Let's Go Eat the Factory - Guided by Voices
Let's Go Eat the Factory Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Robert Pollard reunites with Guided by Voices to release the indie band's first album of new material in eight years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    88
    As is the case with most Pollard releases, it's hard to pick a best moment, because catchy new favorites pop out with each successive listen, timed to explode in incremental bursts.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Their 16th album proves that while Guided by Voices' songs are legion, their gifts remain singular.[Feb. 2012 p. 109]
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    A cache of hissy, vivid, occasionally creepy but mostly sweetly touching brain pop that stands proudly alongside GBV's ragged former glories. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    70
    Some come-backs are fraught with danger, both commercial and artistic. This one is entirely justified.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Let's Go Eat the Factory is hardly a triumph, but it's a step in the right direction for Pollard, as well as confirmation that this group of friendly reprobates still has some good work left in them.
  6. As a whole, the album's sound suggests that of a band on auto-pilot, one that's not so much invested in recording new material as it is in simply going through the motions of recording new material.
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    30
    It's just a sludgy, grumpy record from a band who once knew pop music needed whimsy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    Pollard + Sprout = perfection. A fine set of tender matapshysical ditties mixed with powerful rock anthems. A record which fills the gapPollard + Sprout = perfection. A fine set of tender matapshysical ditties mixed with powerful rock anthems. A record which fills the gap between the Who at their best (circa 1968-1973) and the most shadowy kiwi rock. More and more complex at every new listen. Welcome back GBV, we missed you a lot... Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    A very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have toA very, very good GBV album. If not a classic, it's very close. Fans won't be disappointed. I've listened to it like 15 times and I have to say it gets better with every listen. It's GBV to the core with the Sprout songs giving it that extra ass kick. Welcome back boys, you've been sorely missed. I'm looking forward to next album in a few months! The Club is Re-Opened and I'll be taking my usually spot right up front. Cheers. Collapse
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    A very lo-fi affair, but a solid journey without. Not a lot of highs or lows, just really solid songwriting and well tuned guitars to back itA very lo-fi affair, but a solid journey without. Not a lot of highs or lows, just really solid songwriting and well tuned guitars to back it up. A must buy for lazy-day music listeners. Expand