• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jun 6, 2006

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The collection of ten songs on this album are mostly solid, with some real pearlers and a few that pass you by--but the band is so easy to listen to that you don’t need to be an established fan.
  2. Though they haven't changed much in the span of three terrific albums, Camera Obscura no longer recall Belle & Sebastian; they only sound like themselves.
  3. This is more than a diary set to music; it’s an interactive map. It is a scrapbook of love gone wrong, including ripped photos, amateur pencil sketches, tear-stained poems, and ticket stubs.
  4. You might not find heartache as enchanting as this anywhere else.
  5. While the songs are undeniably beautiful and even fun, the music provides a vital balance to the album's substantial thematic heft, and it's that combination that makes Let's Get Out Of This Country one of the year's best pop albums.
  6. Yes, 'Let's Get Out Of This Country' is a ludicrously fey, coy, twee and light record that could very feasibly be knocked out by an injured butterfly, it's that gentle. But it's also a gorgeously produced, beautifully romantic and ultimately uplifting record.
  7. Let's Get Out Of This Country delivers ten perfect pop tunes.
  8. An album full of majestic pop tunes in their absolute truest form.
  9. Campbell's voice is a gorgeously mellifluous one, aching at the heart of Country Mile, but sweetness gets monotonous, and the album could do with more jolts of bitter energy, like Lloyd and If Looks Could Kill, to liven it up.
  10. Deeply romantic and just as melancholy.
  11. Tracyanne Campbell has a glassy, gorgeous voice, but it’s also a curiously inexpressive one. When she’s left to carry less than strong songs alone, they suffer as a result.
  12. While their sound may be familiar, Camera Obscura are anything but run-of-the-mill.
  13. Yet for all its surface appeal, the record has a curiously soulless quality, a lack of vulnerability and humanity that undercuts most of its songs.
  14. And the award for most-improved artist of 2006 goes to… Camera Obscura.
  15. Under The Radar
    A gorgeous pop album, to say the least. [#14]
  16. New Musical Express (NME)
    If 'Let's Get Out Of This Country' was a person, you would want to hug it until its big doe-eyes popped out. [10 Jun 2006, p.41]
  17. Mojo
    Thanks to the vision of singer/songwriter Traceyanne Campbell, this is a killer record, rather than just a pretty one.[Jul 2006, p.102]
  18. Uncut
    With [Belle & Sebastian] now seemingly lost to soft-pop pastichery, CO have come out of their shadow and flourished. [Jul 2006, p.84]
  19. Spin
    Baroque but not self-indulgent. [Jul 2006, p.83]
  20. Paste Magazine
    The band's finest yeat, with 10 succinct tunes that artfully blend the musical signifiers of the '60s with clever songwriting. [Aug 2006, p.87]
  21. Q Magazine
    At times the '60s girl-group feel can prove grating, but there's enough here to suggest a future beyond the indie ghetto. [Jul 2006, p.112]
  22. Filter
    Pure and unabashed pop bliss. [#21, p.102]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Darnell
    Jun 26, 2007
    Tops! This album has been in heavy rotation for almost a year now. That says a lot! Sweet, sad, longing. Great.
  2. gstar
    Mar 19, 2007
    Extremely enjoyable, easy listening that somehow sounds unique. I love it!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Mar 7, 2007
    No Mike Pavement made their career by riding the coattails of Pixies and Sonic Youth. Only their music was so watered down that it lacked No Mike Pavement made their career by riding the coattails of Pixies and Sonic Youth. Only their music was so watered down that it lacked emotion and depth all together. Cut Your Hair makes me want to cut my throat. If you love this album get Underachievers and you'll realize that Camera Obscura is the greatest band on the planet. Full Review »