Let Go

  • Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2002
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 264

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Me
    Jan 25, 2004
    5
    It rocks! It sucks! There. I've summed up all the user comments on this page, so no one ever has to waste their time reading them...ever again.
  2. AndrewV
    Jul 26, 2007
    5
    There are a few decent songs so i can't totally bash this album. However, anyone says she is a rock star needs help. Her newer stuff is even worse then this barely tolerable mess, the second album was passed over because of it's moody alternative vibe but it was the better of the 3. I guess she would rather sell out than be true to herself. At least her husband can rock, the new There are a few decent songs so i can't totally bash this album. However, anyone says she is a rock star needs help. Her newer stuff is even worse then this barely tolerable mess, the second album was passed over because of it's moody alternative vibe but it was the better of the 3. I guess she would rather sell out than be true to herself. At least her husband can rock, the new sum album kicks #@! Collapse
  3. PenelopeL
    Nov 3, 2002
    6
    Well, i think this girl has good songs and i know she holds a meaning behind them, so i like the way she expresses them , they r good, but i think shes a bit of a show off, and isee her as a spoiled girl.I know i dont really know her, but thats the impression im getting from her.
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    I have mixed feelings about Ms. Lavigne. I just don't know. Let Go was a pretty good cd for her first release. This may be her best album to date next to her following release. A lot of the songs on here can be related to by many angry teenagers and young adults. That part definitely works. Bravo.
  5. Feb 27, 2016
    5
    5/10 - "Lavigne's monochromatic debut set of unimaginative guitar rock is saved only by the earnestness of her songs" - Entertainment Weekly

    Avril's other albums are just so much better.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    A debut album which naively expresses a vague rebelliousness, nailing the small-town-girl-in-a-big-city vibe. The pop-punk tag is misleading, since Avril Lavigne has energy but lacks any irony (or self-irony, for what matters). It is, basically, a 90s records made in the 00s in an 80s style what with all the power pop, ballads, acoustic guitars and so on. Some songs are insufferableA debut album which naively expresses a vague rebelliousness, nailing the small-town-girl-in-a-big-city vibe. The pop-punk tag is misleading, since Avril Lavigne has energy but lacks any irony (or self-irony, for what matters). It is, basically, a 90s records made in the 00s in an 80s style what with all the power pop, ballads, acoustic guitars and so on. Some songs are insufferable (Avril tries to rap in Nobody's Fool, and it's unforgivable), other are catchy and provide a decent amount of fun. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The Canadian rocker looks like a (prettier) member of Sum 41, sounds like a slightly less-pissed Alanis Morissette and has the streetwise 'tude of Pink.
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    Lavigne displays a musical guile way beyond her years. [Sep 2002, p.109]
  3. Blender
    80
    Lavigne splices the angst of Alanis Morissette and the snarl of Courtney Love into a debut full of sunny guitar pop. [#8, p.115]