Libra Scale Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ne-Yo's latest effort takes on the influence of themes and character archetypes found in sci-fi fantasies and comic books and structures them around a musical plot to create a daring concept album.
  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Genre(s): Pop, Rap, R&B, Soul, Urban, Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary R&B, Contemporary R&B
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 83
    For the most part, it's easiest to enjoy Ne-Yo's fourth set of well-built love songs on their own merits.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    83
    With nearly as many producers as songs, Libra Scale, Ne-Yo's fourth album, nevertheless hangs together sonically-these tracks move more fully into the synth-drenched Europop sheen that typified the first half of Year.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    80
    The real "concept" here is: Michael Jackson tribute album. And a damn good one.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The only real slip-up on Libra Scale is when Ne-Yo moves just a little too far away from the R&B side and a little too far into the pop world....But even that low point isn't enough to taint another solid effort from a singer who doesn't really need trends, fads, collaborators or chart-topping hits anymore to prove that he belongs at the top of today's R&B world.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Comic-book-style inspiration notwithstanding, Libra Scale is enjoyable, but doesn't consistently reach the heights of 2008's adventurous "Year of the Gentleman" or the peaks of his own stellar track record as a songwriter-for-hire to folks like Beyonce ("Irreplaceable") and Rihanna ("Take a Bow").
  6. 63
    Ultimately, it's admirable that Ne-Yo felt the need to take listeners on an out-of-this-world ride, but he's at his best when sticking closer to home.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    R&B concept album about binmen turned superheroes. Yup.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony,Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony, Ryan Leslie, D. DoRohn Gough, etc, Ne-Yo presented a sexy sound. The album presents itself as an album for those living the fancy nightlife, those living the "Champagne Life" Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    The album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but itThe album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but it certainly does fit together well. Collapse
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    As DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tellAs DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer and songwriter. My personal favourites are "Champagne Life", "One in A Million", "Telekinesis" and "What Have I Done". They're either electrifying, emotional or a careful mixture of both. Cons: Unfortunately, a couple of the songs are a bit of a let down and I think it was because of the fact that he was trying to be experimental. Songs like "Cause I Said So" to me were kind of lacking, especially compared to songs from his other albums like Year of the Gentlemen. Also, it's a shame there are only 10 songs. I feel that the story could've been conveyed more if there were a few more songs. But overall, this is a triumph for Ne-Yo. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    Neyo proves he is the true gentleman and one of today's hottest icons of R&B. From the melodies of each song, to Neyo's sweet and sexy vocals,Neyo proves he is the true gentleman and one of today's hottest icons of R&B. From the melodies of each song, to Neyo's sweet and sexy vocals, Ne-Yo has made another album that is worth while. The album lacks a sense of major originality, leading me to believe that regardless of the fact that it's a concept album, in it's entirety, the flare isn't as noticeable. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Good effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening toGood effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening to for any r&b fans. This albums stand out tracks are also the 2 singles beautiful monster and one in a million which are both great songs. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    No. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a realNo. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a real artist. I hope for something better the next time Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    4
    I really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I mayI really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I may listen to one or two tracks on the album but definitely not from start to finish. Next album needs to be considerably better than this. Expand