Lifeline

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2007
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 3 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. H3rmU
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    Great album, beautiful melodies and transitions as we know he does best. Like all his albums this one just won't stop spinning in my cd player. But some songs just are just so annoying hearing them to often; Needed you tonight. Such a shame. I can't help skipping it... it kinda spoils the album.
  2. JaredC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    7
    It has the beat, It has the style, It just doesn't have the taste. Sure some songs have the jazz to them, but most songs just flew out of the birds nest too early.
  3. JD
    Sep 13, 2007
    3
    Weak effort. The songs are flat and often insipid. Does anyone consider the phrase "Happiness is having wings" inspired writing? Please. Major disappointment from a man and band who had been on fire with their last two releases.
  4. SuhanG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    It is a whole album. Very evenly spaced styles, smoothly running tracks. Great album from a great talent.
  5. mikea.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Ben Harper writes music not to sale or impress, but too express his feelings on what he tackles in everyday life. I love him not because he has the unique talent of Ottis Redding, Marvin Gaye bla bla bla, but because when i listen to him i like what i hear!
  6. DanielC.
    Sep 5, 2007
    8
    A heartfelt collection of tunes. A must-listen for any Harper fan.
  7. DaiK.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I do like this album! I fell in love with Ben Harper after seeing him perform "Get Up, Stand Up" at Bonnaroo. I had gone specifically to see Manu Chao, (who was GREAT!), but I'm so glad I saw Ben Harper as well. You should check out Manu Chao's new album, La Radiolina! Like Ben Harper, he's also influenced by Marley.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    2
    Boring album where all the songs sound exactly the same and none of them are inspired or go anywhere at all.

    Barely passable for background music.

    the production using old equipment is fine but doesn't really put any meat on the songs.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Whether or not you prefer the rowdier version of Harper and his band, it is inarguable that this recording is a concentrated effort coming down on the side of a couple of musical notions that weave together artfully and meaningfully.
  2. It's a beautifully composed disc that Harper fans should love -- and it should also convince boomers, especially, that there's still great new music out there.
  3. It's not that less is more--only that, in that moment, less is perfect.