Life is Good

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Life is Good Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mary J. Blige, Anthony Hamilton, Miguel, Rick Ross, Swizz Beatz, and the late Amy Winehouse are guests on the tenth release for the rapper.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    100
    Life Is Good is arguably Nas's best album since Stillmatic.
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    90
    Apart from these misgivings [middle-core sequencing issues and "Nasty" not making the grade], it must be said that Nas has truly delivered.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    An album of incredible songs.
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Maturity suits the ever-articulate rapper, and his recollections of his early years as a Queensbridge hustler... have added resonance here.
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Life Is Good, finds him humbled and reflective after his high-profile divorce from Kelis. This doesn't diminish his impact, as these songs mix anger, nostalgia, and insight.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Here, he exorcises the turmoil with a focused set of sustained brilliance.
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    50
    So Life Is Good becomes the latest Nas album that doesn't quite do what it could. While Nas is rapping as best as he can here, the album as a whole is decent but too inconsistent to be anything more.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Lyrically one of the best rap albums in YEARS!!!
    Nas never left so it's crazy to say "HE'S BACK!". Just listen to this musically beautiful
    Lyrically one of the best rap albums in YEARS!!!
    Nas never left so it's crazy to say "HE'S BACK!". Just listen to this musically beautiful and lyrically intelectual album. Old rap fans will be pleased just as new ones.
    Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Where can I start? Nasty f*cking Nas attacks yo ass with arguably his 2nd best LP behind Illmatic. It's up there with Stillmatic, God's Son,Where can I start? Nasty f*cking Nas attacks yo ass with arguably his 2nd best LP behind Illmatic. It's up there with Stillmatic, God's Son, and It Was Written for second best album. No Introduction was great, then Loco-Motive was my favorite song. Daughters, The Don, Nasty were also great songs on the album. Nas also has a top 5 album for 2012 in hip-hop, if not better. Ever hear Drake the teenage girl show actress try to rap and you fake rap lovers loved. Well here's some real hip-hop for ya **** ass motherf*cker. Hip-hop isn't dead anymore because of albums like The BDP Album, (KRS-One) Most Of My Heroes Still Don't Appear On No Stamp (Public Enemy), Life Is Good, then sooner of later, Detox, (Dr. Dre) Return Of The Boom Bip, (KRS-One & DJ Premier) and so on. Look up more upcoming hip-hop albums.
    Check him out y'all, Nasty Nas in yo area, but emceefan out.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Wow! I'm not sure I've heard a better album than this since that one album that came out 18 years and 4 months ago. What was the name of thatWow! I'm not sure I've heard a better album than this since that one album that came out 18 years and 4 months ago. What was the name of that album again? Hm anyway Life Is Good far exceeded my expectations as an album. Production is just ridiculous and Nas lyricism is just on another level. This is definitely a classic Hip Hop album in my opinion and should be treated as such in the decades to come. Nas proves that he is the G.O.A.T. MC. This album is truly one for the ages. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    The album as a whole is masterful. Nas has proven yet again that he is one of the games most prolific lyricists, and that he can deliver aThe album as a whole is masterful. Nas has proven yet again that he is one of the games most prolific lyricists, and that he can deliver a well rounded album from top to bottom. The album does however suffer from the 8th track, "Summer on Smash". Though it has the potential to gamer mainstream success, it doesn't quite fit well with the rest of the album. Clocking in at about 58 minutes, the album is at a perfect length, and it's arguable that each bonus track could've been included on the non-deluxe edition of the album, especially the track "Trust", where Nas rhymes, "If you scared to take chances you Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Not only life is good, but also is this album. Nas took his time to release this and mainly talks about his divorce with Kelis. But instead ofNot only life is good, but also is this album. Nas took his time to release this and mainly talks about his divorce with Kelis. But instead of insulting her as a **** as many other rappers would do, he tells us how great his time with her was. Flashbacks like 'Bye Baby' (a perfect closer for this album) are a sadly beautiful masterpiece. And do I even have to talk about his rap skills? I'll give it one sentence: it's immensely stunning to hear him rhyming word after word, all ending on the same syllable. And lyrically he's definitely one of the most sophisticated rappers ever. The beats still bring this hood feeling with them (best example: awesome single release 'The Don') but seem produced very professional, nonetheless. And all of his features, going from Rick Ross over Mary J. Blige up to Anthony Hamilton and Amy Winehouse, are as great as the hip hop king himself. He's short before 40, however he still brings the style of a young aspiring artist in his tracks. It's not the perfect CD if you experienced how much he is able to do in "Illmatic" but it's one hell of a comeback. Only Kendrick Lamar's hip hop milestone "good kid, m.A.A.d city" was better than "Life Is Good" in the year 2012 and it's a grown-up, full-loaded but still calm work. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    in life is good, nas is at his best lyrically since........ illmatic. this album shows his maturation from his debut 18 years ago. featuresin life is good, nas is at his best lyrically since........ illmatic. this album shows his maturation from his debut 18 years ago. features are great rick ross delivered a GREAT verse on accident murderers), production is top notch, and nas is a beast!!! Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    Nas is definitely a top 5 rapper of all time...but this is completely dreadful. Only songs I can bare to listen to are the don and nasty. TheNas is definitely a top 5 rapper of all time...but this is completely dreadful. Only songs I can bare to listen to are the don and nasty. The beat selection is weak and the lyrics are nothing special. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews