Lioness: Hidden Treasures

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2011
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    The album is a wonderful tribute to Amy Winehouse's memory and though many of the songs seem raw, they all do one thing and that is--highlight the beauty and emotional depth of her voice. Some highlight songs, "Between the Cheats" a wonderful retro doo-wop song that features modern lyrics which Amy totally immerses herself into. The other song is "Tears Dry" an original cover that alsoThe album is a wonderful tribute to Amy Winehouse's memory and though many of the songs seem raw, they all do one thing and that is--highlight the beauty and emotional depth of her voice. Some highlight songs, "Between the Cheats" a wonderful retro doo-wop song that features modern lyrics which Amy totally immerses herself into. The other song is "Tears Dry" an original cover that also has a retro sound but highlights Amy's voice beautifully capturing the warmth that was in it.
    Overall this album is a respectable tribute to Amy's memory and doesn't feel like an album repeating past success, rather it takes on it's own sound and is able to stand on it's own as a very nice album full of emotion. Amy Winehouse was a great artist whose unfortunate end will always leave the question, "What would she have done?". We will never know but we do know that because of her, we are getting back to more "real" music and a new retro sound that is coming back to pop music. (and we can thank her for Adele :P)
    Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This is a perfect last album for amy. This album takes me back to her 2006 album Back to Black. It's soul, jazz, pop, and neo-soul. I will miss her unique voice. You will be missed Amy Winehouse. R.I.P Amy Winehouse
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    People that criticize this album are really heartless. Of course it's not going to sound like a studio recorded album, most of the songs are demos and different versions of some of her songs. However, [I think that what we should pay attention to in here is the amazing job her producers have done with just a few old demos and we should also pay some respect to Amy. I'm not exactly thePeople that criticize this album are really heartless. Of course it's not going to sound like a studio recorded album, most of the songs are demos and different versions of some of her songs. However, [I think that what we should pay attention to in here is the amazing job her producers have done with just a few old demos and we should also pay some respect to Amy. I'm not exactly the ultimate Amy Winehouse fan but I appreciate what her producers and her label have done. Take it as if it were a tribute for Amy. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This isn't an actual album, Amy has stated numerous times that she "will not release an album" she "is not proud of". This is exactly what this album is, some songs (between the cheats) are what you would expect from Amy while others are things which would likely never see the light of day had she stuck around. Her producer stated "Better to release it than have it collect dust in a hardThis isn't an actual album, Amy has stated numerous times that she "will not release an album" she "is not proud of". This is exactly what this album is, some songs (between the cheats) are what you would expect from Amy while others are things which would likely never see the light of day had she stuck around. Her producer stated "Better to release it than have it collect dust in a hard drive", this is just a tribute album and in no way reflects the quality of work we have come to expect from Amy. Check out Frank and Back to Black to get a real taste of Amy's talent. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    'Hidden Treasures' is not a studio album nor a complitation of greatest hits, so it's not fair to judge it as one. It's enjoyable to listen to and makes you feel nostalgic.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    I wasn't expecting much from an album which probably was put together just to be a final money-making posthumous essential album for Amy Winehouse. Hey, but when I put it on, I couldn't find anything on it that I didn't like. And there were a few highlights that I really liked This is a good album, and it goes to show that Amy Winehouse could do anything with her vocal style -- the GirlI wasn't expecting much from an album which probably was put together just to be a final money-making posthumous essential album for Amy Winehouse. Hey, but when I put it on, I couldn't find anything on it that I didn't like. And there were a few highlights that I really liked This is a good album, and it goes to show that Amy Winehouse could do anything with her vocal style -- the Girl From Ipanema even sounds like a new song and not the tired one that has been overplayed and overused over the decade. No small feat. We lost a great talent. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    Very good album!. Just a shame that such talent is now gone!. With this compilation, the songs all sound the same sometimes and can get repetitive, however it is a good album that should be treated with great respect at the work that has gone into it. Overall 7 out of 10
  8. May 21, 2014
    7
    Even though Lioness is far from what was expected from Amy Winehouse, it's a blessing to hear whatever we are allowed to over the loss of not just the hope for a brilliant future for music industry, as well of one of the greatest talents of the world.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Mojo
    May 31, 2012
    60
    [Amy Winehouse had] something compelling, human and wonderful, and it surfaces just enough on this compilation to make it worthy of her name. [Jan 2012, p.91]
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    It's a gift to hear anything from Winehouse in the wake of her untimely death, and this new compilation features true treasures.
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2011
    60
    An admirable tribute if frequently deafened by the echo of its tragic catalyst. [Jan 2012, p.121]