Let Them Talk

Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 25, 2011
    80
    No embarrassing side-project, Let Them Talk turns out to showcase heartfelt and sensitively handled musicianship from one of our finest all-round entertainers.
  2. May 13, 2011
    70
    Aficionados may balk at an actor trespassing on sacred ground, but even they'd have to admit, that for a white, middle-class Englishman, Hugh Laurie plays a surprisingly convincing bluesman.
  3. This is another acting job, in a sense, and Laurie's faux-Southern drawl grates a little, but he's assembled a band of N'awlins old hands to add authenticity.
  4. May 12, 2011
    70
    To his enormous credit, Laurie never sounds like a dilettante among this group; he holds his own, working his way into the marrow of the songs, playing credible piano throughout the record.
  5. Mojo
    May 18, 2011
    60
    Laurie is best on standards such as St James Infirmary and Buddy Bolden's Blues, playing piano on them with strength and sensitivity. [Jun 2011, p.104]
  6. 60
    With the slight caveat that Laurie's vocals never quite cast off their Englishness (and why should they?), this is a commendable effort which at its best furnishes considerable enjoyment.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    40
    This is no disaster on the level of, say, a Leonard Nimoy or Don Johnson album, but given Laurie's outspoken love for New Orleans and the involvement of Henry and his crew, Let Them Talk still falls well short of expectations.
  8. Uncut
    May 13, 2011
    40
    Let Them Talk is competent and heartfelt but far from necessary. [Jun 2011, p.87]
  9. May 12, 2011
    40
    The foray ultimately fails because Laurie's voice is no more than adequate.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Hugh Laurie is an excellent musician, and has great skill with the piano and the guitar, it makes him a complete musician. Apart managed toHugh Laurie is an excellent musician, and has great skill with the piano and the guitar, it makes him a complete musician. Apart managed to combine the best tracks of Blues with his voice and that's very unusual. Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    What a terrific first album from an incredible man. Even though I'm not very into blue, I can totally argue that Hugh's album changed my pointWhat a terrific first album from an incredible man. Even though I'm not very into blue, I can totally argue that Hugh's album changed my point of view immediately. His voice suits the music so great, the way he plays the guitar and piano... He's such a unbelievable master. A real surprise from start to finish, some excellent arrangements of real blues Tunes. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Besides the celebrity status of the lead performer, there are a couple of areas that distinguish this album from similarBesides the celebrity status of the lead performer, there are a couple of areas that distinguish this album from similar efforts. One of the more interesting is that there arenâ Full Review »