User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony, Ryan Leslie, D. DoRohn Gough, etc, Ne-Yo presented a sexy sound. The album presents itself as an album for those living the fancy nightlife, those living the "Champagne Life"
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    As DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer and songwriter. My personal favourites are "Champagne Life", "One in A Million", "Telekinesis" and "What Have I Done". They're either electrifying, emotional or a careful mixture of both. Cons: Unfortunately, a couple of the songs are a bit of a let down and I think it was because of the fact that he was trying to be experimental. Songs like "Cause I Said So" to me were kind of lacking, especially compared to songs from his other albums like Year of the Gentlemen. Also, it's a shame there are only 10 songs. I feel that the story could've been conveyed more if there were a few more songs. But overall, this is a triumph for Ne-Yo. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    The album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but it certainly does fit together well.
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    Neyo proves he is the true gentleman and one of today's hottest icons of R&B. From the melodies of each song, to Neyo's sweet and sexy vocals, Ne-Yo has made another album that is worth while. The album lacks a sense of major originality, leading me to believe that regardless of the fact that it's a concept album, in it's entirety, the flare isn't as noticeable.
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Good effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening to for any r&b fans. This albums stand out tracks are also the 2 singles beautiful monster and one in a million which are both great songs.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    No. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a real artist. I hope for something better the next time
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    4
    I really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I may listen to one or two tracks on the album but definitely not from start to finish. Next album needs to be considerably better than this.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Libra Scale lacks the sparkle found in Ne-Yo's previous work. Much like "Champagne Life," there is still plenty to celebrate. Toast it up.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The level of sophistication--arrangements with subtle details, the frequency of slow tempos, a couple well-trodden motifs--lends itself to a couple tepid tunes, but Ne-Yo remains a premier source of R&B that is both traditional and contemporary.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    If a little dominated by this trio [Champagne Life, One in a Million, Beautiful Monster] the rest of the album also develops the cool soul player theme nicely, with offers of mind sex and a considered approach in slick fusion.