• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2006
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 3 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matta.
    Jun 29, 2007
    2
    I can't believe all the crap that ended up on the top thirty of 2006 list. It's not fair to include an album that only has 8 reviews. They should really raise that because it you only included the best 8 reviews of any number of great album from 2006, they would have had in the 90's. For 2007 we get Miranda Lambert's pretentious country crap for the top thirty albums I can't believe all the crap that ended up on the top thirty of 2006 list. It's not fair to include an album that only has 8 reviews. They should really raise that because it you only included the best 8 reviews of any number of great album from 2006, they would have had in the 90's. For 2007 we get Miranda Lambert's pretentious country crap for the top thirty albums of the year. The woeful trend continues. Collapse
  2. ToddW
    Dec 1, 2006
    0
    Sorry I was late to the party, Alan. What's that you say, only two people bothered to show up? Maybe if you would stop making songs fit for elevators, or quit shamelessly exploiting our nation's myriad tragedies more people with their full compliment of teeth or those not suffering from obesity would tune in to what you have to say. But you know the old tome, "All hat and no Sorry I was late to the party, Alan. What's that you say, only two people bothered to show up? Maybe if you would stop making songs fit for elevators, or quit shamelessly exploiting our nation's myriad tragedies more people with their full compliment of teeth or those not suffering from obesity would tune in to what you have to say. But you know the old tome, "All hat and no horse." That's you, Alan. You've got a great voice, but you have nothing worthwhile to say. Oh sure, the American flag and yellow ribbon magnet crowds will always be with you, but they're too dumb to know they're part of the problem. I mean, where do they think all of that oil comes from that they gleefully waste listening to you croon in their SUV's and hemi-powered trucks? Cheer up, though, with all of the war memorials and roadside shrines sprouting up all over our country, you'll never run out of things to sing about. And the sheep will mindlessly latch onto anything you do like a bum on a baloney sandwich. Or red on a rose. Expand
  3. stephc
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    His best work in years. Alan was doing the same album over and over since High Mileage in 1998... What a relief.
  4. PaulaM
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Wonderful album full of wonderful songs. Truly one that his female fans should love.
  5. RayM
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    There are some people on this that voted (not to mention any name) that obviously have a vandetta against alan jackson based on political reasons, and never actually listened to this cd. This is truely a beautiful cd aestheticlly, and lyriclly.
  6. MarieS
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This is a wonderful CD, both instrumentally and vocally. Alan's voice is very senuous and moving. This CD showcases his marvelous voice. It's one of his best and I look forward to future recordings whatever they may be!
  7. NickM
    Oct 21, 2006
    8
    Certainly not the typical Alan Jackson record here. Some of the tracks seem like they would be better on a smooth jazz station rather than a country station. However it is still very well done, and a very relaxing album that I for one enjoy.
  8. Len
    Dec 9, 2006
    8
    Without being a fan of country music in general, and having never listened to Alan Jackson before this record, I was really impressed with this album. There are a few perfect songs on here, and the rest are simply good.
  9. RobM
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This is certainly more of an artsy album than a standard honky tonk ablum that alan usually does. Allison Kraus's producing on this is very well done, and Alan's amazing voice can make any song sound amazing. Overall it was an amazing combination that really turned out well.
  10. ChadJ
    Nov 27, 2006
    2
    Boring Boring Boring....Not an AJ classic. It's too mellow, all the songs sound the same. Sorry not my favorite from Alan. He can and usually does better!
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. An uncommonly rich and moving album.
  2. If there's a downside to this brilliant, if unlikely pairing, it's that Krauss's somber program could benefit from something a tad more libidinous or uptempo.
  3. Startlingly good. [29 Sep 2006, p.80]