Libra Scale

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Libra Scale lacks the sparkle found in Ne-Yo's previous work. Much like "Champagne Life," there is still plenty to celebrate. Toast it up.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    R&B concept album about binmen turned superheroes. Yup.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    Musically, Ne-Yo spends most of his time here worshipping the throne of Michael Jackson ballads, which suits his falsetto crooning quite well. However, it's the handful of upbeat techno-influenced speaker-thumpers that stand out most, revealing his potential to be a much more versatile artist.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    Despite Ne-Yo being absolutely serious about this--apparently, he spent three months alone developing the backstory--it doesn't feel markedly different from his first three albums. His strength remains his fluid melody-writing.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    As DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tellAs DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer and songwriter. My personal favourites are "Champagne Life", "One in A Million", "Telekinesis" and "What Have I Done". They're either electrifying, emotional or a careful mixture of both. Cons: Unfortunately, a couple of the songs are a bit of a let down and I think it was because of the fact that he was trying to be experimental. Songs like "Cause I Said So" to me were kind of lacking, especially compared to songs from his other albums like Year of the Gentlemen. Also, it's a shame there are only 10 songs. I feel that the story could've been conveyed more if there were a few more songs. But overall, this is a triumph for Ne-Yo. Full Review »
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    No. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a realNo. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a real artist. I hope for something better the next time Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2010
    4
    I really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I mayI really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I may listen to one or two tracks on the album but definitely not from start to finish. Next album needs to be considerably better than this. Full Review »