Lifeline - Ben Harper
Lifeline Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The San Francisco Bay Area native recorded his latest album in seven days after a tour in Europe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Lifeline thankfully favors songs over jamming, but there's a casual profundity to tunes like 'Fight Outta You' and 'Say You Will' that a more complicated process might've squelched. Just add applause.
  2. An album which on occasion fails to inspire ends with a sense of unbridled pleasure.
  3. 80
    Lifeline is a classy record that never outstays its welcome. [Sep 2008, p.98]
  4. It's not that less is more--only that, in that moment, less is perfect.
  5. Whether or not you prefer the rowdier version of Harper and his band, it is inarguable that this recording is a concentrated effort coming down on the side of a couple of musical notions that weave together artfully and meaningfully.
  6. His most impressive feat is that the whole thing never once descends into Kravitz-sytle pastiche. [Dec 2007, p.116]
  7. There isn't a bad song on the record, but neither is there a particularly good one.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. DaiK.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I do like this album! I fell in love with Ben Harper after seeing him perform "Get Up, Stand Up" at Bonnaroo. I had gone specifically to see I do like this album! I fell in love with Ben Harper after seeing him perform "Get Up, Stand Up" at Bonnaroo. I had gone specifically to see Manu Chao, (who was GREAT!), but I'm so glad I saw Ben Harper as well. You should check out Manu Chao's new album, La Radiolina! Like Ben Harper, he's also influenced by Marley. Expand
  2. mikea.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Ben Harper writes music not to sale or impress, but too express his feelings on what he tackles in everyday life. I love him not because he Ben Harper writes music not to sale or impress, but too express his feelings on what he tackles in everyday life. I love him not because he has the unique talent of Ottis Redding, Marvin Gaye bla bla bla, but because when i listen to him i like what i hear! Expand
  3. SuhanG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    It is a whole album. Very evenly spaced styles, smoothly running tracks. Great album from a great talent.
  4. DanielC.
    Sep 5, 2007
    8
    A heartfelt collection of tunes. A must-listen for any Harper fan.
  5. JaredC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    7
    It has the beat, It has the style, It just doesn't have the taste. Sure some songs have the jazz to them, but most songs just flew out It has the beat, It has the style, It just doesn't have the taste. Sure some songs have the jazz to them, but most songs just flew out of the birds nest too early. Expand
  6. JD
    Sep 13, 2007
    3
    Weak effort. The songs are flat and often insipid. Does anyone consider the phrase "Happiness is having wings" inspired writing? Please. Weak effort. The songs are flat and often insipid. Does anyone consider the phrase "Happiness is having wings" inspired writing? Please. Major disappointment from a man and band who had been on fire with their last two releases. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    2
    Boring album where all the songs sound exactly the same and none of them are inspired or go anywhere at all.

    Barely passable for background
    Boring album where all the songs sound exactly the same and none of them are inspired or go anywhere at all.

    Barely passable for background music.

    the production using old equipment is fine but doesn't really put any meat on the songs.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews