...Like Clockwork - Queens of the Stone Age
...Like Clockwork Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Josh Homme-led rock band includes Dave Grohl on drums as well as guest vocals from Brody Dalle, Alain Johannes, Elton John, Mark Lanegan, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears, Alex Turner, and former bassist Nick Oliveri.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    100
    An album truly fit to do battle with the rock classics of any age. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    ...Like Clockwork is easily the best release from the band since Songs for the Deaf.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    Like Clockwork: great for rock & roll, great for culture, great for the world.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Song for song, however, this is the best QOTSA album in a decade, delivering all the swagger and skew of their greatest work without rehashing it.
  5. The band return to the slow-and-low, sinister alt-boogie that made their name, with Homme's satisfying dirty badass guitar sound in full effect.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    73
    Fittingly for a band that’s spent the past few years retooling itself, it takes some time for Queens to shake off the cobwebs and get back to full strength.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    In an era of musical blight, Queens of the Stone Age have released a masterpiece with ...Like Clockwork. Multi-dimensional as it is layered, Josh Homme is in the prime of his musical evolution; even with old friends Dave Grohl and Nick Oliveri on board, it's Homme who steals the show with his dark and satisfyingly harmonizing delivery of his trademark antediluvian lyrics. ...Like Clockwork is so profoundly and perfectly composed you feel yourself in the room every time you listen, wanting more. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    ASS_N_TREBLE IS AN IDIOT! AND IS BECAUSE OF THESE IDIOTS THAT I GIVE NOTE MAXIMUM
    this idiot has done here more negative votes for this
    album, it's not just this, and the funny thing is that it has no further comment other albums.
    Não brinquem, quem são vocês para fazerem uma revisão de um artista seus idiotas...são artista? compõem música? são inteligentes o suficiente para estarem aqui a dar pontuação, são estudiosos nesta matéria. Só sabem ouvir o que os media querem e depois fazem critica de coisas que não percebem... há por aqui muito atrasado mental a fazer revisão (ass_n_treble......), gostava de conhecer esse calhorda E OS OUTROS PESSOALMENTE, a minha psicopatia vem ao de cima, com este tipo de gente. Não constroem nada apenas destroem e incendeiam, adorava ter esses calhordas minha frente, reduzia-os a uma massa de carne e sangue.. Daqui a 10 ANOS veremos quem são os VERDADEIROS CLÁSSICOS.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums Josh Homme has put his name on. On the same level as Rated R and Songs for the Deaf. If I had a tail is wonderfully catchy arena rock type stuff. Most of the melodies stick and don't wear thin like on Era Vulgaris. Collapse
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Queens of the Stone Age always had a few songs that impressed me, but I never did like an entire album of their's. It's certainly somewhat more mellow than their usual work, but it delivers some badass tracks that may be some of their best. *Resubmitted score 9.1* Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.