• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
...Like Clockwork Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 368 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Josh Homme-led rock band includes Dave Grohl on drums as well as guest vocals from Brody Dalle, Alain Johannes, Elton John, Mark Lanegan, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears, Alex Turner, and former bassist Nick Oliveri.
Buy On

Top Track

I Sat By the Ocean
I sat by the ocean And drank a potion Baby, to erase you Face down in the Boulevard Yet I couldn't face you There ain't no use in crying It doesn't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Mojo
    Jun 17, 2013
    100
    An album truly fit to do battle with the rock classics of any age. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    ...Like Clockwork is easily the best release from the band since Songs for the Deaf.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    Like Clockwork: great for rock & roll, great for culture, great for the world.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Song for song, however, this is the best QOTSA album in a decade, delivering all the swagger and skew of their greatest work without rehashing it.
  5. The band return to the slow-and-low, sinister alt-boogie that made their name, with Homme's satisfying dirty badass guitar sound in full effect.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    73
    Fittingly for a band that’s spent the past few years retooling itself, it takes some time for Queens to shake off the cobwebs and get back to full strength.
  7. Magnet
    Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like ClockworkWhile it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is QOTSA's finest album, and is superior even to Songs for the Deaf. Some of the songs on this record ("I Appear Missing" in particular)This is QOTSA's finest album, and is superior even to Songs for the Deaf. Some of the songs on this record ("I Appear Missing" in particular) border on true genius, and I do not use that word lightly. On this focused, cohesive and brilliant record, QOTSA musters all their strengths, rallies all their most talented friends (Trent Reznor, Mark Lanegan, Dave Grohl etc.), and taps into a deeper well of emotion than they ever have before. Although the record is vital and powerful, the snide arrogance of youth that propelled great albums like Songs for the Deaf has been replaced by maturity and insight, which has honed the band down to a sharp edge. Gone are the superfluous "joke songs" that distracted listeners from the greatness of their past albums. There is not one bad song on this record. It has been polished and chiseled down to a flawless diamond. This album has more emotional power than anything QOTSA has done before. It seems Homme was truly changed by his near-death experience, but he must not have been clinically dead on the table for very long, because he doesn't seem to have lost a single brain cell. His lyrics are more clever and insightful than ever before, and his riffs are more complex and intricately layered. This record proves that QOTSA keeps getting better and better with age. Homme has produced his greatest work at the age of forty, a truly admirable accomplishment for a rock musician. Although the last song promises "It's all downhill from here," it seems QOTSA have begun a new era in their own career, and in some ways it seems they are just getting started. Collapse
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    Stoner rock elite take a bad trip. Like Clockwork is dirty, harsh but ultimately beautiful. Easily Queens strongest album, it's their opusStoner rock elite take a bad trip. Like Clockwork is dirty, harsh but ultimately beautiful. Easily Queens strongest album, it's their opus magnus and only missing that one killer mainstream track to lure the pop muppets over to the enlightened side (there is no duality, monkey wrench or uprising).

    As it stands Like Clockwork is an epic piece of work flowing seamlessly from track to track and blending all the elements utterly seamlessly (you will NOT spot Elton John guesting on a track unless you're looking for him).

    Starting quietly but building throughout to the end with the ultimately sad but uplifting title track Like Clockwork is one of the most complete albums I've ever heard - there is no song I would skip here.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Going to keep it short, this is a really good album. Its one of those that grows on you the more you listen. Personally really liking "if IGoing to keep it short, this is a really good album. Its one of those that grows on you the more you listen. Personally really liking "if I had a tail". Probably going to be one of the better albums of the year, welcome back guys you have been missed. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me,This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Best queens album in years, yes i enjoyed El Vagus or what ever its called but this new entire just feels so unique and the tracks are soBest queens album in years, yes i enjoyed El Vagus or what ever its called but this new entire just feels so unique and the tracks are so moody, 9/10, gets a bit repetitive yet because of key tracks, my fav track being the last it deserves more like a Solid 9.8/10, so should probably round to a 10 but because of the repetitiveness and the fact that users are rating so high i gives it a 9 Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feelingThis album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.