Let Go

  • Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2002
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 249

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MeganD.
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    this is the best cd ever made!!!!!
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Let Go, Old but gold. i have it is good and she is hot. this is a prefect cd no need to say more,cause it PREFECT! Only a young girl , but it is a world class cd! I love it You can do better!Avril!
  3. May 27, 2011
    10
    One of the very little albums that managed to age into my adult life with me.
  4. rodgers
    Dec 9, 2003
    1
    I love your cd avril
  5. KymG.
    Oct 7, 2002
    1
    She has a nice voice i must admit and some good lyrics, alot better that those pop freaks. But shes pretend i bet she cant even skate and the fact she is rippin of us die hard skaters who go hard every day is pathetic. and besides she looks like a 14 year old..
  6. thesillymofo
    Aug 14, 2002
    0
    she's just you kids: she sings about how she's angry, she's sensative and she's a sk8er too.... anti-britney/nsync figure hoping for pop success. worthless.
  7. IhateAvril
    Aug 5, 2003
    0
    Why, do I care, cause this cd is a piece of crap. Come on, canadians are only good for beer and hockey.
  8. LynetteB
    Apr 23, 2003
    0
    Avril is the most pretentious image in the pop culture since Vanilla Ice. I even have more respect in Britney and Christina, yes, they're as untalented as her but at least, they're not trying to be "avant-garde" as Avril tries to be. She tries to be original but she's actually as shamelessly manufactured as the rest of any pop stars and boy and girl bands you can name of. Avril is the most pretentious image in the pop culture since Vanilla Ice. I even have more respect in Britney and Christina, yes, they're as untalented as her but at least, they're not trying to be "avant-garde" as Avril tries to be. She tries to be original but she's actually as shamelessly manufactured as the rest of any pop stars and boy and girl bands you can name of. For Christ's sake, she doesn't even know who the Ramones and Velvet Underground are! And she calls herself PUNK? Of course, her fans who consider her punk are as CLUELESS as her because, let's admit it, Avril's music is pure commercial POP CRAP! Expand
  9. DerekG
    May 9, 2004
    0
    Horrible, calculated tripe. Alanis Morrissette could have written this in her sleep. Avril's image is a carefully constructed fallacy, designed to be "anti-Britney", but just as contrived as anything about Ms. Spears.
  10. Me
    Jan 25, 2004
    5
    It rocks! It sucks! There. I've summed up all the user comments on this page, so no one ever has to waste their time reading them...ever again.
  11. AndrewV
    Jul 26, 2007
    5
    There are a few decent songs so i can't totally bash this album. However, anyone says she is a rock star needs help. Her newer stuff is even worse then this barely tolerable mess, the second album was passed over because of it's moody alternative vibe but it was the better of the 3. I guess she would rather sell out than be true to herself. At least her husband can rock, the new There are a few decent songs so i can't totally bash this album. However, anyone says she is a rock star needs help. Her newer stuff is even worse then this barely tolerable mess, the second album was passed over because of it's moody alternative vibe but it was the better of the 3. I guess she would rather sell out than be true to herself. At least her husband can rock, the new sum album kicks #@! Collapse
  12. BettyJoe
    Dec 14, 2002
    7
    it's a good album, however she is far less punk then she claims to be. Her pop side is far more showy than any other sound particularly punk. She has a good voice and maybe even a few good lyrics, but anyone who considers her punk is obviously a poser.
  13. syazuins
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    ohmigod!!!!i really like Avril!! I mean this is the first time i love all song from certain artist's album!!!u rock!!!keep it up!
  14. LillianR.
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    I love Complicated and Skater Boy
  15. EdgarQ.
    Sep 14, 2002
    10
    i have it is good and she is hot
  16. JonnaC.
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    great
  17. KatelynG
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    Avril Lavigne is awesome! She doesn't like to follow a crowd, and she says that in this cd. I will definitely buy her next one!
  18. Matt
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    A superb power pop album! And my view is firm.
  19. MayraA
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Avril Rocks!!!!!!!!!
  20. [Anonymous]
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    woooohhooooo!! I love this cd I got it for all my friends birthdays!
  21. HilaryH.
    Sep 8, 2002
    10
    It rules. Ever since I heard it I knew I had to get the cd. Its the first cd I'v ever had. And right now its the only.
  22. A-Dri
    Aug 27, 2002
    8
    Would you rather hear Britney droning on about being a slave...or worse...boys? You have to admit when it comes down to it...you welcome any change into the music world.
  23. wongy
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    this is a prefect cd no need to say more,cause it PREFECT!!!!! Only a young girl , but it is a world class cd!!!!! I love it You can do better!Avril!!!!!
  24. crazyjimbo
    Aug 19, 2002
    0
    WTF? A skater anti pop "rebel" who sings with the tone of pop? Everything she says is a cliche and fake. "I'm so cool, I can thrash the mall with all of my friends who are just payed back up artists and then we can sing like a country-rock fusion band!" If you buy this album thinking that this artist is anti pop, and so close to rebellion and an "agitated teen" then you my friend, WTF? A skater anti pop "rebel" who sings with the tone of pop? Everything she says is a cliche and fake. "I'm so cool, I can thrash the mall with all of my friends who are just payed back up artists and then we can sing like a country-rock fusion band!" If you buy this album thinking that this artist is anti pop, and so close to rebellion and an "agitated teen" then you my friend, are a retard. Seriously - bust out the rope and the high chair and end it - because your tastes in music can only reflect upon yourself. Which is the exact advice I would give to the artist herself. Expand
  25. yourmom
    Aug 23, 2002
    0
    she doesn't write her own music, or maybe co-writes by throwing in a few rhymes, she admits she "sucks" at guitar, and she doesn't really skate OR sing punk music, yet she calls herself a "skater punk". pathetic. on top of that, she sounds just like britney spears, whom she tries so hard to rebel against.
  26. courtneyb
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    this C.D rocks who every says it sucks they are so rong
  27. AndreeaB
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    I love Avril, i love her c.d, it's the best, i can wait untill her next album appears. I don't care if there are people who does not like her music, if you don't like it,don't listen to it, but you don't know what you are missing. I understand her and her music and that's why i think she is so grat and the best. I'm the number one fan of AVRIL I love Avril, i love her c.d, it's the best, i can wait untill her next album appears. I don't care if there are people who does not like her music, if you don't like it,don't listen to it, but you don't know what you are missing. I understand her and her music and that's why i think she is so grat and the best. I'm the number one fan of AVRIL LAVIGNE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  28. clairedeNiese
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Hi I'm claire and I'm the biggest FAN of Avril and i think her album "Let Go" ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!
  29. Daz
    May 31, 2004
    10
    I think this is the best and most enjoyable albumn i have listened to in the last 10 years. I am a big Oasis fan but this is better than most of their albumns. VERY strongly recommended
  30. azzins
    Aug 15, 2004
    10
    I Love This Albem Avril Is Ganna Go Far she is one of the no she is the best singer ever
  31. cynthiaa
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    the cd is great,she's herself and having fun with her muzic. whoever doesn't like her ,your fucked up and boring,boring ,boring. plus if you say that she's a wannabe or something like that ,you must be seeing your self like that cause she's real ,flesh and blood.
  32. EmilyA
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    Great Cd!!im listing to it right now.. and great singing but i think Avril should fix her `tude
  33. ShannonM
    May 15, 2003
    10
    I love her cd!!!! Ive memorised every wod in every song she wrote! My fav song is Losing Grip.
  34. EdwinK.
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    She is great! The music is brilliant!
  35. SarahS.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    it's the best
  36. ajriegler
    Feb 14, 2003
    10
    L.w. is a fucking fag, he is just jealous he should fucking die, so should Kym G., Joseph H., Nete M.,
  37. TammyK
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    The album ROCKS! i really could care less what those freakin critics have to say. They just look at her and her style of music and don't appreciate it for what it is. Avril's songs are songs that u can relate to, she really reaches out to the gurls that get judged before you kno them. which all the stupid preppy people do cuz u dun wear what they wear or do what they do like zombies.
  38. AliciaF
    Oct 13, 2002
    10
    I love this album! I liked almost every song on it, the only one I didnt like was 'Mobile'. Anyways if you liked Alanis Morisettes' Jagged Little Pill you'd probably like this album too.
  39. nikitac
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    it is the greatist
  40. Courts
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Avril Rocks. The songs are easy to relate to, catchy, and i love em. And Evan is HOT
  41. LeonieH.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    It is a wonderfull album I totally agree with this
  42. JamieT
    Dec 29, 2002
    9
    She's a superb songwriter, witha lot of feeling and meaning and her voice fits her lyrics. She is extremely refreshing in this prepackaged world.
  43. Erica
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Avril kicks butt when it comes to music these days....and its nice to see someone out in the music industry who isn't afraid to be who they really are!This album is awsome and it tells it as it is!!!
  44. JonathanL
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    i give avril's cd a perfect 10. Her music is pure and bold. It shows everyone what she is and if they dont dont like it, they can shove it.
  45. RebeccaM.
    Sep 18, 2002
    10
    this cd is sweet so what if she sounds like brittney spreas(even tho she doesnt) she isnt her at all she has her own stly and doesn't care what others thinkk she isn't a slut like alot of other ppl and thats a good thing
  46. Mandy
    Oct 16, 2002
    10
    This album is just great!
  47. lynzid
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    this album is gr8 avril rocks she says it how it is she has a unique fashion sense :) ne body who dont like her must be sad pop ppl who hate her coz she a lil different but avril totally RAWKS!!!
  48. qayyumy
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    good!!!
  49. AlasdairN
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    a great, underated debut
  50. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    I am Avril Fan. Let Go is more like a pop album when she is infact a Rock Star. (People may disagree but it's true) For Pop loving people it would be awsome but for me, she could use a little more rock. However her voice and lyrics have forced me to give it 9.
  51. AndrewP
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Great Album! Absolutely true.
  52. EdwardH
    May 8, 2007
    10
    Av delivers with klassic kool hitz like "Skat@r Boi" and "Complicated" she is a truly gifted singer with a fun, commandin' voice with a lotta attitude. She is one of tha pop,rock heavyweights undeniably and is a truly talented, gifted singer.
  53. BobE
    May 10, 2007
    8
    This is a good CD I quite likeit But i admit Her newer stuff Isnt very good.But as I siad This is a good album.if she brings out another one like this I'll Buy it
  54. NormanG
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Its really impressing to be her first album she really kicked ass w/ this.
  55. EinarJ
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    One of my favourite debuts. Avril Lavigne may not be the most talented vocalist, song-writer nor sexy female of our time. However, her emotional views and lyrics can cause for adoration. 'Losing Grip' is the obvious most hardcore track, showing her desperation for a less futile relationship. 'Too Much To Ask' is another slow burner, typical at first, then developing One of my favourite debuts. Avril Lavigne may not be the most talented vocalist, song-writer nor sexy female of our time. However, her emotional views and lyrics can cause for adoration. 'Losing Grip' is the obvious most hardcore track, showing her desperation for a less futile relationship. 'Too Much To Ask' is another slow burner, typical at first, then developing into its despicable chorus. Expand
  56. EdijsG
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    This is the best album she ever made so far.
  57. JamieRitchie
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    amazing album
  58. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    With her great voice Avril sings on a great album, which probaly is, and will be, the best album she has ever made. This is back when her music actually meant something.
  59. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    Esse é um verdadeiro álbum de pop/rock, agradou uma legião de fãs além de pessoas não tão ligadas a Avril assim, até minha mão ouve I'm With You e acha uma ótima música! Em 2002 a Avril veio pra arrasar e fazer um sucesso que estava sendoEsse é um verdadeiro álbum de pop/rock, agradou uma legião de fãs além de pessoas não tão ligadas a Avril assim, até minha mão ouve I'm With You e acha uma ótima música! Em 2002 a Avril veio pra arrasar e fazer um sucesso que estava sendo feito apenas por artistas pop!! Expand
  60. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    This was back when Avril gave a damn about her music. There is nothing groundbreaking about this album but her talent as a vocalist combines with a good backup band made this one memorable.
  61. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Let Go it's my favorite acoustic-rock album.Losing Grip the debut track it's the best track of the cd.Another amazing song is :All 13 song.Just Complicated it's not enough but song like Naked,I'm With U and Unwanted make u scream along the cd.
  62. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Singing like a rebellious teenager, Avril captivates us from beginning to end, who never identified with a song from that album? Surely an album that marked a generation. Highlight for I'm With You, a great ballad.
  63. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The past few years, this album has been one of my very favorites. It never gets old. It shows the "pissed off girl next door" version of Avril, which nobody sees anymore. I can relate to every one of these songs. "Mobile" and "Unwanted" are my favorites. This is a very good album.
  64. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    I have mixed feelings about Ms. Lavigne. I just don't know. Let Go was a pretty good cd for her first release. This may be her best album to date next to her following release. A lot of the songs on here can be related to by many angry teenagers and young adults. That part definitely works. Bravo.
  65. Feb 27, 2016
    5
    5/10 - "Lavigne's monochromatic debut set of unimaginative guitar rock is saved only by the earnestness of her songs" - Entertainment Weekly

    Avril's other albums are just so much better.
  66. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    'Let Go' is a gift to a young audience with its beautiful letters followed by beautiful chords and accompanied by a beautiful voice, unabashedly portrays adolescence as well, done with 'Avril Lavigne' began the path to be one of the greatest singers Canadians.
  67. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    The then tomboy Avril Lavigne made her stunning debut with hits like "Complicated," "I'm With You," and "Sk8er Boi" which were exceptional. Did I mention she was on'y 17? She also has credits on every song in her career, unlike many teen stars such as Miley Cyrus and One Direction.
  68. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    A debut album which naively expresses a vague rebelliousness, nailing the small-town-girl-in-a-big-city vibe. The pop-punk tag is misleading, since Avril Lavigne has energy but lacks any irony (or self-irony, for what matters). It is, basically, a 90s records made in the 00s in an 80s style what with all the power pop, ballads, acoustic guitars and so on. Some songs are insufferableA debut album which naively expresses a vague rebelliousness, nailing the small-town-girl-in-a-big-city vibe. The pop-punk tag is misleading, since Avril Lavigne has energy but lacks any irony (or self-irony, for what matters). It is, basically, a 90s records made in the 00s in an 80s style what with all the power pop, ballads, acoustic guitars and so on. Some songs are insufferable (Avril tries to rap in Nobody's Fool, and it's unforgivable), other are catchy and provide a decent amount of fun. Expand
  69. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I personally would rate this my favorite album to ever be released. Every track is unique and Avril's voice still amazes me over 10 years after its release. With over 17 million copies worldwide, this album really has achieved universal acclaim
  70. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    Excelente álbum para ser el primero en su carrera, cada canción cuenta una historia, y ademas de eso las canciones ofrecen soluciones. El álbum me hace recordar cuando verdaderas canciones no pasaban desapercibidas en las listas.

    Favoritas: Complicated, I'm with you, things i'll never say
  71. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    Amo esse CD. Tem ótimas letras e se dá na fase rockeira da Avril. Minhas músicas favoritas são: Sk8er Boi,Complicated,Unwanted,Naked,Nobody's Fool e My World. Esse álbum,na minha opinião,só perde para o Under My Skin.
  72. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Let Go é uma obra-prima da Avril. Cada música tem seu potencial. Sinto muito dizer mas, mesmo velho, esse álbum é melhor do que muitos da atualidade. Melhores:

    1. Naked
    2. Anything But Ordinary
    3. I'm With You
    4. Complicated
    5. Unwanted
    6. My World
    7. Sk8er Boi
    8. Nobody's Fool
    9. Mobile
    10. Things I'll Never Say
    11. Too Much To Ask
    12. Losing Grip
    13. Tomorrow
  73. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    It's 2015 and think it's about time for us to realize that Avril Lavigne is and has been a genius prodigy from the very start. The surprisingly mature teenage singer that can be down-to-earthly ordinary and out-of-this-wordly extraordinary at the same time. It's a shame that Avril has literally changed her brilliant ways to go all glittery pop since her third album in 2007, but her legacyIt's 2015 and think it's about time for us to realize that Avril Lavigne is and has been a genius prodigy from the very start. The surprisingly mature teenage singer that can be down-to-earthly ordinary and out-of-this-wordly extraordinary at the same time. It's a shame that Avril has literally changed her brilliant ways to go all glittery pop since her third album in 2007, but her legacy and her flawless teenage-angst persona that she used to proudly rock shall not be forgotten forever. Expand
  74. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    Na minha opinião "Let Go" é o melhor álbum da Avril, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, algo muito original quase impossível de se achar nos dias de hoje
  75. Mar 1, 2015
    7
    In general, it's a very well-rounded, balanced album. It contains more pop-leaning songs like Complicated and more rock-leaning like Unwanted or Losing Grip, but in general this is what a pop-rock album should be, capable of attracting a wide variety of people, from pop lovers to rock snobs. It contains my favourite song ever, I'm With You, which I think is one of the best ballads of theIn general, it's a very well-rounded, balanced album. It contains more pop-leaning songs like Complicated and more rock-leaning like Unwanted or Losing Grip, but in general this is what a pop-rock album should be, capable of attracting a wide variety of people, from pop lovers to rock snobs. It contains my favourite song ever, I'm With You, which I think is one of the best ballads of the 00'. However, during those years, I wasn't that big of a fan of hers and only the release of her next album, Under My Skin, made me be obsessed with her. As time went by, I found this album less and less genuine when it comes to Avril's contribution, and I was never a big fan of the "skater" look.

    I give it a 7 because it's a really good album, but looks too manufactured at times (as her image at the time) so I didn't think it deserved a 8. Still a classic album that I listen and enjoy to from time to time
    Expand
  76. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    love this album one of the best from decade!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    AVRIL LAVIGNE deserved a win a grammy for LET GO
  77. May 10, 2015
    9
    One of the most iconic albums of the 2000s. Lavigne on this album features a bunch of good-old boppy songs that lots of teenagers would love. I feel that Lavigne should've not "let go" of the 2004 hit "Breakaway" originally written by herself. Also the B-sides "Why", "I Don't Give", and "Get Over It" should've at least been added to Deluxe editions, maybe they're personal songs? Overall,One of the most iconic albums of the 2000s. Lavigne on this album features a bunch of good-old boppy songs that lots of teenagers would love. I feel that Lavigne should've not "let go" of the 2004 hit "Breakaway" originally written by herself. Also the B-sides "Why", "I Don't Give", and "Get Over It" should've at least been added to Deluxe editions, maybe they're personal songs? Overall, my highlights of the album are "Losing Grip", "Complicated", "Sk8er Boi", "I'm with You", "Tomorrow", and "Why". Expand
  78. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Amo/sou, rainha, dona, emo, gótica das trevas , linda, maravilhosa, albúm maravilhoso, vendeu +18 milhões de cópias pelo mundo, só tem hinos no álbum.. Preciso dizer mais alguma coisa?
  79. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Let Go é uma marca para o mundo da música. Numa época que artistas como Britney e Xtina dominavam, Avril veio com tudo, com seu estilo skatista e suas músicas espetaculares, em todos os sentidos, no seu álbum de estreia.

    Pontos Altos: Naked, Too Much To Ask, I'm With You
    Pontos Baixos: Nobody's Fool, My World, Unwanted
  80. Apr 22, 2016
    10
    this is the best cd ever made! Let Go, Old but gold. i have it is good and she is hot. this is a prefect cd no need to say more,cause it PREFECT! Only a young girl , but it is a world class cd! I love it You can do better!Avril!
  81. May 15, 2016
    7
    Um disco com canções tão boas que por si só acabam ofuscando as demais. (B-)
  82. Sep 8, 2016
    10
    o debut a gente não esquece, digno de 10 por ter feito um album tão cru e perfeito ao mesmo tempo. Qualquer adolescente na epoca sabe o quão verdadeiro as letras e melodias desse disco foram e é.
  83. Aug 5, 2017
    2
    This album may be perceived as Lavigne's best album because of the time it was released. Although, this album falls into the category of which the opening half of the album is drastically better than the closing half. Any song after Mobile is awful which is why I can't understand why the reviewer rating is so high. Maybe this album is not for me.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The Canadian rocker looks like a (prettier) member of Sum 41, sounds like a slightly less-pissed Alanis Morissette and has the streetwise 'tude of Pink.
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    Lavigne displays a musical guile way beyond her years. [Sep 2002, p.109]
  3. Blender
    80
    Lavigne splices the angst of Alanis Morissette and the snarl of Courtney Love into a debut full of sunny guitar pop. [#8, p.115]