Little Broken Hearts Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth solo album for Grammy-winning singer was produced and co-written by Danger Mouse.
  • Record Label: Blue Note
  • Genre(s): Vocal, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2012
    81
    Between the obvious hits and the Halcion fuzz however lays an interesting sound.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    80
    In the past decade, it seems Jones has made a sneaky transition from dinner party backdrop to David Lynch soundtrack.
  3. May 1, 2012
    80
    There is a lot at play here, both sonically and lyrically, and the album rewards repeated listens. Most importantly, Little Broken Hearts is an album that just works.
  4. 70
    This is a serious indie pop album. Jones and Burton have created something that should fit in the record collection of any Feist-loving indie kid just as easily as that of those soccer moms she won over years ago.
  5. May 1, 2012
    70
    The entire album plays like a cohesive whole, somehow frayed and fragmented if not left intact.
  6. May 3, 2012
    60
    Little Broken Hearts is held back by a lack of intimacy and the unemotional stiffness we associate with Jones. Still, it's almost a great album.
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    20
    It's one boringly pedestrian plod after another. [Jun 2012, p.104]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    I am a male who strongly favors music with a beautiful female voice. As such, I have always liked Norah Jones singing. But with the album, "Little Broken Hearts." I have reached a totally new appreciation for her. It crept up on me. I liked "She's 22" right off because it hit real close to home. You hear a woman, still obviously in love, ask her ex forlornly whether the 22 year old he's now with "does she make you happy." Norah used to put her mouth close to the microphone and let her beautiful voice be heard with fairly standard musical accompaniment. With this album, she allows her voice to be the lead instrument in wonderfully stylized songs with a new mix of electronic music, cello, and steel guitar, all of which establish the mood for each song. "Take It Back" is a wonderful example of this new Norah Jones as her voice melds with a melody but does not dominate by any means. "Miriam" tells the story of a woman wronged and the lyrics haunted me from the first listening. Long after falling in love with this song, I found the video on YouTube. It is nothing short of Music Video Art. I hope Norah Jones continues to follow this new career path. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Another Norah Jones album, another masterpiece, another broken heart. In evil moments, i wish Norah's heart never be rebuild, so we can listen more and more good albuns like that. My favourite song is "4 broken hearts", listen it and get addicted ! Collapse
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Norah has changed her sound in just the slightest, and it's only noticeable in a few songs, but it's refreshing. She realized maybe she need to surprise people, and I think she will. Little Broken Hearts is a different kind of masterpiece. Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    9
    An amazing record!!!Deep, soullful and full of fragile and beautiful songs!!Welldone Norah for growing with your music and spreading your beautiful harmonic wings!!! Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    The Album of the Year winner is back and better than ever. This album has to be her best and will form a legacy on its own. Norah Jones was gone for a long time but she didnt leave us hanging with this album. Expand
  6. May 5, 2012
    8
    This album is really good. There are some fillers, stand-out tracks, and some are just... okay, but the album is amazing as a whole. I love it. I wish she'd go back to her roots though. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Corações partidos sempre rendem grandes músicas e ás vezes grandes álbuns. Dou dois exemplos apenas: Jagged Little Pill da Alanis e 21 da Adele. Esses dois são apenas dois mais recentes que eu lembrei assim de bate e pronto. Agora nesse mesmo hall podemos citar a cantora Norah Jones com o lançamento do seu quarto álbum Little Broken Hearts. Porém, o resultado é mais que apenas um álbum sobre um coração partido. É um álbum sobre uma cantora encontrando sua maturidade artística.

    A dona de Don't Know Why traz á tona uma nova sonoridade para seu "piano/jazz": algo meio eletrônico/indie pop com uma alma sombria e bittersweet. O coração partido de Norah se mostra nas belas composições que permeiam todo álbum. Mantendo o estilo minimalista que a fez famosa só que agora com um peso libertador nas costas. Ao que parece a decepção amorosa fez com que ele se abrisse como compositora e a deixou liberar seus sentimentos mais obscuros como ciúmes, raiva e pessimismo com a vida de uma forma geral. A sonoridade de Norah está completamente diferente. Em busca de algo que a melhor em sua nova fase, ela explorou um som mais alternativo ao deixar uma pegada mais indie eletropop a contaminasse. A emoção vem de forma mais difícil. Você não viajar de primeira nas canções de Little Broken Hearts. Diferente das melodias aconchegantes, aqui ela faz seu ouvinte deitar em um colchão mais duro que demorar até acertar o "prumo" da coluna. Mesmo mantendo a delicada voz, os efeitos que acompanham os vocais de Norah têm a função de deixar mais estéril e distante a voz dela como uma quase espectadora da própria tristeza. Adora a dor imprensa em She's 22 onde Norah fala abertamente em ser traída. A bela Good Morning, que abre o álbum, tem uma produção instrumental belíssima. Little Broken Hearts tem algo de trilha para filme de David Lynch que assusta e cativa ainda mais que é a melhor composição do álbum. E por fim no topo do álbum está Happy Pills (resenha a seguir), mesmo um pouco deslocada no álbum, é impressionante. Depois de tudo isso só me resta a dizer: Norah Jones, muito bem vinda ao hall dos (pequenos) corações quebrados.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews