Like a Rose

Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    90
    This blend of contemporary attitudes and classic sounds is insinuating and addictive, particularly because at nine songs, it's too brief--once it's through, the album practically begs you to start all over again.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    80
    Nine songs, 32 minutes, no false moves.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    90
    There’s a good balance here: classicist in the Lee Ann Womack neo-countrypolitan sense, yet neither stodgy, frail, nor nostalgic, but rather as thoroughly in tune with modern millennial existence as Taylor Swift.
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    83
    Not only does Vince Gill’s production keep her decidedly on the country side of instrumentation, he understands keeping the mountains in her voice and the Parton-esque shimmer in her airy soprano.
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    For the rest of its admittedly brief running time, Like a Rose is a keenly observed and rewarding album that's a standout in what, only a few months in, has already been an uncommonly strong year for country music.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    There’s not likely to be a more earthy feeling and backward-sounding country album released on a major label this year.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    Although there exist exceptions, like the gorgeous “Used” (in which Monroe drops this corker: “Used, like a house where a family lived until they died and there’s a soul in every room”), the record as a whole slithers into a sort of unsatisfying middle ground.
  8. Slowly you'll realize just how rare it is for a major-label Nashville hopeful to put this much care into every song even if you're not convinced by the one that connects whipped cream and whips.
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    100
    If you’ve ever bemoaned the absence of traditional country sounds in an era of pop, rock and even hip-hop production, be still—Ashley Monroe is throwing you a country music lifeline.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Sadly she would not even be in the conversation but this album deserves a Grammy for country album of the year. This is the best thing I haveSadly she would not even be in the conversation but this album deserves a Grammy for country album of the year. This is the best thing I have heard this year in country; song writing-prefect. Every song on this album was "taken care" of pretty good. The lyrics are the closest thing one is going to get to poetry in country music this year (along with Kacey Musgrave). Unlike Kacey, the Album is not too slow and sad. There are many fun songs on Like a Rose. 9.4/10 only because of songs like "She running me out of your mind" and "you got me." "Monroe Suede" is the best ride in country music this year. Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2013
    8
    This album has stayed in heavy rotation at my house for the past several months. It's an excellent blend of classic country sounds and themesThis album has stayed in heavy rotation at my house for the past several months. It's an excellent blend of classic country sounds and themes with sharp, contemporary songwriting. Ms. Monroe's voice and persona are endearing in ways not often found, let alone in a young performer. Very impressive. Full Review »
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    5
    I'm not a huge country music fan. I like to listen a track or two from to time, but this is the first time to give an album a try. And willI'm not a huge country music fan. I like to listen a track or two from to time, but this is the first time to give an album a try. And will probably be the last.

    It isn't bad, just uneventful. There was nothing stimulation about the music or lyrics. Pretty standard. Good, but standard.
    Full Review »