Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    100
    It’s a pitching and yawing listen, and it’s compelling and punchy in a way that’ll have you bouncing straight out of your chair.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Parquet Courts have produced a debut that's both instantly addictive and lastingly rewarding: a smart, snappy concoction of worldly wisdom and garage-rock gratification.
  3. The hook on these 14 two-minute songs isn't tunes except occasionally. It's whichever of the two guys who "sing, if you must call it that" comes packing the most anxiety.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    By intention or coincidence, the band's debut boils over with frustration. And all you crave is a piece of it.
  5. 90
    Light Up Gold is one of the best debut albums you'll hear all year.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    The album is sometimes languid, often jittery and beaming, but mostly an almost subconsciously storytelling collection of moments that would be boring and forgettable if they weren't captured in songs so accidentally perfect.
  7. May 30, 2013
    89
    It's an album of brainy rock songs that state their claims then defiantly step out from beneath the ethereal haze.
  8. The album's relative indie rock minimalism stands out in stark contrast to many other bands who feel that this kind of straightforward approach is either too uninteresting or too tied to certain years in music.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    If this album was a cocktail,it would taste like this:
    It is like "Is this It" "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" and like some
    If this album was a cocktail,it would taste like this:
    It is like "Is this It" "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" and like some old dad-countryrock band mixed with a touch of chili powder.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is the most exciting new band I've heard in years. The lyrics are as instantly relateable and as obscure as slanted and/or enchanted, theThis is the most exciting new band I've heard in years. The lyrics are as instantly relateable and as obscure as slanted and/or enchanted, the tempos are fierce, the beats relentless. Godspeed the future and the past all at once. Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    A like this album a lot. Reminds me of Kings Of Leon in their early days when they used to be good, can hear a bit of Pavement too. Very goodA like this album a lot. Reminds me of Kings Of Leon in their early days when they used to be good, can hear a bit of Pavement too. Very good debut album and hope to catch them live. Full Review »