Lines, Vines and Trying Times Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pop group's fourth album features Miley Cyrus, Common, and Jonny Long.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. On their fourth release in as many years, the boys don't entirely topple their Tiger Beat pedestal, but with Lines' PG-13 sentiments and wailing guitars, they try hard to leave their tween-dream innocence behind.
  2. If the Jonases come up woefully short in the sensitivity department, they (nearly) make up for it with songwriting that's far more flavorful than that on Fearless or on the JoBros' previous disc, last year's "A Little Bit Longer."
  3. Although the tunes are accomplished, Lines has a patina of smarm that's less smart than the music.
  4. It’s a bricolage of genres, so bent on embracing a variety of musical forms that it sometimes borders on parody.
  5. The boys continue to expand musically, making this their kickiest and catchiest CD yet, even better than last year's A Little Bit Longer.
  6. While it's commendable for the trio to try to break out of its teen dream box, it's on songs like 'Before the Storm'--featuring Miley Cyrus--where the brothers prove they're still among the best at putting the fizz in pop culture.
  7. As a piece of product, this album modestly accomplishes the goal of keeping the Jonas Brothers name out there, reenergizing the fickle base. But as an album, it is a failure, weighed down by the painfully bland production and a team of uninspired professional songwriters who add little to Nick’s developing skills.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 18 out of 26
  1. MegateenSr.
    Jun 18, 2009
    Hottest band on the planet. Puts everything else happening in music at the moment to shame. Top release of 2009 easily. These boys are so dreamy and they sing so amazingly from their hearts. All you people who dismiss the greatness of this album and band are like totally losers. Jonas Brothers Forever! x0x0 Expand
  2. Erynn
    Jul 29, 2009
    Overall, i thought that this CD was better than the last. It shows how much they are growing and how talented they are. I love it.
  3. IsaiahG
    Jun 17, 2009
    The Jonas Brothers may not have respect from some critics, but this album really follows up ot last album abd possibly making this their best album.
  4. TomP.
    Jun 17, 2009
    I'm gonna be honest, didn't listen to a single song beside the single, and that was all i needed to give this a 0.
  5. 2ndOpinion
    Jun 21, 2009
    F**K THESE A$$HOLES!!! They have brought nothing but shame to the pop genre! They should be called the Jonas Sisters, because these vocally talentless dorks sing through their f**king noses and it makes them sound like little girls! Their lyrics are the lowest form of syrupy sh*t and they can't play the guitar worth a damn. F**k, this sh***y album makes even Britney Spears's Circus album look good! If you want good pop music, try The Fame by Lady Gaga or anything by Lily Allen. Stay the hell away from this goopy teen-pop sh*t. These "brothers", if they really are boys, need to get a life and get out of the music industry. Expand
  6. Tom
    Sep 16, 2009
    Just terrible.
  7. KyleT
    Jul 31, 2009
    Okay I admit these pieces of shit can play instruments, well chords, fucking Kevin acting like it is aguitar solo when he plays 3 chords. Fuck him, Joe squeking his voice thinking he is hitting it. and Nick well fuck him he thinks he is so unfortunate for having diabetes piece of shit other people have it too. He also says he can play drums he is playing cymbsal snare with a crash cymbal every chorus. This is not fucking music. I want The Beatles AC/DC Led Zeppelin The cure The Police Cheaptrick, and people like Vampire Weekend and the Killers the Kooks to be todays music not this please lil girls wake the fuck up. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews