Life...The Best Game In Town

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeQ
    Jul 28, 2008
    5
    These are the kinds of ratings that make music critics lose their credibility. I've desperately searched this recording to find something the least bit interesting. Shrugs.
  2. EricL
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    I can understand how some listeners missed it, because it does require patience, but this is definitely a keeper. To call this a hipster-cred album (as some of these user-reviewers implied) makes absolutely no sense, because this is pretty unhip. It's 70's southern rock with a major Melvins sludge kick. Plus, I think some of the reason I particularly dig this CD is because some I can understand how some listeners missed it, because it does require patience, but this is definitely a keeper. To call this a hipster-cred album (as some of these user-reviewers implied) makes absolutely no sense, because this is pretty unhip. It's 70's southern rock with a major Melvins sludge kick. Plus, I think some of the reason I particularly dig this CD is because some of Harvey Milk's older material is unlistenably boring, and Life has got a big splash of melody where there didn't used to be any. Expand
  3. CecilP.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    What kind of retard gives this album a 1 out of 10 rating? These guys are brilliant.
  4. othostice
    Jul 21, 2008
    1
    If there were any doubt that most record reviewers are pretentious twits, the positive, the fact that his album has garnered "universal acclaim" is irrefutable evidence. This CD was playing in a record store (remember those?), and I asked the staff who it was, simply because it was almost transcendent in its execrability (like my criticese?). Props for the band name (the mayor of SF If there were any doubt that most record reviewers are pretentious twits, the positive, the fact that his album has garnered "universal acclaim" is irrefutable evidence. This CD was playing in a record store (remember those?), and I asked the staff who it was, simply because it was almost transcendent in its execrability (like my criticese?). Props for the band name (the mayor of SF killed by the Twinkie defense guy), but (as I told the store employees), "I need to buy this in case my copies of Lou Reed's METAL MACHINE MUSIC and Neil Young's ARC don't rid my house of guests quickly enough." Even the hipper-than-thou staff laughed and nodded. I'd rather listen to fingernails on a blackboard. Expand
  5. CarlA.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    It's like having fun and not having fun at the same time. It's like being punched really hard in the stomach, and then realizing something fantastic in the moment while you're struggling to breathe. Come on. It's really good.
  6. BocceF.
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    I'm an old gut and I henerally have not been a metal fan for most of my music listening life. However, I tend to give it a try when I read a good review, or two, or six. And I must sy, I like this.
  7. Jyotirmayad
    Sep 13, 2008
    7
    I only like this one coz Pitchfork tells me to... but, ah, I dig it when I am tired of listening to all of the indie stuff out there now. Good on you guys! You rock!!! Jyo.
  8. MarliseG
    Mar 19, 2009
    8
    Good album, really good.
  9. JasonM
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    This album from beginning to end, is a masterpiece. I have been a long time Harvey Milk fan, and this album truly justifies why. Sheer brilliance through and through.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Life... showcases a band that has carefully refined its sound, creating an album that is daring and experimental enough for longtime fans, but accessible enough for anyone looking to discover one of Athen's heaviest bands.
  2. Here, all percussion devastates; it pounds away at the insides of Life… The Best Game In Town like a beast caged, packed ready for shipping. Let it loose and all hell’s coming your way.
  3. The best executed Harvey Milk album to date, and one of the most accomplished metal records you'll hear this year.