Libertad - Velvet Revolver
Libertad Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scott Weiland and company return with their second album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Velvet Revolver's second CD is so chock-full of the tight 'n' crunchy pedigreed hard rock that's in short supply these days, it feels both comfortingly familiar and vaguely exotic
  2. With filth, loose morals, anger, frustration, big guitars and even bigger choruses at every turn, it's got all the DNA of a pure-bred rock classic.
  3. Velvet Revolver still mines sleaze-rock formula on songs like "She Builds Quick Machines," the band has also expanded its sound considerably, taking turns at rambling country and gauzy psychedelic pop before returning to the boozy classic rock.
  4. Libertad, is another riff-happy collection of big, juiced-up rock songs perfect for summertime thrashing.
  5. There is plenty of thrill in the fuzz-lined hard-rubber bends of Slash's guitar breaks and the way bassist Duff McKagan keeps time, like a cop swinging a billy club. There is honest depth here too.
  6. A handful of jukebox-friendly hard rock tracks and a thoroughly replayable album is almost as good an outcome as could be expected from this group of aging rockers.
  7. Libertad sounds old, heavy, wrapped in a tough skin. At the same time, by virtue of sheer outdated flamboyance, it seems almost willfully naive.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 77
  2. Negative: 12 out of 77
  1. May 26, 2012
    While still an entertaining listen, I feel this is a few steps below Contraband. The lyrics on some songs feel very cliche and uninspired, and there are far fewer guitar solos on this album than on Contraband, which is strange considering Slash is in the band. This album just ends up being average, which is disappointing because of all the talent behind the music. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews