User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 5 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lights is an amazing pop album...pure, deep and smart with the gentle voice of Ellie
    Great melodies like The Writer and Guns and Horses, the smash Under The Sheets and the sassy Starry Eyed with a real electropop and synthpop (not Gaga)! and a mix of indie pop or folk...very creative!
    Ellie is the new girl who comes to refresh and illuminate the pop scene!
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Ellie Goulding's debut album is strong in it's own way. The lyrics are as charming as her tender voice and the production is also consistent. Strong recommendations for Starry Eyed, The Writer, This Love and Everytime You Go.
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Ellie has a great voice, and is as gd as Adele or Jessie, but has to write more songs about herself, anyway, this is a great album, keep going, Ellie!!
  4. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Ellie here blends folk and electro-pop so good, it sounds like a new genre but in a good way. Very diverse and the lyrics are very mature and folk-y and strong. Her voice is un-human is a good way! All the songs are strong and fit with each other perfectly. It's rare finding an album where all the tracks are good and has no fillers. One of 2010's best and needs to be discovered inEllie here blends folk and electro-pop so good, it sounds like a new genre but in a good way. Very diverse and the lyrics are very mature and folk-y and strong. Her voice is un-human is a good way! All the songs are strong and fit with each other perfectly. It's rare finding an album where all the tracks are good and has no fillers. One of 2010's best and needs to be discovered in America! Some stand outs are This Love (Will Be Your Downfall), Starry Eyed, Salt Skin, and Wish I Stayed Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. asdsbgshbhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhnbbbbbbvdsghjhgkfgfhgfghdfgfgdhgfnhdfkgbshgdfgmnf,lnhjhkl,gfkjgnbnkjfdfkjsfnhkjnkgjh Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    I've been listening to this album for close to 3 years and it hasn't gotten old. Listen to the second song on the album; if you like that then listen to the rest. The songs get slightly weaker as you go down the album, but still great for a repeat listen.
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Surprisingly outstanding, this album manages to find a perfect balance between a classy electro-pop and a well-crafted indie-folk style: one coudn't imagine a more impressive debut album.
  8. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    Lights is truly a beautiful album with many great songs. My favourites are Starry Eyed, Guns And Horses, Under The Sheets and I'll Hold My Breath. If you can, get the albums on iTunes, because this version includes the song Lights, which is a must-have!
  9. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this album. She has such a unique sound. It's a shame that she hasn't caught on here in America, because more people should know who she is. At a time when pop music is becoming so generic and auto-tuned, it's really refreshing to hear something original from a talented artist.
  10. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    I discovered that album just lately on a trip to the big apple. It's been 4 weeks and i have to say i hardly listened to anything else since. Ellie has a beautiful voice, but the way she uses it is what got me in the first place. It's the little things, the arrangements, the geeky/dance samples, the way she uses all the moving variations that makes that Ep truly great. Lights was the firstI discovered that album just lately on a trip to the big apple. It's been 4 weeks and i have to say i hardly listened to anything else since. Ellie has a beautiful voice, but the way she uses it is what got me in the first place. It's the little things, the arrangements, the geeky/dance samples, the way she uses all the moving variations that makes that Ep truly great. Lights was the first track i got to discover, with its catchy tones and mesmerizing rhythm. But as usual with great Eps, some other tracks quickly got my attention. Not the obvious Elton John cover (which gives a new spin on an old timeless classic i happen to love). Ellie has the gift to produce graphic sensations with her lyrics on the most common things, getting you to experience them in a colorful and sensible way. The writing, singing and music come together in a complex but easy to follow way that is both hypnotic and remarkable. Often i pondered on the way the rhythm is done, and was amazed at the work that was created on its simple complexity. There was obviously a lot of work into this, but it didn't overshadow the heart of it. Truly a work of art that 'll be hard to top, but i wish she does it again with the second Ep that's coming out shortly. Not that i can get enough of that one. My picks : I'd recommend listening to "Under the sheets", "Wish I Stayed", "Salt Skin", "Your biggest mistake" and "Little Dreams". Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    If you're fully accustomed to manufactured Top 40 pop songs, then Ellie Goulding's debut, Lights, is somewhat distinctive but a brilliant album for everyone. Ellie Goulding isn't just a pop singer; her album is proof that pop music isn't limited to vocoders, computers, and boring lyrics; in fact, the songwriting on Lights is prim, proper, and appeals to the daydreamers. Ellie's voice isIf you're fully accustomed to manufactured Top 40 pop songs, then Ellie Goulding's debut, Lights, is somewhat distinctive but a brilliant album for everyone. Ellie Goulding isn't just a pop singer; her album is proof that pop music isn't limited to vocoders, computers, and boring lyrics; in fact, the songwriting on Lights is prim, proper, and appeals to the daydreamers. Ellie's voice is very raw and one of a kind like Björk's; one that you wouldn't expect to hear on airplay but an acquired listen. I recommend first-time listeners check out the hot singles "The Writer" and "Guns and Horses." Expand
  12. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    A Very Nice Album!
    Great Debut
  13. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Soft, sweet and delightful. This English Debut but Folktronica princess, Ellie Goulding is a real sweet charmer. Complete with techno, swift guitar playing beats and auto-tunic flavour. It was sure to prove a crashing stormer and it did. 'Starry Eyed' Is a catchy favourite & highlights are 'Gun's & Horses,' 'Under the Sheets,' & 'The Writer'
  14. Apr 28, 2015
    8
    Lights is an exceptionally strong debut. The production is lush and wonderful, and the songwriting is generally quite good. But Ellie's unique voice is what really sets Lights apart from other synth pop that would be otherwise indistinguishable. Ellie sort of reminds me of a more upbeat version of Dido, another favorite artist of mine, so this album really appeals to me, especially sinceLights is an exceptionally strong debut. The production is lush and wonderful, and the songwriting is generally quite good. But Ellie's unique voice is what really sets Lights apart from other synth pop that would be otherwise indistinguishable. Ellie sort of reminds me of a more upbeat version of Dido, another favorite artist of mine, so this album really appeals to me, especially since the quality is more or less consistent all the way through. Standout tracks include Lights and Guns and Horses. Expand
  15. May 23, 2011
    7
    On the first 10 listens Ellie Goulding is exciting, fresh and relaxing. But by the 11th it becomes one boring slog with only a few tracks standing up against her rivals.
  16. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Good Album. It's full of catchy melodies, fun rhythms and beats, and Ellie often has an appealing voice in her songs. Her cover of Elton John's "Your Song" seemed out of place for both the album and for Ellie herself. The Live performance of "Starry Eyed" was more up her alley, but also felt misplaced. Nothing stands out lyrically in her songs, as most of it seemed relatively standard. TheGood Album. It's full of catchy melodies, fun rhythms and beats, and Ellie often has an appealing voice in her songs. Her cover of Elton John's "Your Song" seemed out of place for both the album and for Ellie herself. The Live performance of "Starry Eyed" was more up her alley, but also felt misplaced. Nothing stands out lyrically in her songs, as most of it seemed relatively standard. The songs that stand out are "Lights", "Starry Eyed", "Animal", and "Guns and Horses". Definitely give her a listen! Expand
  17. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    Ellie ha definido su música gracias a su divertido y cómodo estilo de canto, siendo sincero, su delicadeza a la hora de cantar, pero así mismo su dureza a la hora de expresarse, me ha encantado.
  18. May 29, 2011
    6
    Definitely the best album of 2010 by far! Such an phenomenal album. Ellie is left to harmonize with herself, and it is one of the album's more magical moments because of the sheer energy and beauty that it presents! It energizes you and makes you want to start the whole experience all over again, which is something that any great pop album should do. This album is surprisingly solid for aDefinitely the best album of 2010 by far! Such an phenomenal album. Ellie is left to harmonize with herself, and it is one of the album's more magical moments because of the sheer energy and beauty that it presents! It energizes you and makes you want to start the whole experience all over again, which is something that any great pop album should do. This album is surprisingly solid for a debut in this genre. The moments where Ellie shines are where her lyrics and music combine to form something that is entirely unique to herself. What brings the album down are the more formulaic moments that everybody knew were coming, but nobody really wanted. If anything though, Lights serves as an awesome introduction to a talented musician; one who deserves to be heard if only for the fact that she's infinitely more talented than the majority of her peers. If you're like me and find yourself developing an affinity for girly pop music, Ellie Gouldling may be an artist to check out. I recommend it. Well she is without a doubt the most unique and original artist that has ever come from the UK lately. Her ability to play drums and sing at the same time strikes me in awe. An extraordinary talent. I know she can also play keyboard too and the obvious guitar. But I think she does enough. I honestly wish we had more true, natural talent like Ellie here in the States, far too much crap, filler, and no substance that they call music. A fantastic performance, I must say Ellie's very cute, beautiful. Music with substance, a woman with talent, a amazing voice, and an incredible energy, stage presence. Should give some advice to the Americans here on how to make great music. This woman is a genius! She inspires me throughout my life degree and it just amazes me the things she can make. Expand
  19. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    A bit overproduction overload here. radio friendly and sugar coated for mass consumption but beneath all the polish there are some really good tunes if you listen carefully enough. She has a lot of potential, would nice to see her left to her own devices
  20. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    No. Just no. It's not very impressive when one song ("Lights") is such a huge number one hit, and all the other songs flop. It kind of misleads you...
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Goulding is able to take the best parts of all of her contemporaries' styles and make them her own, coating everything in the breathy flutter of her voice.
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    Goulding's crackling voice is capable of affecting a prostrate pose in the midst of the swirl that suggests the latter's folk-tinged vulnerability.
  3. 50
    The result is that most of what makes Goulding's work appealing, such as her voice and instrumentation, is lost underneath generic synthesizers that turn these songs into standard pop fare.