Life Is People - Bill Fay
Life Is People Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first new studio release from the British singer-songwriter in over 40 years was produced by Joshua Henry and features guest appearances by Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, Matt Armstrong, Matt Deighton, Mike Rowe, Ray Russell and Alan Rushton.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    100
    Life Is People is superb. [Sep 2012, p.84]
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    100
    Scrub away reputations and this album is so much stronger than the latter-day works of many of Fay's contemporaries.
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    The result a stunning, profound, moving and soulful record.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    Fay consistently finds beauty in the world and is not afraid to express such sentiments. There are also moments of very real sadness--but a hard-won wisdom and acceptance cuts through.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    At the risk of overstating the case, Life Is People--the work of a 69-year-old family man, and the work of a lifetime--confirms its maker's own thesis.
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    78
    It may be a bit heavy-handed, but it will no doubt thrill fans that probably assumed this day would never come.
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    It's not without a few syrupy moments, and it would be a push to recommend it over the old records, but there are some fine songs here.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Honest and uplifting in all the right places, gentle and thought-provoking. This is a beautiful album worthy of repeated listens during theHonest and uplifting in all the right places, gentle and thought-provoking. This is a beautiful album worthy of repeated listens during the rough patches in life. Collapse
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    This year is truly spoiling us with great albums and ‘Life is People’ by Bill Fay is another brilliant record to add to the list. ContainedThis year is truly spoiling us with great albums and ‘Life is People’ by Bill Fay is another brilliant record to add to the list. Contained here are twelve songs that burst with vibrancy, skilful song writing and moments of absolute musical joy. From the Bunnymen jangle of ‘This World’ to the gospel tinged ‘Healing Day’ and the epic string laden ‘Cosmic Concerto (Life is People)’ which could have come off a bit hippy but manages to stay on the right side by being just honest and beautiful. Lyrically Fay deals with the amazingness of life and his place in it, anchored by love and faith, but for every high there is a low and he spends a lot of time reminding us that despite the wonders that surround us we are only here to enjoy them for a fleeting time and ‘The Coast No Man Can Tell’ which closes the album feels almost like an epitaph. But don’t let that put you off for every poetic lament on our end there is an equally bewitching take on the now. There is even a Wilco cover ‘Jesus Etc’ which with Fay’s warm vocal sounds even more heart achingly tender than the original. Considering this is his first album for 30 years I hope you will agree with me when I say that I don’t want him wait that long again. Call it what you will, be it luck or fate, but I am so glad that Fay has been given another chance at musically unravelling the universe and given the world this remarkable album in the process. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    It might have taken 40 years however the wait is absolutely worth it. A stunning piece of work which I woul dhighly recommend. Thanks to BillIt might have taken 40 years however the wait is absolutely worth it. A stunning piece of work which I woul dhighly recommend. Thanks to Bill Fay :¬) Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.