• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joshp
    Dec 12, 2006
    5
    this band is sold out what a joke
  2. AEOlson
    Dec 17, 2006
    5
    SCIENCE was brilliance all the way around. Since then they have mastered the art of writing 4 or 5 good songs but not a complete full album worth listening to start to finish. This is more of the same.
  3. DaveL
    Jan 17, 2007
    5
    I was not a fan of ACLOTM I am however a huge incubus fan and I continue to be disappointed with their output over the past few years. Personally I wish they would bring back Dirk Lance on bass, I know by all accounts the guy was a jerk, but he seemed to bring an attitude or a swagger to the band that has been sorely lacking since Morning View. This album seems to be Incubus' most I was not a fan of ACLOTM I am however a huge incubus fan and I continue to be disappointed with their output over the past few years. Personally I wish they would bring back Dirk Lance on bass, I know by all accounts the guy was a jerk, but he seemed to bring an attitude or a swagger to the band that has been sorely lacking since Morning View. This album seems to be Incubus' most non-descript output to date, it's not good, but it's not bad either, it doesn't rock, but it doesn't suck. It feels like the band has been settling for mediocrity since 2003 rather than the funky juiced up metal that made them great on Enjoy Incubus, Fungus Amongus, S.C.I.E.N.C.E., Make Yourself, and yes even a little on Morning View. Snap out of it guys! You're becoming the very music you used to preach against in your lyrics: "We've painted a picture, now we're drowning in the paint. Let's figure out what the %&*# it's about, before the picture we painted chews us up and spits us out." -Redefine (S.C.I.E.N.C.E) Expand
  4. JK
    Jan 24, 2007
    4
    After the release of their two most progressive, edgy, and straight up best works (ACLOTM and The Odyssey), Incubus releases their most banal, poppy, boring record to date. They've apparently given up on channeling Bungle or Primus and are now content with channeling The All-American Rejects. These guys have great chops and they
  5. JJDub
    Dec 11, 2006
    5
    I like Incubus. I really do. But I really don't see how this album is getting such good reviews. I'll say a few good things, though. The music, itself, sounds pretty good. The tones are far better than the bombastic tones of the past. The guitar tones feel far more natural, less compressed..they breathe more. Now, the thing that bothers me the absolute most on this album are the I like Incubus. I really do. But I really don't see how this album is getting such good reviews. I'll say a few good things, though. The music, itself, sounds pretty good. The tones are far better than the bombastic tones of the past. The guitar tones feel far more natural, less compressed..they breathe more. Now, the thing that bothers me the absolute most on this album are the lyrics. "Love hurts..but sometimes it's a good hurt"???? Is this a grown man writing this or a 13 year old girl? Listen, I love a good ballad as much as anyone and I don't mind sentimental lyrics as long as they aren't trite. But that is well beyond trite. That's just downright childish and it's really hard to connect with a song when the lyrics are just as bad as something the Cheetah Girls would sing. Props for the rhythm section and decent song structures Expand
  6. SarahR
    Dec 13, 2006
    5
    Incubus used to be good. Back when they did SCIENCE. I didn't even buy their last album. I thought I'd give this one a try. It definitely does not compare to their earlier works. There are maybe 3 okay songs. The rest are just a bunch of sappy stuff that sounds like every other band out today.
  7. anas
    Dec 19, 2006
    5
    I was expecting more, after ACLOTM where they seemed to start geting back to what they were in the past... where is SCIENCE spirit?
  8. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    4
    I feel the same way about this album and A Crow Left of the Murder... Uneven, some good songs, and the lyrics have taken a hit.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Equally adept at rave-ups and ballads, Incubus even make their unexpected forays into space-rock work. [1 Dec 2006, p.82]
  2. "Light Grenades" refines the band's attack modes: melodic and muscular, gentle and intense.
  3. The music’s intricacies become less impressive when so many of them are directly lifted from far better songs. [27 Nov 2006]