...Like Clockwork - Queens of the Stone Age
...Like Clockwork Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Josh Homme-led rock band includes Dave Grohl on drums as well as guest vocals from Brody Dalle, Alain Johannes, Elton John, Mark Lanegan, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears, Alex Turner, and former bassist Nick Oliveri.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    100
    An album truly fit to do battle with the rock classics of any age. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    ...Like Clockwork is easily the best release from the band since Songs for the Deaf.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    Like Clockwork: great for rock & roll, great for culture, great for the world.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Song for song, however, this is the best QOTSA album in a decade, delivering all the swagger and skew of their greatest work without rehashing it.
  5. The band return to the slow-and-low, sinister alt-boogie that made their name, with Homme's satisfying dirty badass guitar sound in full effect.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    73
    Fittingly for a band that’s spent the past few years retooling itself, it takes some time for Queens to shake off the cobwebs and get back to full strength.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 72
  2. Negative: 1 out of 72
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Collapse
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    har fan inte hört så här jävla krallig rock musik på jävligt länge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This summer, Queens of the Stone Age returned from the desert with their first album after a six year hiatus, the magnificent ...Like Clockwork. The themes of their most diverse album were majorly influenced by Josh Homme's depressing, months-long stay in a hospital, recovering from MRSA. As Homme says in the penultimate track, "I Appear Missing", "pieces were taken from me, or dare I say, given away."
    The album is not only the band's most experimental work yet - aside from, maybe, Era Vulgaris - it is also by far their most emotional. The album has this strange eerie feel, which is expressed especially in the album's companion 15-minute music video.
    The album has too many guest appearances to count, including Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, and Dave Grohl (you know, Dave Grohl). Fans of QotSA's Songs For The Deaf from 2003 may need to take a few listens to adapt to the sound of this album, but it's hard not to see that the album's title track is one of the most beautiful songs Homme has ever written, and "My God Is The Sun"'s bassline during the verse is absolute perfection. The lyrics in "The Vampyre of Time and Memory" are purposefully misleading, and delivered brilliantly: "I speak, I breathe. I'm incomplete. I'm alive. Hooray! You're wrong again, 'cause I feel no love."
    The album is incredible, absolutely worth taking the time to listen to from beginning to end. It's been my personal favorite album since I first heard it, and who knows? Maybe you'll share my opinion.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the vinyl LP. So good, and it sounds amazing. What's odd is that it's meant to be played at 45 RPM, and I've never seen that on an LP before, (they're usually 35 RPM). Just a quirky note. I fell like they might have done it on purpose to screw with people, or not, I don't know the absolute specifics of what goes into pressing an album. Whatever, the music is great, having a cohesive theme, yet every song has its own distinct sound. It's hard to pick favourites, but "My God is the Sun," "Fair-weather Friends" and "I Sat by the Ocean" are exuberant. The title track is a quiet, introspective, unique track that greatly closes the album. I get some hints of The Who and Supertramp in here, although it's mostly just the warped genius of Queens of the Stone Age. Another definitive, exemplary album from a band that just keeps getting better. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Queens of the Stone Age with ...Like Clockwork blows us out of the water. It is a combination of all of their previous records in one, yet still retaining a distinct sound. It feels like the correct natural progression, it doesn't feel forced. And with guest appearances from Nick Olivier and Mark Lanegan, albeit on backing vocals, there is still that old Queens vibe.

    Opener, "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" has a meaty bass line and Joey Castillo's solid drumming that featured on the last two albums keeps the song going, and I think that Dave Grohl's drumming does hold more energy, but I think they can both play drums for Queens well, they both bring something different to the band's overall sound.

    "The Vampyre of Time and Money", is the the first of the slower songs on the album. The band have done it before with "Make it Wit Chu", but these seem more emotional. Rated R featured slower songs breaking the album up nicely from the energy of such songs like "Quick and to the Pointless" and with these ballads, I feel like the band are doing the same thing. "The Vampyre..." is a really good song, with guitar work sounding like Pink Floyd and the synths in the background just meld everything together in a soothing blend of liquid QOTSA.

    "If I had A Tail", gets itself in my head again and again because it is so catchy. The grooves that the drums and the bass have together work really well on this song, and the Desert Rock feel on this song and throughout the album is like Songs for the Deaf. With Olivier and Lanegan on backing vocals the chorus has a really meaty feel to it, which is a bit lost on this album soundwise, the reason why some compared "My God Is The Sun" to a Them Crooked Vultures song.

    And then of course we get to "My God Is The Sun", half way into the album, and we are breezing through with Michael Shuman's powerful Bass playing propels this song into a heavy and loud torment of wonder. "Kalopsia" is quiet and feels like it can drag in the verses until the chorus' screech into life gouging your eyes out to make sure you don't drift off into "the land of the nightmares".

    "Fairweather Friends" follows along with "Smooth Sailing", bringing a slightly funkier side to band, but there is still that definite Hard Rock sound to both of them. And then, the penultimate track on our sixth adventure through the desert is "I Appear Missing". It is a true Queens of the Stone Age masterpiece. The whole song is epic and unbelievable. It follows suit in other QOTSA songs such as "You Can't Quit Me Baby", "I Think I Lost My Headache" and "A Song for the Dead". We are in old school territory here in terms of song construction. Half of the song is an incredible emotional journey of strength from every band member before going into a complex rhythmic section and then into the solo that just is so very good. It wails and plays around with the fabric of air. It manipulates your senses ins ecstasy.

    But, it doesn't end. "...Like Clockwork" ends the album. And the band end the album quietly, but with energy and a brooding bass line to fit. It feels like the end to and epic journey, because it is. The band have improved on their past two albums and made a very good album. This is up there with Rated R, and maybe just ahead of Songs for the Deaf. People will be listening to this, they will be loving this just as we do with their earlier work, for years to come. The only issues I have, is that sometimes it struggles to hold itself in the slower songs, Josh's voice doesn't do as well as in the louder powerful songs, but I can live with that. I can live with this album, I can live with it for decades.

    Rated R, Songs for the Deaf, ...Like Clockwork.
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.