Live on Ten Legs

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Apr 4, 2011
    80
    It finds the Seattle quintet making a convincing case for being The Last Rock Band To Believe In. [Feb 2011, p.96]
  2. Kerrang!
    Feb 2, 2011
    80
    Forming part of their 20th anniversary celebrations this year, this brilliant 18-track compilation may be missing some huge hits, but that's not to say that it doesn't hit home. Hard. [22 Jan 2011, p.51]
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    80
    The sequel to 1998's Live on Two Legs, this 18-track compilation is perfect for anyone unwilling to wade into the sea of official Pearl Jam bootlegs.
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If any criticism is to be levelled here, it would be that the album could so easily have been a double-disc effort, but this is a minor gripe on an otherwise flawless live document of a band striving for--and arguably achieving--greatness.
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    Live On Ten Legs captures 18 brilliant moments in the history of one of rock 'n' roll's most consistent bands.
  6. Mar 4, 2011
    70
    Live on Ten Legs is a good place to start for those who've only heard of the band's live reputation, but if you want the real deal, do yourself a favor and buy a ticket.
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    Hardcore fans can, of course, simply ignore it, but they're exactly the people who might've hoped for something more. As an introduction to Pearl Jam's on-stage prowess, however, this is a tidy effort.
  8. 70
    . Equal parts wistful throwback and raucous romp, Live on Ten Legs is a fun and lively ride through Pearl Jam's catalog.
  9. Jan 18, 2011
    67
    Live On Two Legs-feel a bit unnecessary, since diehards will have live versions of all these songs already, and diehards are the ones who buy live albums. That doesn't, of course, stop Legs from sounding pretty great.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    As a PJ fanatic (25+ shows; I own all the studio releases, DVDs and about 40 of the bootlegs), I was a bit underwhelmed by 'Live on Ten Legs'.As a PJ fanatic (25+ shows; I own all the studio releases, DVDs and about 40 of the bootlegs), I was a bit underwhelmed by 'Live on Ten Legs'. And I know why: I feel as if I could have put together the true master live CD compilation! Of course, there are thousands of people just like me on the PJ forums with the exact same sentiment. And that got me thinking about how PJ should have gone about the project: LOTL should have been a democratically constructed album with fans, band members, crew and management all nominating performances for a vote. Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    The world didn't need another Pearl Jam live album. But I'm glad someone thought it did as this release captures the sheer brilliance of aThe world didn't need another Pearl Jam live album. But I'm glad someone thought it did as this release captures the sheer brilliance of a Pearl Jam show. Long may this mighty band live. Full Review »