...Like Clockwork - Queens of the Stone Age
...Like Clockwork Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Josh Homme-led rock band includes Dave Grohl on drums as well as guest vocals from Brody Dalle, Alain Johannes, Elton John, Mark Lanegan, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears, Alex Turner, and former bassist Nick Oliveri.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    100
    An album truly fit to do battle with the rock classics of any age. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    ...Like Clockwork is easily the best release from the band since Songs for the Deaf.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    Like Clockwork: great for rock & roll, great for culture, great for the world.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Song for song, however, this is the best QOTSA album in a decade, delivering all the swagger and skew of their greatest work without rehashing it.
  5. The band return to the slow-and-low, sinister alt-boogie that made their name, with Homme's satisfying dirty badass guitar sound in full effect.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    73
    Fittingly for a band that’s spent the past few years retooling itself, it takes some time for Queens to shake off the cobwebs and get back to full strength.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    For the first few months, I wasn't too keen on this album, thinking it was only too short, not hard enough, lacking any change in direction like Era Vulgaris, etc. But then I wen't to their ...LC concert in Toronto, and then leaving, I realized just how DAMN GOOD this album is.

    It's a culmination of all the previous sounds and styles Homme and co. created to get to this point (even his days at Them Crooked Vultures can be recgnized with some of the more upbeat tunes), with the emotion and soul that hasn't been present in any of the 6 albums. At first I was wishing that there were more songs, but I've also come to realize that all 10 songs are wonderfully crafted, produced, and written.

    Not much else I can say, except this is one of my 3-4 candidates for album of the year, and is proudly my new favourite QotSA album! Definitely worth the 6 year wait or a 4 year wait, if you like TCV.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This summer, Queens of the Stone Age returned from the desert with their first album after a six year hiatus, the magnificent ...Like Clockwork. The themes of their most diverse album were majorly influenced by Josh Homme's depressing, months-long stay in a hospital, recovering from MRSA. As Homme says in the penultimate track, "I Appear Missing", "pieces were taken from me, or dare I say, given away."
    The album is not only the band's most experimental work yet - aside from, maybe, Era Vulgaris - it is also by far their most emotional. The album has this strange eerie feel, which is expressed especially in the album's companion 15-minute music video.
    The album has too many guest appearances to count, including Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, and Dave Grohl (you know, Dave Grohl). Fans of QotSA's Songs For The Deaf from 2003 may need to take a few listens to adapt to the sound of this album, but it's hard not to see that the album's title track is one of the most beautiful songs Homme has ever written, and "My God Is The Sun"'s bassline during the verse is absolute perfection. The lyrics in "The Vampyre of Time and Memory" are purposefully misleading, and delivered brilliantly: "I speak, I breathe. I'm incomplete. I'm alive. Hooray! You're wrong again, 'cause I feel no love."
    The album is incredible, absolutely worth taking the time to listen to from beginning to end. It's been my personal favorite album since I first heard it, and who knows? Maybe you'll share my opinion.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums Josh Homme has put his name on. On the same level as Rated R and Songs for the Deaf. If I had a tail is wonderfully catchy arena rock type stuff. Most of the melodies stick and don't wear thin like on Era Vulgaris. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Queens of the Stone Age always had a few songs that impressed me, but I never did like an entire album of their's. It's certainly somewhat more mellow than their usual work, but it delivers some badass tracks that may be some of their best. *Resubmitted score 9.1* Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Collapse

See all 71 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.