• Record Label: GBV Inc.
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2012
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. 60
    The 16th GBV album is business as usual: plangent garage rock.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    60
    While it fails to match their previous hit quotient, it's still a decent listen.
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    60
    Everything about this album feels "classic", but in the end the material itself is merely solid.
  4. Jan 12, 2012
    60
    Repeated listens to Let's Go Eat the Factory reveal a paucity of the pithy lyric and classic riff on which he's [Pollard] built a deserved reputation.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    60
    Let's Go eat A factory is not a brilliant album and of itself, but it does cast guided By Voices in a slightly different light. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  6. 60
    Just enough titbits of melody... to sustain interest.
  7. Jan 20, 2012
    50
    For every full colour oil on canvas there are two doodles that fail to engage this sympathetic listener even after five or six plays.
  8. Jan 6, 2012
    40
    Let's Go Eat the Factory works as an offering to those obsessive enough to be satisfied just to see Sprout and Pollard up on the same stage and little else.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    Pollard + Sprout = perfection. A fine set of tender matapshysical ditties mixed with powerful rock anthems. A record which fills the gapPollard + Sprout = perfection. A fine set of tender matapshysical ditties mixed with powerful rock anthems. A record which fills the gap between the Who at their best (circa 1968-1973) and the most shadowy kiwi rock. More and more complex at every new listen. Welcome back GBV, we missed you a lot... Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    A very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have toA very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have to say it gets better with every listen. It's GBV to the core with the Sprout songs giving it that extra ass kick. Welcome back boys, you've been sorely missed. I'm looking forward to next album in a few months! The Club is Re-Opened and I'll be taking my usually spot right up front. Cheers. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    A very lo-fi affair, but a solid journey without. Not a lot of highs or lows, just really solid songwriting and well tuned guitars to back itA very lo-fi affair, but a solid journey without. Not a lot of highs or lows, just really solid songwriting and well tuned guitars to back it up. A must buy for lazy-day music listeners. Full Review »