• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2012
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 157
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2018
    8
    Very good album, to me Nas' most musical, and one of his most personal. Still plays well over 5 years later, feels fresh
  2. Nov 17, 2017
    10
    Brilliant album by one of the greatest lyricist of all time. The album shows even more depth and wisdom that we have become accustomed to over the years by Nas. It also showcase his maturity and growth. Another gem in his massive catalogue.
  3. Jan 27, 2017
    8
    Solid album. Production could be a bit more ambitious on some tracks but Nas here does his thing flawlessly, as usual. It kinda gives a vibe of Illmatic, It Was Written, I Am, Stillmatic and God's Son put together. His best album since God's Son
  4. May 11, 2016
    10
    nas has always had a great ear for production and knowing how to craft great lyrical rhyme patterns to go with them. his storytelling hasnt diminished or sound rusty, but stronger than ever. another classic added to his discography.
  5. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Lyrically, Nas has aged like fine wine, as he still pens some amazing bars. Nas is much wiser and reflective in this album, and he does a tremendous job at it. Aside from "Summer on Smash", every song on this album is very good or great.
  6. May 8, 2015
    7
    Definitely not Nas's best album and not even close from being as good as his previous ones, but still pretty good, Life is good is a decent album overall, the lyrics are good to great, which isn't surprising because Nas is one of the greatest lyricists of all time, but they are really not as deep as his early work. The weakest part of the album is the beats, they are most of the timeDefinitely not Nas's best album and not even close from being as good as his previous ones, but still pretty good, Life is good is a decent album overall, the lyrics are good to great, which isn't surprising because Nas is one of the greatest lyricists of all time, but they are really not as deep as his early work. The weakest part of the album is the beats, they are most of the time boring, easily forgettable and way more commercial than you'd expect from that guy. There is some great songs with great beats like Loco-motive and Cherry wine, but for the most part, it is a bit disappointing. If you are a fan of Nas, this is an album worth the purchase, lyrically it is pretty great and there is a few production gems. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.4/10.................................................................................................................one of the best from this year.
  8. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    This is that good good. This is that good good. This is that good good. This is that good good. This is that good good. This is that good good. This is that good good.
  9. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    It can be compare with his good albums It Was Written, Stillmatic, Hip Hop is dead
    He is one of the best lyricists, artists, poets
    Nasty Nas will be remembered in the last time of the world.
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    in life is good, nas is at his best lyrically since........ illmatic. this album shows his maturation from his debut 18 years ago. features are great rick ross delivered a GREAT verse on accident murderers), production is top notch, and nas is a beast!!!
  11. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Damn, where do I start? He brings back boom bap production, was great, with the exception of "World's An Addiction," which has flat production but amazing lyrics, but then again, isn't that good? I love all the other production, and Nas destroys everyone new out today on "Loco-Motive." Check him out y'all, Nasty f*cking Nas in your area, about to cause mass f*cking hysteria. Just listen toDamn, where do I start? He brings back boom bap production, was great, with the exception of "World's An Addiction," which has flat production but amazing lyrics, but then again, isn't that good? I love all the other production, and Nas destroys everyone new out today on "Loco-Motive." Check him out y'all, Nasty f*cking Nas in your area, about to cause mass f*cking hysteria. Just listen to him, virtually flawless. He puts himself on top again. Expand
  12. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    To everyone who want to compare this to Illmatic. STOP! Just stop! If you have that kind of attitude, nothing this man drops will ever please you. Nothing at all. Yet surprisingly Nas actually has had a pretty consistent career as far as dropping albums go. Yeah he's dropped some duds (Nastradamus) and he hasn't been able to achieve the kind of acclaim he's received from his first album.To everyone who want to compare this to Illmatic. STOP! Just stop! If you have that kind of attitude, nothing this man drops will ever please you. Nothing at all. Yet surprisingly Nas actually has had a pretty consistent career as far as dropping albums go. Yeah he's dropped some duds (Nastradamus) and he hasn't been able to achieve the kind of acclaim he's received from his first album. But Life Is Good, on it's own is a really good project from Nas. It's not his best work, hell it isn't even in his top 5. But as far as albums go, Nas dropped something he could be proud of. He deals with a lot of things on this album from being a father (Daughters) to being divorced (Bye Baby) to a corrupt world (Worlds An Addiction) to innocent people being murdered (Accident Murderers). This is how the album is formatted, the first 5 songs are great. They bring back that nostalgic feeling without being too dated. As well as telling stories, something I felt Nas was great at. Then Reach Out hits and it sounds like an old 90's song especially with a forced Mary J. Blige hook on there. Worlds An Addiction picks up some momentum. And then it comes to a halt with the song Summer On Smash. And, let's face it, this song sucks badly. And while I like the beat You Wouldn't Understand doesn't get any better response from me. And afterwards things go back to going really well. While I didn't enjoy every song. Nas still delivered an album I liked a lot. It continues the personal struggle and triumph of Nasir Jones with it all being summarized in three words "Life Is Good". Expand
  13. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Not only life is good, but also is this album. Nas took his time to release this and mainly talks about his divorce with Kelis. But instead of insulting her as a **** as many other rappers would do, he tells us how great his time with her was. Flashbacks like 'Bye Baby' (a perfect closer for this album) are a sadly beautiful masterpiece. And do I even have to talk about his rap skills?Not only life is good, but also is this album. Nas took his time to release this and mainly talks about his divorce with Kelis. But instead of insulting her as a **** as many other rappers would do, he tells us how great his time with her was. Flashbacks like 'Bye Baby' (a perfect closer for this album) are a sadly beautiful masterpiece. And do I even have to talk about his rap skills? I'll give it one sentence: it's immensely stunning to hear him rhyming word after word, all ending on the same syllable. And lyrically he's definitely one of the most sophisticated rappers ever. The beats still bring this hood feeling with them (best example: awesome single release 'The Don') but seem produced very professional, nonetheless. And all of his features, going from Rick Ross over Mary J. Blige up to Anthony Hamilton and Amy Winehouse, are as great as the hip hop king himself. He's short before 40, however he still brings the style of a young aspiring artist in his tracks. It's not the perfect CD if you experienced how much he is able to do in "Illmatic" but it's one hell of a comeback. Only Kendrick Lamar's hip hop milestone "good kid, m.A.A.d city" was better than "Life Is Good" in the year 2012 and it's a grown-up, full-loaded but still calm work. Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    Nas is one of the best rappers in circulation and this is confirmed in his eleventh album. Listening to tracks like "Daughters" and "The Don", we realize that Nas is a truly innovative artist but at the same time a classical artist. He mixes his experience to its originality and modern times, doing this seems to return to a Golden Age Hip-Hop of 25 years ago. One of the best album sinceNas is one of the best rappers in circulation and this is confirmed in his eleventh album. Listening to tracks like "Daughters" and "The Don", we realize that Nas is a truly innovative artist but at the same time a classical artist. He mixes his experience to its originality and modern times, doing this seems to return to a Golden Age Hip-Hop of 25 years ago. One of the best album since his debut with Illmatic. Expand
  15. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt Life Is Good is The Best Hip Hop Album of 2012 (trailing alongside Kendrick Lamar's good kid, m.A.A.d city). The standard edition of 14 tracks are so soulful and diverse, while the extra 4 tracks are definitely worth the extra purchase - which includes one of the best rap songs of 2011, "Nasty".

    Illmatic will never repeat itself - that phase is long gone. Because this
    Without a doubt Life Is Good is The Best Hip Hop Album of 2012 (trailing alongside Kendrick Lamar's good kid, m.A.A.d city). The standard edition of 14 tracks are so soulful and diverse, while the extra 4 tracks are definitely worth the extra purchase - which includes one of the best rap songs of 2011, "Nasty".

    Illmatic will never repeat itself - that phase is long gone. Because this album is so recent it won't be stated as a classic but compared to nearly every other rap album coming out recently it is by far an astonishingly great record. Each beat is on point, lyrics are on point and the features give themselves justice. There are no songs to skip for me, I can listen to "Summer On Smash" even though it ain't the best song on the album.

    For me the top 3 best tracks are Loco-Motive, Accident Murderers and World's An Addiction. But every track is outstanding. There is truly nothing negative to say about this album.
    Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    No universo do hip hop existe atualmente quatro "deuses": Jay-Z, Kanye West, Eminem e Nas. Esse último o mais "reservado" de todos. Considerado um dos melhores de todos lembrado principalmente pelo seu debut Illmatic, considerado um dos melhores álbuns de rap de todos os tempos e um divisor de águas para o estilo. Sempre politizado em suas composições,No universo do hip hop existe atualmente quatro "deuses": Jay-Z, Kanye West, Eminem e Nas. Esse último o mais "reservado" de todos. Considerado um dos melhores de todos lembrado principalmente pelo seu debut Illmatic, considerado um dos melhores álbuns de rap de todos os tempos e um divisor de águas para o estilo. Sempre politizado em suas composições, Nas sempre esteve no topo das paradas de vendagem de álbum sem precisar de massiva campanha de divulgação. E não seria diferente com o lançamento do poderoso Life Is Good.

    Nas entrega um álbum old school com batidas fortes, atemporais e marcantes. Em nenhum segundo o álbum perde o rumo ou fica menos poderoso mostrando o pulso firme do produtor Salaam Remi principal produtor do álbum e antigo colaborador de Nas. Tudo o álbum segur a sonoridade única de Salaam com influência de jazz, blues e R&B. Nas é um rapper incrvel. Sua capacidade de "fazer rap" mostra o quanto ele é foda. Sempre no ponto certo e sem precisar virar "cantor" para conseguir entrar nas batidas diferentes. A melhor qualidade do álbum é seu o teor pessoal que Nas colocou nas músicas. Quando ele coloca suas reflexões sobre sua vida pessoal como o fim do casamento dele com a cantora Kelis e também suas visões do mundo do hip hop, Nas abre o leque para que mais pessoas possam se identificar com seus dramas. E com letras enxutas, precisas e inteligentes. Não posso não deixar de comentar a canção Cherry Wine com a participação de Amy Winehouse uma balada hip hop com influência de jazz e muito parecida com as canções do primeiro álbum da cantora, Frank. Um trabalho indispensavel para quem gosta de música de verdade seja qual foi o estilo.
    Expand
  17. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Life is good is a really good album. The beats are really good and his lyrics are a masterpiece. Every songs in the album are classic. My favorite songs on the album are A Queens story, Accident murders, Daughters, Cherry wine and back when.
  18. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    One of the best Nas albums to date.Still nothing can touch Illimatic.Nas is one of the best rappers ever.This album is great i recommend it to any one who has good taste in music
  19. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    I think that saying that this album isn't good is pretty naive. Its pretty damn impressive. Nas is not only lyrically focused but NOBODY CAN MIMIC HIS FLOW. His flow on this album is the flow that could never be touched by hip hop artists like Eminem and Kanye. They are great hip hop artists but both tried and failed at grasping the flow of Nas. I mean its fairly easy for me to listenI think that saying that this album isn't good is pretty naive. Its pretty damn impressive. Nas is not only lyrically focused but NOBODY CAN MIMIC HIS FLOW. His flow on this album is the flow that could never be touched by hip hop artists like Eminem and Kanye. They are great hip hop artists but both tried and failed at grasping the flow of Nas. I mean its fairly easy for me to listen to anything that they do and to almost perfectly spit back the flow that i heard. NOPE not with Nas. This guy was born for hip hop creation. As far as this album goes, the best in a long time. Most fans are looking for the simple beats that will carry a rappers flow like butter but it takes a true musician (which I am) to respect the composition of songs like the Introduction and Queen's Story on this album. I'll tell you what, Nas is not by any means an intelligent scholar but go read a few books, visit the hood for a while, and actually understand what it means to arrange music (NOTES ON PAPER)... Then listen to this album, I think those who are against it might have a little more respect for it. I can't think of many other hip hop artists who arrange their music note for note themselves. Music by ear and music on sheet are two different things, you will get a much more complex and valuable product off of paper and Nas proves that. That is enough for me Expand
  20. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Where can I start? Nasty f*cking Nas attacks yo ass with arguably his 2nd best LP behind Illmatic. It's up there with Stillmatic, God's Son, and It Was Written for second best album. No Introduction was great, then Loco-Motive was my favorite song. Daughters, The Don, Nasty were also great songs on the album. Nas also has a top 5 album for 2012 in hip-hop, if not better. Ever hear DrakeWhere can I start? Nasty f*cking Nas attacks yo ass with arguably his 2nd best LP behind Illmatic. It's up there with Stillmatic, God's Son, and It Was Written for second best album. No Introduction was great, then Loco-Motive was my favorite song. Daughters, The Don, Nasty were also great songs on the album. Nas also has a top 5 album for 2012 in hip-hop, if not better. Ever hear Drake the teenage girl show actress try to rap and you fake rap lovers loved. Well here's some real hip-hop for ya **** ass motherf*cker. Hip-hop isn't dead anymore because of albums like The BDP Album, (KRS-One) Most Of My Heroes Still Don't Appear On No Stamp (Public Enemy), Life Is Good, then sooner of later, Detox, (Dr. Dre) Return Of The Boom Bip, (KRS-One & DJ Premier) and so on. Look up more upcoming hip-hop albums.
    Check him out y'all, Nasty Nas in yo area, but emceefan out.
    Expand
  21. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Wow! I'm not sure I've heard a better album than this since that one album that came out 18 years and 4 months ago. What was the name of that album again? Hm anyway Life Is Good far exceeded my expectations as an album. Production is just ridiculous and Nas lyricism is just on another level. This is definitely a classic Hip Hop album in my opinion and should be treated as such in theWow! I'm not sure I've heard a better album than this since that one album that came out 18 years and 4 months ago. What was the name of that album again? Hm anyway Life Is Good far exceeded my expectations as an album. Production is just ridiculous and Nas lyricism is just on another level. This is definitely a classic Hip Hop album in my opinion and should be treated as such in the decades to come. Nas proves that he is the G.O.A.T. MC. This album is truly one for the ages. Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    Life is Good has instant classic written all over it. Nas's evolution is apparent, and without alienating his Illmatic-loving fan base, he delivers a wonderfully varied compilation of tracks detailing his journeys and experiences through his career as a musician and entertainer all the way back to his life on the NY streets. While this album may not provide the instant gratification thatLife is Good has instant classic written all over it. Nas's evolution is apparent, and without alienating his Illmatic-loving fan base, he delivers a wonderfully varied compilation of tracks detailing his journeys and experiences through his career as a musician and entertainer all the way back to his life on the NY streets. While this album may not provide the instant gratification that marks much of today's rap, it will surely grow on anyone who takes the time to listen through the entire work of art. Expand
  23. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    A classic album by all standard.Got all type of music every music fan would crave.Whatelse do you expect even though the album is underrated but classic and intellectually minded.God Bless Nasir Jones
  24. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    This is truth. He's rapping from the heart, and pulls it off with style. A song like 'Daughters' has to be difficult to write and release, but he does it and makes it into a powerful hit. The production is tight and Nas' flow is sick. And he shows that he is a classy man in the end, and releases an emotional and beautiful song with Amy Winehouse ('Cherry Wine'). Nas doesn't hide fromThis is truth. He's rapping from the heart, and pulls it off with style. A song like 'Daughters' has to be difficult to write and release, but he does it and makes it into a powerful hit. The production is tight and Nas' flow is sick. And he shows that he is a classy man in the end, and releases an emotional and beautiful song with Amy Winehouse ('Cherry Wine'). Nas doesn't hide from anything on the album, whether it be his messy divorce with Kelis, his daughter's troubles, and his past. Nothing is out of bounds, and that is what makes this album so respectable. Expand
  25. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Nas Has This Album LOCKED. I Dont Care what anybody else says, this album his one of the most greatest rap albums in the history of rap! people say that rap is dead. no its not. nas is here. and he just changed it with Life Is Good. i love the beats. i love the lyrics. he is a true very solid and one of the best rappers of all time. hes standing right next to biggie in being the best newNas Has This Album LOCKED. I Dont Care what anybody else says, this album his one of the most greatest rap albums in the history of rap! people say that rap is dead. no its not. nas is here. and he just changed it with Life Is Good. i love the beats. i love the lyrics. he is a true very solid and one of the best rappers of all time. hes standing right next to biggie in being the best new york rapper of all time. he's going into stillmatic mode on this one. Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Life is Good is a smart album. It is a collection of maturely rounded confrontations and nearly sublime lyrical turns. Stripped of music this is poetry, and stripped of poetry this is an album of killer tunes. Nas does more than add to previous achievements, he sets a new standard for himself, and for others.
  27. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Nas has had his ups and downs, so you really don't know what kind of album he's going to put out. Will it be a classic like Illmatic or Stillmatic? Or a misguided mess like I Am... or Nastadamus? Well this time around Nas brings us another strong effort; not quite up to the level of Illmatic/Stillmatic, but right up there with God's Son. A great variety of beats, and the classic NasNas has had his ups and downs, so you really don't know what kind of album he's going to put out. Will it be a classic like Illmatic or Stillmatic? Or a misguided mess like I Am... or Nastadamus? Well this time around Nas brings us another strong effort; not quite up to the level of Illmatic/Stillmatic, but right up there with God's Son. A great variety of beats, and the classic Nas lyrical illustrations. Rap's great storyteller is back! Expand
  28. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    this is the best rap album in the decade period lil Wayne carters series is trash compared to this even thought i am a huge lil wayne fan. this album has amazing tracks and you can visualize what nas is rapping about he is now officially the best rapper alive:)
  29. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Mercy, this album is so good. Nas went all the way back. He got stuck between the past and the present on a time machine on this album. Of course, Nas' song writing ability is something golden, but the production on this album is amazingly unexpected. Salaam Remi and No I.D. really wanted fans to hear what they've been missing since the 90s. Classic 20th Century Nas, but with thisMercy, this album is so good. Nas went all the way back. He got stuck between the past and the present on a time machine on this album. Of course, Nas' song writing ability is something golden, but the production on this album is amazingly unexpected. Salaam Remi and No I.D. really wanted fans to hear what they've been missing since the 90s. Classic 20th Century Nas, but with this present day style that still caters to that time. 'Life Is Good' can definitely be included in Nas' top 5 albums. He really kept it Illmatic on this record. Expand
  30. sa1
    Jul 19, 2012
    10
    For his 10th album I couldn't ask for anything more from Nas. In this album we are provided what made us fall in love with him in the 90's without making the album sound outdated and unsuitable for 2012. Not only did Nas deliver lyrically, but the production was also on point, Salaam Remi and No I.D really brought out the best in Nas and for me, the more soulful tracks stood out the most.For his 10th album I couldn't ask for anything more from Nas. In this album we are provided what made us fall in love with him in the 90's without making the album sound outdated and unsuitable for 2012. Not only did Nas deliver lyrically, but the production was also on point, Salaam Remi and No I.D really brought out the best in Nas and for me, the more soulful tracks stood out the most. Overall, Life is Good is an example of hip-hop excellence. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    An album of incredible songs.
  2. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    90
    Nas once again reminds us that as long as he's got one mic, lifee--and hip-hop--are beyond good. [#254, p.87]
  3. 88
    On Life Is Good, he's lyrically and musically rich as he's been for years now.