Light Grenades

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshH.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    I love the Album, they are not scare to go in new directions. Diamonds and Coal is a Joke.
  2. RichT
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    If you are someone who has enjoyed previous incubus albums and can appreciate an entire album will totally dig this album. it just keeps me coming back for more.
  3. DeclanM
    Jan 17, 2007
    7
    it has some good songs possilby 5 the rest is bad for incubus that is shame as morning view doesnt have 1 bad song on it
  4. GraceP
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    I love this album. I consider it their best effort. I'm actually really surprised to read so many negative reviews about it. I think that this album is very creative, and that's all you can ask for as a listener from any musical artist that you enjoy listening to. There seemed to be a large portion of this album that was centered around Brandon Boyd's relationship problems I love this album. I consider it their best effort. I'm actually really surprised to read so many negative reviews about it. I think that this album is very creative, and that's all you can ask for as a listener from any musical artist that you enjoy listening to. There seemed to be a large portion of this album that was centered around Brandon Boyd's relationship problems and heartaches, and apparently, it degenerates the material in some listener's views. I think it makes it more personal and meaningful. But, to each his own... Expand
  5. ACM
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Pretty darn amazing. Way to go, Incubus!
  6. MallikPoP.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Each song is distinct from another while the album manages to weave together as a whole. Listen to it from front to back and listen to it again and really listen, don't just hear it! It got me addicted.
  7. JaceyB
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    over time, people will see the importance of the musical output of this band....they get wrongly criticized and lumped in with shitty bands....go see them play this music live, it will blow your mind how great they sound...this album is just a continuation of their quest to make interesting and beautiful music...
  8. BigTomCasual
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    I was pretty disappointed with their last album, and wasn't really sure what to expect this time around. Thankfully, the group seems to have gotten some of their creative juices flowing again, and make some trips into some interesting/unexpected territory.
  9. Rufoos
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    It's beyond me how critics these days still perceive Incubus as nu-alt-rap rock/metal leading some people to believe that they actually don't listen to CD's they review. Light Grenades is a strong effort of a band that have changed their style light years ago. Recommended to all open-minded listeners.
  10. TerryG
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums ever. Songs like Oil and Water, Rogues and Quicksand are amazing. Buy this amazing album.
  11. AladdynS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    Let me just start by saying that while I think SCIENCE was a good album, it wasn't my favorite Incubus album by a long shot. But comparisons to other Incubus releases aside, let me just compare this album to other things out there at the moment. Would you rather listen to "Dig," "Anna Molly," "Diamonds and Coal," and "Rogues" (all my personal picks from this album) or something by, Let me just start by saying that while I think SCIENCE was a good album, it wasn't my favorite Incubus album by a long shot. But comparisons to other Incubus releases aside, let me just compare this album to other things out there at the moment. Would you rather listen to "Dig," "Anna Molly," "Diamonds and Coal," and "Rogues" (all my personal picks from this album) or something by, say, Nickback? Nuff said. Expand
  12. Clay
    Feb 10, 2007
    7
    While not up to par with the smooth California sounds of Morning View or the in tune lyrics of A Crow Left of the Murder, Incubus remains true to themselves on this record. Like most of their albums by the end it sounds like a completely different record which in this case is good. All of the songs appear toward the end of the records. Songs such as Paper Shoes and Pendulous Threads seem While not up to par with the smooth California sounds of Morning View or the in tune lyrics of A Crow Left of the Murder, Incubus remains true to themselves on this record. Like most of their albums by the end it sounds like a completely different record which in this case is good. All of the songs appear toward the end of the records. Songs such as Paper Shoes and Pendulous Threads seem to fit more with the past Incubus, remind me of why I love them so. The lyrics aren't as much about existentialism and political messes, than love, something many people attribute to lead singer Brandon Boyds break up with a long time girlfriend. The sound is more upfront rock and roll as Dj Kilmore takes a more subtle approach to the record, leaving the details to people such as lead guitarist Mike Einziger. While the album could be smoother and more coherent, the few songs that shine are indeed priceless. Expand
  13. coltond
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album, and is under-rated truly so.
  14. AndyC.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Great album! bit different then the other albums but still so great.
  15. MikeP.
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    Love this album and love Incubus - not a fan of ACLOTM so this is a return to form apart from Diamonds and Coal - it sucks. Amazing live and love the fact that they can do mellow and rock - but for me more rock would be good.
  16. LUKEB.
    Aug 13, 2008
    8
    Another great cd by a great band, vocals are as good as ever. A new sound that needs a bit of time to grow on you, and when it does you will love "Anna Molly". well done.
  17. JonI
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    This could Incubus' best CD to date. Morning View and Make Yourself were huge hits, but this CD has it all. From the very slow and charming "Earth to Bella" to the hard-rockin' "Light Grenades." This CD deserves much more credit than it's going to get.
  18. B.Carter
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    I loved CLOTM, and this is equally good. I agree it took a few listens but I don't think there is a bad song on it. I think this is as good as Incubus has ever been and if you don't like this you just ain't a Fan, its ok admit it.... :)
  19. DaveN
    Dec 5, 2006
    8
    Very good follow up to A Crow Left of the Murder. The songs are tight and well-crafted as well as melodic. There is some filler thrown in throughout the disc, but the majority of the disc has some very good stuff. Not as good as Make Yourself, but possibly, upon repeated listens, could be the second best CD they released (passing A Crow Left of the Murder)
  20. kevink
    Dec 5, 2006
    8
    i liked it alot actually. i didn't think they would be able to keep making good music but they surprised me. oh and another thing, they are NOT alt-metal. i hate labels. grr
  21. quetzald
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Amazing incubus returns
  22. Dru
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    Incubus yet again releases an album that has very little sonic association with their previous work. It will be a sad day when these guys stop making music.
  23. JorgeR
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Pretty good album. I like the way the band grow and make new things with every new album. "Oil and Water" and "Love Hurts" are 2 of the best songs I've heard in awhile.
  24. SamK
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Classic! Don't toss this album off immediately. Listen to it again and it will definitely grow on you. Incubus is by far one of the most underrated bands out there. While the critics are showering love and grammies onto other average bands, Incubus continues to make music that is outstanding and doesn't dumb itself down for their audience. Outstanding album: best tracks are Classic! Don't toss this album off immediately. Listen to it again and it will definitely grow on you. Incubus is by far one of the most underrated bands out there. While the critics are showering love and grammies onto other average bands, Incubus continues to make music that is outstanding and doesn't dumb itself down for their audience. Outstanding album: best tracks are "Dig","Love Hurts", and "Rogues". Expand
  25. KrisP
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    I think people who dont like this album, totally have no clue as to what good music is. There are actually bands like Nickleback, Staind, and tons of wanna be Blink 182 bands out there making the same music over and over. Light greneades is an amazing album and after about 2 full listens, if you are a Incubus fan, you will be hooked. PERIOD! My absolute favorite track is Rogues, classic I think people who dont like this album, totally have no clue as to what good music is. There are actually bands like Nickleback, Staind, and tons of wanna be Blink 182 bands out there making the same music over and over. Light greneades is an amazing album and after about 2 full listens, if you are a Incubus fan, you will be hooked. PERIOD! My absolute favorite track is Rogues, classic song for a classic album. Its up there with Make Yourself and Mourning View. Keep making outstanding music!! Expand
  26. belalookfindfree
    Jan 20, 2007
    8
    it is good
  27. BaronD.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    This is really a good album. very good lyrics, nice melodies. All songs are great. I can't think of even one song that sucks. It doesn't sound like any of the previous albums, which makes it more fantastic. who wants to listen to a band whose albums sound the same? many like science compared to light grenades. maybe those people just want loud music all the time. that's why This is really a good album. very good lyrics, nice melodies. All songs are great. I can't think of even one song that sucks. It doesn't sound like any of the previous albums, which makes it more fantastic. who wants to listen to a band whose albums sound the same? many like science compared to light grenades. maybe those people just want loud music all the time. that's why they begin to hate incubus' album as they become more melodic. imagine incubus still writing songs like those in science after 10yrs, for sure most if not all will be sick and tired if that happened and incubus will be long forgotten. think about it, here is a band that reinvents themselves, exploring their musical talents, surpassing their creation everytime. that's talent! how many bands are like that in this day and age? don't know any other. if you know someone, please enlighten me. but i can guarantee you light grenades is a must have...INCUBUS ROCKS! Expand
  28. SidneswaranP
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Once again Incubus reinvent themselves. Another Incubus album written like none of their previous ones, which is what Incubus is all about. I believe this is a great album. At first listen, I was sceptical about the change but I should've known better. Listening to an Incubus album is like developing an aquired taste. You might not like at first but after a few tries you'll love Once again Incubus reinvent themselves. Another Incubus album written like none of their previous ones, which is what Incubus is all about. I believe this is a great album. At first listen, I was sceptical about the change but I should've known better. Listening to an Incubus album is like developing an aquired taste. You might not like at first but after a few tries you'll love it immensely. Each track sounds different from each other on the album and that shows their versatility in music writing, their openess to change & experimentations, and their creative talent. Some fans of Incubus say that this album is nothing like the album S.C.I.E.N.C.E or Morning View, and that is why it sucks but i believe in the exact opposite. I believe those people are resistant to change and are just looking for Incubus to create 'another' S.C.I.E.N.C.E album or something similiar to it. That is just boring in my opinion. I don't think they will do that, judging from how different each of their albums sound. The fact that Light Grenades is different from their previous efforts shows how talented they are as musicians and it definitely is a refreshing change in the music scene where a majority of bands put out their albums sounding exactly like their previous ones. "The only thing that is permanent is change." MY ADVICE IS: First of all, Have an open mind when you listen to this album. Secondly, Don't relate and compare it to their previous albums. Thirdly, Don't listen to this album just once and make your judgement on it. Anything new & different takes a few listens before you can really appreciate it. And finally, Don't listen to the critics because they probably listened to this album once and made their judgement. OK thats my advice if you want to have a pleasureable experience while listening to this album. Eventually you'll find out how great this album is. I believe what Incubus does with the constant reinvention of themselves is fantastic and the evolution of their music can only get better with time. Again, "The only thing that is permanent is change" so kudos to Incubus for constantly reinventing themselves. Favourite track : Dig. Listen to the bonus tracks: Punch-Drunk, Look Alive. Expand
  29. NoelP
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
  30. Gabi
    Jan 29, 2009
    9
    It's a great album.
  31. ChrisN
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    After a few listens, this album has become one of my favorites from Incubus. The music seems to flow more easily, like they didn't try so hard this time around. That's a good thing for them. The lyrics are still a little ridiculous at times, but that's nothing new. I recommend Anna Molly, Oil and Water, and Rogues.
  32. DukeChallenger
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    Much better than A Crow That Left The Murder, not as good as Make Yourself or Morning View...but this album shows that Incubus has a few more songs left to give.
  33. DarrenA
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    Less consistent than ACLOTM, so more like the varied Morning View. In some ways they've mellowed and become more radio-friendly, but then you listen to the title track, Anna Molly, A Kiss To Send Us Off and Rogues and you realise they're still an incredible rock band. They could have done the same as the last outing, personally I'm glad they went for something different, Less consistent than ACLOTM, so more like the varied Morning View. In some ways they've mellowed and become more radio-friendly, but then you listen to the title track, Anna Molly, A Kiss To Send Us Off and Rogues and you realise they're still an incredible rock band. They could have done the same as the last outing, personally I'm glad they went for something different, more inventive. I just wish it had been 18 tracks rather than 13. Best album of 2006. Expand
  34. ShawnG
    Dec 5, 2006
    8
    After a dissapointing "A Crow Left of the Murder" and those horrific songs from the Stealth soundtrack, I didn't have much hope. I LOVE eight of the 10 songs on the album (The two-part "Earth to Bella" songs don't really strike a cord with me). Incubus is one of the few bands out there that craft songs that actually sound different from each other. Mikey I. (the guitarist) said After a dissapointing "A Crow Left of the Murder" and those horrific songs from the Stealth soundtrack, I didn't have much hope. I LOVE eight of the 10 songs on the album (The two-part "Earth to Bella" songs don't really strike a cord with me). Incubus is one of the few bands out there that craft songs that actually sound different from each other. Mikey I. (the guitarist) said that this album sounded like 10 different bands playing 10 different songs. He forgot to add "playing 10 different songs WELL." It's refreshing to be able to go through an album and feel like you're listening to a mix CD of sorts. Expand
  35. JeffB
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Incubus changes gears on Light Grenades. They compile certain qualities from each of their previous albums into one. They have truly reached a new level in their music. I can honestly say that Light Grenades is my runner-up for Incubus' best album. Second to only Morning View.
  36. Fernando
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    By far Incubus' best album yet....More advanced musically than Make Yourself or Morning View and more fun to listen to than A Crow Left of the Murder. Combines the best elements of their previous albums into a diverse yet cohesive package. I can't wait to hear them play this stuff live!
  37. r.H.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    this album f'n rocks! Seriously if you like incubus this is a "MUST HAVE" !
  38. DarshanV
    Jan 16, 2007
    8
    The album absolutely rocks!!! No Doubt about it... Kiss to send us off is hypnotic and racy. Oil and Water, Diamonds and Coal, Dig, Love Hurts are too melodious... Pendulous Threads and Earth to Bella are fantastic... Kudos!! Incubus.. for your metamorphosis. Nu-Metal is a passe now... Good that u dumped!! Waiting for your next installment in bated breath!!
  39. dongf
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    wow, great album. some tracks can be skipped when i listen to them now but i would say 11 out of the 13 tracks are VERY GOOD if not GREAT.
  40. EMartinez
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    This album takes two full rides through to catch on, then you're hooked. The spacy and melodic rock takes you on a rollercoaster of sounds, up and down, soft and hard, just like a good album should.
  41. MarkB
    Dec 12, 2006
    8
    this album is light years ahead of itself... (had to pun the album title) strip away the wishy washy pretense and underneath you will discover an album that flows from beginning to end, each song leaving an imprint that will bring you back for more, especially "dig" keep on "lighting" up my life incubus....
  42. JoshB
    Dec 16, 2006
    7
    This album is a good jump start from ACLOTM. I like to compare it to S.C.I.E.N.C.E. because of the way it rocks at moments then slows down again before you know it. This album is very catchy with Brandons lyrics. I love what Incubus does with its sound album to album. Keep up the good work. Cant wait for the next one.
  43. StephM
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    This stands out as one of the most accomplished Iincubus albums ever, the melodies are phenominal and Incubus prove on most tracks that you good music doesn't have to be about being over the top. The band has come together as one unit here, not a bunch of musicians playing together. Some people still expect a SCIENCE style record years after nu metal became tired. Move on people, This stands out as one of the most accomplished Iincubus albums ever, the melodies are phenominal and Incubus prove on most tracks that you good music doesn't have to be about being over the top. The band has come together as one unit here, not a bunch of musicians playing together. Some people still expect a SCIENCE style record years after nu metal became tired. Move on people, Incubus and the rest of us have! Open your minds!!! This album has an intense beauty and positive vibe to it, I cannot stop playing it. Light Grenades is the only dud track, interupting the album with a quick burst of pointless nonsense. However songs like Paper Shoes, Dig, Oil and Water, Pendulous Threads and Diamon0ds and Coal more than make up for it. A Kiss to Send off is the best rocker and Paper Shoes has the best melody. WOW. Expand
  44. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Fore sure their best album since Make Yourself. Not that A Crow Left Of The Murder & Morning View were bad because they absolutely were not. Especially Morning View. It's just Light Grenades simply put has stronger tracks. An i would go as far to say that Anna Molly is their best song maybe ever.
  45. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Admittedly there are some bad songs on this album, but they are mostly cancelled out by some real classics the title track "light grenades" is probably the highlight of the album. I don't like the direction they have gone with on dig, oil and water and the earth to Bella's. Although i would argue the ending to earth to Bella part 2 is a great showcase for the musicianship that incubus hasAdmittedly there are some bad songs on this album, but they are mostly cancelled out by some real classics the title track "light grenades" is probably the highlight of the album. I don't like the direction they have gone with on dig, oil and water and the earth to Bella's. Although i would argue the ending to earth to Bella part 2 is a great showcase for the musicianship that incubus has at its disposal. Mike Enzinger is fantastic throughout, he displays fantastic riffs and innovative solo's throughout, for the majority of the album Boyd accompanies with a great rock voice even if the lyrics do suffer a little. Expand
  46. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    Easily Incubus' most puzzling album to date, as it seems they were really struggling to find an identity throughout. Just as soon as you thought the band was changing its sound, the self-titled "Light Grenades" comes on and blasts the listener back to 1999. While this is normally used in a negative context, I have to admit the confusion added an endearing quality and makes for quite a ride.
  47. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    One of the most underrated bands of the decade. A unique sound. It may have confused some of the fans, and critics may not have praised it as much as they had to because the genre was worn out by the time, but this could be considered their masterpiece.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Equally adept at rave-ups and ballads, Incubus even make their unexpected forays into space-rock work. [1 Dec 2006, p.82]
  2. "Light Grenades" refines the band's attack modes: melodic and muscular, gentle and intense.
  3. The New York Times
    40
    The music’s intricacies become less impressive when so many of them are directly lifted from far better songs. [27 Nov 2006]