Lights And Sounds

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 60
  2. Negative: 10 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 30, 2006
    2
    Thanks to my roomate - I've had the displeasure of hearing this CD from beginning to end. Every sweet intro, raging chorus, and quiet four bar breakdown is telegraphed like a punch from an 80 year old heavyweight. Overall it's just too friggin' boring to be taken seriously. Not to mention that the lyrics for "Two Weeks From Twenty" are so ridiculous that it will leave you Thanks to my roomate - I've had the displeasure of hearing this CD from beginning to end. Every sweet intro, raging chorus, and quiet four bar breakdown is telegraphed like a punch from an 80 year old heavyweight. Overall it's just too friggin' boring to be taken seriously. Not to mention that the lyrics for "Two Weeks From Twenty" are so ridiculous that it will leave you howling with laughter. Expand
  2. Gregg
    Feb 1, 2006
    1
    Oh wow. What a surprise. The trailblazers of Pop-Punk with a violin make exactly the same record as they did last year. I'll give them a one since they're better than Good Charlotte.
  3. drewB
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    are you serious? pleas tell me your not. they can never get better, ever no matter how hard they try, they'll be floating around in the forgotten band abyss for all time.
  4. laurenw
    Mar 2, 2006
    1
    at the very most it deserves a 1 at best!!!!!!! It sucked......a Britney spears CD is better!!!
  5. BillBob
    Jan 28, 2006
    0
    Can you say BOREFEST?
  6. PresidentBush
    Jul 10, 2006
    1
    I cannot believe people honestly like this album and can enjoy every song on this album so if anyone would like to prove me wrong go ahead but what i see here when i listen to this album is the lack of good songs.anyway the singer for Yellowcard whatever his name is, needs to get together a better band. but keep the violinist, because thats the only reason i give this album a 1, because i I cannot believe people honestly like this album and can enjoy every song on this album so if anyone would like to prove me wrong go ahead but what i see here when i listen to this album is the lack of good songs.anyway the singer for Yellowcard whatever his name is, needs to get together a better band. but keep the violinist, because thats the only reason i give this album a 1, because i have never heard a punk-rock band with a violinist in the band but if they could write better songs the violin could rock out with the band but i feel bad for him because he has to play the crap that the rest of the band is playing. I would reccomend that Yellowcard gets a new guitarist and bassist, if the bassist helps write the songs. if not keep the bassist and just get a new guitarist. i would recommend the style of Santana because the solo after every 4 beats sounds so cool and no one has done that kind of music except for him so get a new guitarist. Also if the drummer is helping write the songs, get a new drummer. I doubt that but if he is, get a new drummer. Dont just look for some punked up dude freak who has body ink and piercings, dont get that kind of drummer because u think people will think he is cool because hes not. The piercings and ink IS NOT COOL!!!!!! try somebody normal that has skill and could be considered as a man, not a punk rocker. Try putting him in a suite, the punk dude, he could never pretend to do that. And what happens to the punk dude after his band breaks up? He is stuck with piercings and tatoos all over his freikin body. Nobody is ever gonna take that dude seriously. And wouldnt it look funny if the dude was like really old and his grandkids would be like why does grandpa.d.f,a sd Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Lights and Sounds' good songs are very good, and the album ends up being the band's most accomplished work yet.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    It may be one of the least "punk" albums a pop-punk band will make this year--but it's probably one of the best, too. [Feb 2006, p.113]
  3. Billboard
    80
    A strong effort that trades sunny-sounding rockers and breakup songs for weightier concerns of war and family, "Lights" conveys that maturity without seeming strained. [28 Jan 2006]