Let Us Never Speak Of It Again

  • Record Label: Kranky
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. zingzingzingzing
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    One of the best synthpop albums of this decade. better than junior boys or whatever other serious contenders you can think of... seems that the boys(and girls) of the !!!/outhud collective are some of the most interesting at play these days...
  2. aaronharrisaharris08
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    i loved it. first exposure to these folks hit with !!! louden up now and this is a very nice progression.
  3. BillyBob
    Mar 30, 2005
    7
    Artful, funky pop and no-wave disco. An interesting change of direction, stripping out the post-rock progressiveness but none of the innovation. I like it!
  4. AsahiK.
    Aug 21, 2005
    9
    Nice dancerock, better than !!! or the LCD Soundsystem, more melodious and glitchy at once.
  5. EliL
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    Albums like this help form the much-needed bridge from dance music's ten year run to the more modern funked-up rock sound. Ravers are like an STD.
  6. DoolyoN
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    The vocals by Phyllis Forbes are great. Isn't she the pretty one? I love "Old Nude", I wonder where they got that title.
  7. benm
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    lyrics take some getting used to but have grown on me. extremely danceable and catchy in a balls-out wacky kinda way. parts are rather forgettable but it's ok you will need a rest.
  8. RavingLunatic
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    I've listened to this album several times. There are some very good songs, mostly the longer ones, but I'm baffled as to why they would include some very weak vocals that detract from the album immeasurably. Other than that though, a solid album, but not as good as STREET DAD because of the vocals.
  9. RussellS
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    If new Order were 20 years younger and liked chicks more than ecstasy you might get something more akin to this punkateria dance pit. Throbbing, reveling, innocent, intentional, and almost necessary make repeated listening essential. It does pays dividends though.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Rolling Stone
    60
    It's insular stuff, but because they think like hipster Stockhausens and always keep things moving, Out Hud's indie disco is exciting where Tortoise's indie jazz was merely annoying. [24 Mar 2005, p.79]
  2. Out Hud’s new-found pop smarts leave you hoping that they’ll drop the instrumentals and devote a whole album to songs.
  3. If you want to dance, then Out Hud are your outfit of choice.