• Record Label: GBV Inc.
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2012
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    A very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have to say it gets better with every listen. It's GBV to the core with the Sprout songs giving it that extra ass kick. Welcome back boys, you've been sorely missed. I'm looking forward to next album in a few months! The Club is Re-Opened and I'll be takingA very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have to say it gets better with every listen. It's GBV to the core with the Sprout songs giving it that extra ass kick. Welcome back boys, you've been sorely missed. I'm looking forward to next album in a few months! The Club is Re-Opened and I'll be taking my usually spot right up front. Cheers. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    Pollard + Sprout = perfection. A fine set of tender matapshysical ditties mixed with powerful rock anthems. A record which fills the gap between the Who at their best (circa 1968-1973) and the most shadowy kiwi rock. More and more complex at every new listen. Welcome back GBV, we missed you a lot...
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    A very lo-fi affair, but a solid journey without. Not a lot of highs or lows, just really solid songwriting and well tuned guitars to back it up. A must buy for lazy-day music listeners.
  4. Apr 6, 2018
    8
    As the first album marking the bands reunion, this release is very good and definitely a classic. With the first 14 tracks of the album being very good, 'waves' is the clear standout track, with the rest of this record following with more good (but slightly worse) tracks. This album also displays the songwriting skills of Tobin Sprout who has a huge contribution on this record, writingAs the first album marking the bands reunion, this release is very good and definitely a classic. With the first 14 tracks of the album being very good, 'waves' is the clear standout track, with the rest of this record following with more good (but slightly worse) tracks. This album also displays the songwriting skills of Tobin Sprout who has a huge contribution on this record, writing some of the best tracks. Overall, this album shows the strength of the songwriting in the band collectively as it contains 9 tracks not exclusively written by Pollard (most in 17 years) with other members of the band making a greater contribution. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    This is the very best kind of post-reunion album, the one that allows you to rediscover things you'd forgotten about a band you always loved.
  2. Mojo
    Jan 31, 2012
    80
    A cache of hissy, vivid, occasionally creepy but mostly sweetly touching brain pop that stands proudly alongside GBV's ragged former glories. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    50
    For every full colour oil on canvas there are two doodles that fail to engage this sympathetic listener even after five or six plays.