• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Dec 5, 2000
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrenoJ
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Absolutly Fantastic
  2. paulp
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    A good live album. Much better than Nirvana's 'from the wishkah' live CD for example. The band and Layne Staley are in great form, especially on earlier tracks like 'Bleed the Freak', 'Love Hate Love', 'Junkhead'. For me, the best track is 'God Am' from one of their last ever shows with Staley in 1996. Despite being obviously very ill A good live album. Much better than Nirvana's 'from the wishkah' live CD for example. The band and Layne Staley are in great form, especially on earlier tracks like 'Bleed the Freak', 'Love Hate Love', 'Junkhead'. For me, the best track is 'God Am' from one of their last ever shows with Staley in 1996. Despite being obviously very ill due to substance abuse by this time, here he manages to give one of his best ever vocal performances. I would have probably given this disc 10 if it wasnt for the slightly muddy sound on some of the tracks, esp. the 1996 ones. Expand
  3. GonsioR
    Jul 9, 2002
    10
    Perfect!!!
  4. liamr
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    excellent album...shows that layne is one of the all time great rock singers, combined with the fantastic guitar playing ability from jerry cantrel represents the bands live performances very well...probably one of the most underated band of all time
  5. RyanS
    Apr 22, 2002
    9
    These guys are absolutely chilling live, Jerry Cantrell's guitar work is outstanding. I definitely recommend this album
  6. ChrisM.
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    brilliant, lovehatelove is the best song, but they are all amazing. Listen to this if you like real music
  7. brians
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    this is one of the best albums i have ever bought.
  8. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome. I really do love Alice in chains, they are just a really good bad with good sound and style. Probably one of the best live albums I've seen out there.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Alice in Chains - Live should have been a double disc set. There were far too many great songs sacrificed in narrowing it down to just one disc.
  2. 80
    A reminder of how great the band could be when its members put their minds to it.
  3. Somewhat surprisingly, for a band that hasn't toured much in its 12-year career, Live is full of edge-to-edge dynamite performances dating from 1990 to 1996.