Life Is Sweet! Nice To Meet You - Lightspeed Champion
Life Is Sweet! Nice To Meet You Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Test Icicles frontman Devonte Hynes of Lightspeed Champion returns with the follow-up to 2008's Falling Off The Lavender Bridge. Produced by Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Gnarls Barkley), Life Is Sweet! Nice To Meet You is a collection of songs influenced by classical music and musical theatre. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The flow of the album from shout-along to chilling ballad to piano etude and back again is uneven, but the lack of a conventional dynamic feels more candid and endearing than anything else.
  2. A solid second record with tinges of brilliance, it’s another fine piece of work from the busiest man around.
  3. Life Is Sweet is a swooningly beautiful record that might just turn out to be Hynes' finest. [Winter 2010, p.68]
  4. The songs here — Baroque, sometimes arch pop, touching on classic country, Bowie and Queen — begin with sharp-tongued bitterness and, slowly, with detours, work their way through to what for Mr. Hynes seems like an uncomfortable, foreign feeling: bliss.
  5. Life Is Sweet! veers so frequently from densely orchestrated to intimately raw and back again - often within the same tune - these little throwaway breaks tend to work as conveniently placed little palate cleansers.
  6. Alternately inspired and frustrating, it addresses themes of lost love (and lost chicness) with Queen-size 70s-rock pomp, neoclassical interludes, and one ukulele-based chamber-pop song.
  7. 40
    Despite being probably the best illustration of the scope of his creative impulses, ultimately Life Is... capsizes under the weight of its own cleverness. [Feb 2010, p. 104]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    I came into Life Is Sweet! expecting a lot. I'd seen the video for Marlene: the song was catchy. Lightspeed Champion's previous album to this day remains one of my favourite albums. But I was sorely disappointed.

    Life is Sweet! lacks the thing that made Lavender Bridge great: identity. Lavender Bridge was unique. While it had obvious influences, they all combined to form a greater whole, and a being that transcended influences to become a beast of its own. This album throws that identity out, in favour of variety as it swings between western to pop-rock to piano-led ballads to small classical-inspired instrumentals, and through this mechnical genre-running removes the raw emotion and humanity that Lavender had in spades.

    But, taken on its own merits, is Life Is Sweet! still a good album? The answer is possibly. While none of the songs are 'bad' per se, instrumentation is occasionally incongruous with the song it's in, repetition is featured highly but of the annoying parts of the songs, and as a complete album it is far too unfocused and dithering. Sweetheart is the best representation of the album as a whole: the song begins with an acoustic guitar, breaking tension with a bass guitar and swelling vocals in the chorus and showing fantastic amounts of potential - then it breaks its mood, momentum and quality as it breaks into a western, nearly hoe-down sounding refrain with Dev whining an annoying melody. Life Is Sweet! definitely had potential, but is overall disappointing - both standing alone, and as the follow-up to Lavender Bridge.