Life Is People - Bill Fay
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    100
    Life Is People is superb. [Sep 2012, p.84]
  2. 100
    Truly, the album of a lifetime.
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    100
    Scrub away reputations and this album is so much stronger than the latter-day works of many of Fay's contemporaries.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Even when he's pouring on the lushness, the producer keeps Fay's gentle, weathered voice and arresting lyrics front and center. [No.91, p.54]
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    The result a stunning, profound, moving and soulful record.
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, it's that compassionate vision of song that resonates through Life Is People, as Fay observes the passing of the days with redemption in mind.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    It might have taken 40 years however the wait is absolutely worth it. A stunning piece of work which I woul dhighly recommend. Thanks to Bill Fay :¬) Full Review »
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    This year is truly spoiling us with great albums and ‘Life is People’ by Bill Fay is another brilliant record to add to the list. Contained here are twelve songs that burst with vibrancy, skilful song writing and moments of absolute musical joy. From the Bunnymen jangle of ‘This World’ to the gospel tinged ‘Healing Day’ and the epic string laden ‘Cosmic Concerto (Life is People)’ which could have come off a bit hippy but manages to stay on the right side by being just honest and beautiful. Lyrically Fay deals with the amazingness of life and his place in it, anchored by love and faith, but for every high there is a low and he spends a lot of time reminding us that despite the wonders that surround us we are only here to enjoy them for a fleeting time and ‘The Coast No Man Can Tell’ which closes the album feels almost like an epitaph. But don’t let that put you off for every poetic lament on our end there is an equally bewitching take on the now. There is even a Wilco cover ‘Jesus Etc’ which with Fay’s warm vocal sounds even more heart achingly tender than the original. Considering this is his first album for 30 years I hope you will agree with me when I say that I don’t want him wait that long again. Call it what you will, be it luck or fate, but I am so glad that Fay has been given another chance at musically unravelling the universe and given the world this remarkable album in the process. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Honest and uplifting in all the right places, gentle and thought-provoking. This is a beautiful album worthy of repeated listens during the rough patches in life. Full Review »