, the cruelty of life and the condition of being human.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    This is the best album for 2011, and not just the last two months.
  2. 100
    Let England Shake is an album that only the Polly Harvey of today could have written.
  3. A dimly lit, lo-fi hybrid, Shake takes its cue from some of Harvey's most successful past works, but has its own uniquely brash textures.
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    85
    Harvey's singing delivers the material by juggling unwieldy emotions with care and empathy. And she makes the experience sound natural -- like a true no-brainer.
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    80
    This is war poetry at its finest and will keep you coming back for many repeat listens. Its influence on any listener, impressionable or otherwise, should be a positive one.
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    Authoritatively potent, bitterly bleak and beautiful, this record is an unexpected but essential punch in the face.
  7. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Always an underrated guitarist, Harvey makes use of the jaunty rhythms of British folk music, but takes no comfort in the past. And you don't have to care about English history--or England in general--to fall under Harvey's spell.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. A breathtaking beauty both in lyrics and music. Simplicity rules. Pete Doherty and Beck might have wished to clean her shoes. Me too. Even my dog seems to loose his regular interest in fresh veal... Jokes aside, just try it, will not get dissapointed. Collapse
  2. May 7, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this is the best album of 2011 so far. I know it's still early, but this album is really worth talking about. This sad andIn my opinion, this is the best album of 2011 so far. I know it's still early, but this album is really worth talking about. This sad and moving concept album about war really makes you think twice about our world and the soldiers that are fighting overseas. This is one of the best war related albums since Pink Floyd's "The Wall" (1979) and "The Final Cut" (1983). The songs that I would recommend are "Let England Shake", "The Glorious Land", "The Words That Maketh Murder", "On Battleship Hill", and "England". Worth buying for sure! Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    There's nobody in music like PJ Harvey, and the new record is nothing short of sensational. She can claim the rights to the best war albumThere's nobody in music like PJ Harvey, and the new record is nothing short of sensational. She can claim the rights to the best war album ever. There's no contest. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    What can I say. I'm biased about my favourites, just like the rest of us. You wont know if you don't listen. Fantastic use of the past andWhat can I say. I'm biased about my favourites, just like the rest of us. You wont know if you don't listen. Fantastic use of the past and present, looking for a better future. Check it out. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    A stunning album. In the past, I've only considered myself a moderate fan but I love, love, love this album. Somehow, she has managed toA stunning album. In the past, I've only considered myself a moderate fan but I love, love, love this album. Somehow, she has managed to craft a work which is fiercely intelligent - brimming with perceptive social commentary - yet one which never adopts a preachy or overly didactic tone. And despite its lyrical and conceptual depth - it is the music which carries the listener. She consistently and seamlessly interweaves gorgeous turns in melody - delighting as she surprises, disturbs and grabs hold of her audience. Here is a woman who is in full possession of her impressive talents - she is fully and confidently engaged with her artistic vision but never for a moment pandering to the expectations of critics or even fans. Ms. Harvey will not be to everyone's liking - she challenges and stretches her audience. But I urge you to give this one a try - patient listening will be well worth your time. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    There's no sense of pride in Harvey's words and music; just a chilling reminder that judgement by spilling blood is never the answer. Her rawThere's no sense of pride in Harvey's words and music; just a chilling reminder that judgement by spilling blood is never the answer. Her raw honesty for the beloved homeland is passionate beyond bounds and for that reason extremely effective in delivering her greatest recording. http://hackskeptic.com Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  3. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.
  4. Midyear Report: The Best Music of 2011 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Music of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: July 6, 2011
    With half of 2011 in the books, it's time to check on the year's best music so far. And which album tops our chart so far? It won't cost you anything to find out.
  5. February's Best New Music

    February's Best New Music Image
    Published: March 1, 2011
    Music critics were in a mellow mood last month, preferring more minimalist and restrained works, including the latest releases from PJ Harvey and Radiohead. Find out more about February's best-reviewed albums, and listen to full songs from each one.